We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    755
    283
    80
    43
See reviews for
1,560
873
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2005

My Wife and I and teenage son have just returned from 7 nights at the Outrigger in Sigatoka. We found it similar to be a lot of the reviews so far, it is a 5 Star resort :-) in 5 star location with 5 star views :-) The staff are very friendly going out of their way to give 5 star service :-) The facilities are 5 star :-) The only negative criticism would be that the prices for food and drink are also 5 star :-( To be fair though, it's probably not a lot different to a 5 star resort in Qld or somewhere similar. I would certainly recommend it for a picturesque place to stay, unwind, and relax. It's not however the place to go if you want to "rage"... which is why it is so good to just go and "do nothing" for a week :-)
There is good snorkelling right outside the door on the reef, a huge pool, plently of room to sit, swim, drink, eat, etc.
It is however 90 mins by road* to the airport and Denaru, where most of the Island day trips depart from. We did a day trip to beachcomber, well worth the money. * The cars and some of the coaches (more like mini buses) are a bit old that take you into Nadi, not exactly "airconditioned comfort"! So beware!
I would certainly like to go there again, perhaps out of school holidays in the cheaper season, perhaps early September, before it gets too wet or hot.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2005

We are a family of 4 ..2 adults and 2child(12&14), just back from spending the school hols. at the outrigger. Much of what i would say about the place was said by the previous Melbourne writer. It was truly a lovely place, higher standard than the ShangriLa Fijian. Acouple of issues to be aware of. Food is very expensive. My kids eat like adults so we didnt use the kids menus. Aplate of pasta at the poolside was f$27. The once a week evening buffet was f$45 p. adult, half for kids. The morning breakfast was $26 pp., unfortuately the menus didnt change, same menus each day. The pizzas were reasonable $16. Remember drinks and desserts are extras. a bottle of average wine was over $30.
We split our meals up by eating next door in 2 small offresort cafes. Not flash places but food was nice and plentiful. Drinks were very reasonable and nice breakfasts. Further down the street, was also the Bedarra resort,well within a casual stroll, the restaurant and service was wonderful. Much cheaper and variety, and more peaceful surrounding than the "Barn" crowding of the Outriggers main restaurant.
I would recommend u walk down there, even if its night, its a safe area, with other tourists walking around.
Also, the resort taxis can be dear. Walk to the Cafes, along the beach, there u will find Johnies Taxies, a lot cheaper same standard taxis, plus they will pick u up and drop u off to the front door of the Resort.
At this Cafe place, there is also a convenience/supermarket, which is cheaper to purchase stuff than the Resort's store.
There is an Indian guy each day with a stall, selling the usual bracelets,necklaces etc. his prices were cheaper than many many places we visted, especially onresort.
I would also recommend doing the Mystery Island day trip for around $95 p/adult. A very enjoyable day, with lunch included.
Again, the place was lovely, had a wonderful time, it can be as affordable as u want it to be.Hope this info. might be of use.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank aussietraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 27, 2005

We just returned from this resort and I would go back tomorrow if I could. My husband and I took our 2 kids (9 & 12) and loved it. The staff are the resort's greatest asset, always cheerful and friendly, making sure that you have everything you need or want. They all seem to adore children and even though our two weren't interested in the kid's club, they still seemed to have a staff member around them most of the time keeping them entertained or just chatting to them.

We were only able to get an ocean view room as the bures were fully booked but it was no disappointment. Clean and reasonably roomy, our room had a magnificent view of the gardens and ocean, was decorated nicely and serviced well.

Plenty of activities to keep you occupied although I'm sure if you stayed long enough they would become a little boring. The international crab and frog races are great fun (we won!) and there are spear throwing comps, coconut bowling, tie-dying, weaving, cooking, and traditional ceremonies to watch or participate in.

The food was lovely and as we don't eat a huge breakfast we were able to save some money by buying cereal at the store and having it in our room. Six days of dining for 4 people (kids 12 & under eat free) only came to $541AU with a couple of cocktails thrown in as well.

Snorkelling and kayaking is available at the beach when the tide is in. Not a lot to see but the water is shallow so it is ideal for first time snorkellers. The resort also offers dive trips from the activities desk that we took advantage of. At $50 per person it was a bit pricey for an hour in the water but the experience was worth it with a great guide and plenty of stuff to see.

All in all a great resort for families or couples that don't mind a few kids about.

Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

My partner and I had such a fantastic time at the Outrigger. Everything from our room, to the service, food and facilities were excellent! We thought the restaurants were reasonably priced especially for the quality of the food. Would recommend purchasing the meal plan vouchers, as they do work out cheaper and are quite flexible, especially as you can get the pizza's take away, so you have the opportunity to eat by the beach if you want! I don't normally have 3 meals a day, so my partner, used my breakfast vouchers while I slept in!

The activities centre do a great job with providing entertainment & activities for the guests. Cultural activities/entertainment like weaving, kava ceremony, kokoda cooing demo's. Outdoor activities like water aerobics, volleyball etc... Other entertaining activities like, coconut bowling, crab & frog races.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Always happy and singing! Take the time to talk and get to know them.

We would also recommend doing a day cruise to the outer islands, they are truly beautiful! We did the South Sea Island Combo cruise, which was a 20 minute cruise from Denerau to South Sea Island, which is a dinky little island that takes approx. 10 minutes to walk around. This package cost FJ$85 pp, and includes 3hrs on the island with all the beer or wine you can drink, bbq lunch and use of all the snorkelling/kayaking gear, plus also a 3 hr cruise around the outer islands afterwards. There are lots of diff. island cruise packages, the only downfall was the resort is just over an hour drive to the Denerau marina.

The Outrigger was a brilliant holiday for my first time there!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Buggerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing