We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Family Holiday”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We have recently returned from our second visit to the Outrigger. The Outrigger is great for a family holiday. It is well set up with kids club, activities for all, with a huge pool. We stayed again in a Planation Bure. The service we received was first class. The champagne and canapes early evening and the nightcap were well received. We also had a rollaway bed put in the bure too for our youngest child but the bure was still very spacious. The buffet breakfasts were wonderful. Our two children ate from the kids menus, as their meals were free. The menus for them were great, good selection for them and they never had a problem choosing what they wanted for lunch or dinner. Dessert was also included in both meals. The Kalokalo bar has wonderful views and ultra quiet. We had a couple of quiet afternoons there enjoying the tapas and cocktails whilst our eldest was in kids club and the youngest having a nap under the watchful eye of a sitter. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and our youngest is still greeting people with a loud 'bula'. This was a great place for a family holiday, it has everything you could possibly require. We have already started planning another return trip.
Many thanks to all the staff especially 'Zak' our wonderful Talei (butler) man.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    755
    283
    80
    43
See reviews for
1,559
873
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at the Outrigger for the last two days of our 10 day trip to Fiji. After our previous acommodations, the Outrigger was heaven! Air conditioning, working shower, great (and numerous) towels. We stayed in one of the ocean breeze bures. All good.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Everyone said Bula! and had a smile for you. Jonatani, our butler was fantastic (and I hope he hears we said so). Food was good, if expensive. Rum drinks were good, too! Coffee drinks were tasty.

The Kula Eco Park is close by and a great morning activity. The only negative we found was that one evening apparently it was Indian buffet night and most of the people w/children did not seem to want to go, so everyone was crammed into the small asian restaurant. Service that night was pretty slow, never got our dessert and just got tired of waiting. Maybe more dining options on those evenings.

Lots of children. We were there when lots of Australian families were on their winter vacation. If you don't care for children, don't go then, because there were lots of kids. All in all, we had a fantastic time, and the staff was completely helpful and acommodating, starting with the enthusiastic young man who manned the hut at the entrance. His enthusiastic shouts of "BULA" were very welcoming and appreciated!

If we were ever returning to Fiji, we would be staying at the Outrigger!
P.S. We really appreciated the postcard we received on our return to the States. Vinaka!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Bula Senseis,

Thank you for kind feedback, fabulous to read about your Outrigger on the Lagoon and Fiji experience. It is certainly regretful to read your comments on Baravi. Please rest assured we take your comments seriously. Our Team is continually enhancing our theme nights to satisfy both families and couples. Thanks again for your feedback. Your comments will help us improve the Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji Vuvale (Family).

Vinaka & best regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

it's noisy near the poolin the morning, and the hotel is frequented by australians mostly, but the level of service cannot be questioned. It sits at the higher end of hotels on the coral coast and is prices accordingly, but it's worth it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treekangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We just returned from a week at the Outrigger and we had a great time. The resort is lovely, the pool is great, with really fun areas for the kids. The rooms are not flash but tasteful and comfortable and well maintained. Everything was spotlessly clean. We stayed in a plantation bure and we really liked the Talei service - champagne and canapes at sunset and a nightcap after dinner. They are also available for anything you need during your stay.

Breakfast was great, very generous buffet with the usual inclusions. There is free toddler care in the nightclub area - we only discovered it on day 4, it was a godsend for us as we could actually enjoy a leisurely breakfast. Coffee from the Takia cafe was pretty good too. We skipped lunch most days thanks to the big breakfast but good sandwiches etc are available around the pool. For dinner there is a choice of restaurants. The buffets at the main restaurant are pretty pricey and we only ate dinner there once. The Baravi Bar by the pool does only noodles and rice dishes which is a shame, but this may change as there is a new kitchen under construction. The Ivi restaurant is really wonderful and we ate there twice. We did have one disappointing meal at the pizza place by the beach but the staff were very apologetic and offered us free desserts so we were happy with that. We ate there again later in our stay and the food was fine. The kids ate free at each restaurant and you can also order their meals ahead of time for the kids dinner at 5.30pm. There is also a kids lunch session.

Kids club was great, I wasn't sure if our 4 year old would be keen but the staff were great and he could not wait to go to each session. For our 2 year old, the Mei Mei service was the best thing ever! The nanny was wonderful and the kids loved her. We had such a relaxing time knowing they were happy and entertained. There are also babysitters available at an hourly rate.

There are lots of activities and entertainment but make sure you get a copy of the planner when you arrive and consult it so you don't miss things. We missed the dance performances which was a shame. The activities are great if you are the active type but if you just want to lie by the pool the poolside activities can be a bit annoying. An adults only quiet pool would be a great addition, but in the meantime the beach was a great sanctuary with lounges and umbrellas and still close enough for a dip in the pool. Snorkelling was fun, not spectacular but then we didn't expect that on the coral coast.

The spa is lovely and the tennis, gym and golf facilities were good.

At night there was some loud bass from the music from the nightclub and on Saturday night there was also the music from a wedding at the resort, however that did not go too late. We managed to sleep well though with the help of earplugs and the fans on full. It did also seem to improve once we mentioned it to reception so perhaps they turned the bass down a bit.

The resort was well staffed and the staff were very friendly and they all seemed to know our kids' names by the end of our stay. They would drop everything to pick up our toddler if he wanted them to. The staff seemed very happy and relaxed but also efficient. We always had people checking up on us but not intrusively so.

All in all the Outrigger was a seamless holiday that allowed us to relax completely. We will definitely return and hopefully combine it with a Castaway stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefourcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Bula thefourcs,

On behalf of the entire team of Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji we wish to thank you for having chosen us for your holiday destination. We are delighted to note that you fully enjoyed your stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji and rate this vacation as “Excellent for families - fun for kids and parents". All of our employees take great pride in serving our guests and such a positive review certainly is a factor of motivation to continue in our mission to deliver the best service. We will certainly share your feedback with our staff. We would highly recommend the Heli Combo Package for your next holiday and if you need any further information please feel free to contact our team.

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale' (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We were in Fiji for my niece's wedding - only 4 days unfortunately. Would have loved to stay longer! Maybe next time - great value and the staff were all very friendly & fun!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrappypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Bula Scrappypenny,

Thank you for dedicating time to post your views on Trip Advisor complimenting the service we had provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.We strive to provide our guests with memorable vacation experiences, and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger ‘Vuvale’ (family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I don't know how anyone could possibly fault this place. The rooms were gorgeous, the staff absolutely exceptional and everything else was great. The drinks etc were a little on the expensive side but you have to expect that from a five star resort! We had an absolutely amazing time, it was the lovely people that made our holiday so fantastic. Could not recommend this place enough!

We hired a car and checked out a few of the other resorts, and the people at Outrigger were definitely the most hospitable. I recommend taking full advantage of everything on offer, the day spa and bar were exceptional. I also enjoyed the free yoga and meditation classes there. Cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katandscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Bula katandscar

Vinaka for your kind feedback! We thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. Your wonderful comments on Bebe Spa, hilltop Kalokalo Bar, resort amenities and the lovely staff were especially enjoyable to read! We will gladly share your comments with our staff. Our team takes great pride in ensuring even the smallest facet of your stay is enjoyable and a reflection of the genuine warmth of the Fijian people

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale'(Family).

Vinaka and Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We loved the Outrigger on the Lagoon. From the minute we got there Koori, the most wonderful man and our butler, made us feel like we were in heaven, nothing was too much trouble and it was alway a pleasure to see him. The girls especially loved that he would suprise them with a juice our soft drink when he delivered the canapes.

We travelled with extended family - 8 in total - and we had two bures and a motel room, more than adequate accomodation. Bures are extremely comfortable, beds are heaven, ensuites very well designed.

The activities were well organised and enjoyable, from the morning power walk to the snorkelling, kayaking, aqua aerobics, basket making, tapa cloth painting, snorkelling and the list goes on. Our children (2 girls) also enjoyed the kids club and it was nice that it only went for 2 hour spurts 3 times a day as this was a family holiday and we do like spending time together. We also did alot of nothing which was fantastic.

Food - amazing, the chicken wraps were the best I have ever had and the pizzas were delicious. The theme nights were also fantastic with no shortage of food. Service was also lovely - definately on Fiji time which makes you relax and I truly hope never changes.

A special thanks to Koori and Zac (our talai butlers), Aliti or Alti (sorry can't remember) for the service at the restaurants, Joe for the baskets and bird he makes the girls, Rosie at the kids club and Edwin for the scuba diving. There were plenty more wonderful staff and I apologise for not getting all of your names.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Bula Hankait,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It was great to have you as our guests at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others.
I appreciate your fabulous comments on our “friendly staff”, “beautiful resort”, “activities” and “the great food”! Our focus is to ensure a positive vacation experience and your feedback will be shared with the resort team.

Again thank you for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Vinaka& Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,618 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing