We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2009

If you want a total relaxation and do nothing else, this is one place to be. We had a great time and children did not want to leave. So let us put down first things first.

The Hotel - A five star resort. Very neat, clean and well kept rooms of very decent size. Reasonably large pool and a coral lagoon. The beach will be a disappointment for those looking for surf (don’t come here) but a heaven for snorkelling and kayaking.

Getting there - Resort is about 10min from the little township of Sigatoka. Overall allow about an hour and a half to get there from the Airport at Nadi. There are plenty of Taxis at the airport. Check the price before you get in. Should cost about F$ (Fiji Dollars) 90. Taxis are mostly old and rickety with no air conditioning but will do the job. There are buses too. But we were told that these take quite a hike before they reach the resort. Alternately you may arrange with the resort for your transport. You may pay about F$20-30more but you will get an air conditioned vehicle.

Rooms - We had a deluxe ocean view room which we got as free upgrade (expect these when hotel has low occupancy) at the top level. Room had great ocean view, a balcony, two queen size beds, and a decent size clean and tidy bath room. Room also had a good sized flat screen LCD TV with a games console and fast internet (which we did not use). Daily house keeping was excellent and the room came with a Butler (Talai)! - more of that later. There are other room types including garden view rooms (on levels bellow - cheaper) and Bures (bungalows – more expensive). If you like a little bit more room, your own space and a bit of isolation Bures may be good. But except for those few ocean view Bures (quite expensive) there is not much of a view in others except for the surrounding garden (which of course is well maintained and very green and colourful).

Food – Mostly not bad but very expensive. A good sit down buffet dinner may cost around F$ 60+ per person. Some of these usually have cultural shows which is a bonus. Our room service club sandwich on the day we arrived cost F$30! Breakfast had a decent hot and continental spread and costs about F$34 per head. There are children’s menus. If you are staying for more than 4 days check about children (12yrs and under) eat free deal. They have meal deals also but take care before purchasing one as you may be stuck with some restaurants only and excluded from some menu items.

Restaurants - There are four places to eat. The Vale Ni Kana is the largest and open for buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and themed dinners. Food is quite good here. Do not forget to try the freshly made fruit juice (pineapple and ginger was our favourite) at breakfast. Themed dinners are pricy but some have native dances which are quite lively and good.

Baravi is with the pool bar. Except for the Mongolian Barbeque, every other meal here turned out to be an expensive disappointment. What ever you do, do not try Asian food prepared here. The chef does not have the foggiest idea of how to make them. For snacks, sandwiches or ice cream by the pool, this is OK.

Sundowner Bar is by the lagoon. This place is probably the best value for money here. There is great wood fired pizza. Each F$25 and more than enough for two. They also have light lunches. Not much of a selection but if you stuff yourself up at breakfast (which is recommended!), then for about F$14, this is the way to go.

Ivi Restaurant is the last one. Does not allow children so we did not go there. Appears very formal and sit down multi course dinners.

There is also an adults only bar up at the Bebe Spa. Bebe Spa is also an adult’s only location.

Service - Mostly very good but things go missing at times (specially when busy). Part of the meal order we placed at Bravai while at the pool did not turn up until reminded. Things tend to happen in Fijian Time (i.e. slow) but since you are also not in a hurry to go back to work in down town Manhattan, relax and enjoy. Talai butler service was not much. But our butler was a delightful man and arrived every afternoon with complementary Champaign, drinks for kids and canapés – a fine touch after a long day at the beach and before dinner! Staff generally is wonderful. Fijians appear to be very friendly. On the day you leave (or the day before), let your waiter in the restaurant where you take your last meal know that you will be leaving and see what happens!

Things to do – Do nothing and relax is the name of the game here. You can laze by the big pool. There is a shallow children’s area which is good even for toddlers (under supervision of course). The lagoon was only available during the two hours of high tide for kayaking and snorkelling. Both activities are complementary, highly recommended but need to register before to get the gear if you are in there when the hotel is busy. Corals aren’t much but shallow lagoon is great if you have young children.

There is a good Eco Park across the road. Worth a visit. Hotel has arranged visits but you can cross the road and go there yourself.

If you have not done this before, try the village tour. You get to visit a nearby village and participate in a welcoming “Kava” ceremony. Great experience. Don’t expect to see them in mud huts with thatched roof dressed in native costume though!

Check with reception for the weekly activity sheet.

Cultural Shows – There are Polynesian dances, Fire dancing and traditional Fijian Meke dancing as part of the themed dinners at Vale Ni Kana restaurant. If you do not mind the price it is a good experience (after all you are on holidays!). The fire dancing part is done outside, so if you are not keen to dine there on the day, you can still watch it. It is quite good. We did not go to the fire walking show. We never though it would be worthwhile for the asking price. Every evening there is the fire lighting ceremony and a Kava ceremony. These are done by hotel staff dressed in traditional costume and seeing it once may be good enough.

Other - Bottled water at the resort is very expensive. The night bed turn in service left us several complementary bottles every day. May not happen in all rooms we suspect. Do not forget to buy a stock at Nadi or Sigatoka on your way. Taxi driver will be happy to take you to shops. Hotel water seems to be very much all right (and presumably is what is served in their restaurants). Alternately you can boil using the kettle in your room and chill in a bottle in the in room fridge.

It costs abut F$20 for a return Taxi trip to Sigatoka. Souvenir prices here and at the resort had little difference. So if you have no plans to buy big or have no need to re-stock up your water and other odd items (or liquor!) do not waste time. Eateries here are of local standard and best left for the locals.

Hotel has a 3% surcharge if you pay by Credit Card. They also add F$5 as Sigatoka hospital fund. If you wish to pay cash, there is an ANZ cash machine (ATM) at the lower floor (below the reception) which might allow you cash withdrawal from your home account in F$. Note that daily limit is F$1000.00.

Overall, we had a wonderful time. Hope you do too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OZ-Travelling-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,883 - 2,889 of 3,159 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

We recently stayed at the Outrigger over the Christmas break. We arrived the day after Christmas and stayed through New Year's Day.

We got a room on level 6 (equal to second floor) and we still had quite a great ocean view, even though ocean views are advertised for levels 7 and 8. We were glad we didn't stay at a bure. Most of them were spread out across the property, with very few on the ocean front. All bures were amidst lush gardens, which I think would make them more "bug" prone. Don't forget your bug repellent!

Our room had two queen beds and a cute little balcony, which was just big enough and quite comfortable for our family. The bathroom was very specious and there was also a little fridge. The two things I wish there were more of, were a greater TV channel selection for rainy times (although you can order movies) and a game room or books that you can check out. They also offer iPods with preloaded movies that you can check out for different periods of time.

The highlight of the resort was definitely the pool. With a 2- and a 4-year old, it is the one place we spent the most time at. The pool has several depth levels, and in a few areas just deep enough for adult laps. Kids were having a blast at the pool. A lot of activities were also taking place at the pool (aerobics, polo, swimming contests, etc), so it felt that was the heart of the complex.

The beach is just behind the pool, but the lagoon is bare most of the day. High tides are noted on the weekly activity guide and you can snorkel or kayak around. At low tides, we spent a lot of time chasing hermit crabs and gazing at starfish, which was a highlight for the kids.

There are four restaurants around the resort, for a variety of cuisines and budgets. However, we found almost all of the dinner options quite overpriced and most times offering bland food. The Sundowner (pizza and salad restaurant) is probably the most reasonable one. The restaurant by the pool has a few good lunch options, but it turns out overpriced for dinner. If you were to sit by the pool and order food from the pool restaurant, i found that it took a little more time than I would have wanted because they operate through a main kitchen off immediate grounds. There is also a BBQ bar right next to the pool restaurant, where you select sauces, veggies and your pasta and a chef cooks it all for you. We thought the pasta wasn't as well cooked and weren't crazy with the outcome. Plus, there is just one chef and too many hungry vacationers in the middle of the day, so the line can be long.

We walked on the beach beyond the hotel grounds and we went to both Johnny's cafe and the Cafe. Both are reasonably priced and offer better (i think) tasting food. Our favorite was the Cafe (which has another location in Sigatoka) owned by a Swiss guy. Fish steaks ($14 fijian) and the whole fish were amazing! Johnny operates a convenience store as well, so it's a good alternative to get snacks and drinks for your room.

The staff overall was very friendly most times, although there were a few hit and miss instances with the restaurant staff. Most times though we were cordially greeted and everyone played with our kids.

The kids club was operated by a few very friendly ladies and it's open to 3-12 year olds (split into two age groups). They have some quite interesting activities, but my daughter didn't spend too much time there as a day in the pool was more attractive to her. We met a few nannies around (I think they charge $10 fijian the first hour and $5 every following hour) and they seemed very caring and loving to the kids they were looking after. It might be a good alternative for an intimate dinner with your partner. There was also a free nanny/daycare service by the breakfast buffet.

Tennis grounds and the gym looked well taken care off and next to these, there is a passage to the Eco Park. All the grounds are extremely lush and there are ponds and creaks all around the complex. It's quite an attraction for small kids. As is the fire dancing show that pours out from the restaurant and it's accessible to everyone. Weather permitting, there were also movie viewings on the lawn for the kids.

Lastly, check when you arrive, but most times kids eat for free in all restaurants but the fancier one, the Ivi. That helped a lot with managing costs. And on that end, we definitely enjoyed the happy hours with $3.5 fijian beer and wine...

Overall, it was a great resort to rest, relax and have good time by the pool. Very kid friendly and quite popular as it seemed with New Zealanders and Australians. We had a great time for the 6 days we spent there, although if we had more time at Fiji, we would probably become a little antsy staying so secluded. But if that's your trip purpose, this is a great destination.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Desma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We both really enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger and would definately stay there again. We were very sad to leave! We stayed in the Deluxe Ocean View Room which was modern and clean with an amazing view of the resort and ocean. The staff were all welcoming and very friendly in all areas of the resort. There is the opportunity to completely relax and do nothing but eat and drink. Our most delicious meal was at Ivi however all the various resort restaurants and bars also had great food and cocktails! However if you to do want to do activities there is also daily resort activities including local Fijian village tours, firewalking, Kava ceremonies, coconut bowling, pool games and more. We would definately recommend this resort for couples and families.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Webby_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon. The welcome to the hotel was great, the staff are so friendly and helpful. We paid for an upgrade to a Plantation Bure (well worth it). We were given a tour of the resort and shown to our Bure which was lovely.
We probably weren't able to make the most of the resort due to jet-lag which meant we slept from early evening through to very early morning but what we did experience of the restaurants was very good. Again, all the staff we met were great.
The one disappointing thing about the Outrigger is the beach. The water is very shallow which means you can only swim at high tide (between 7-9am) and even then the sand has a lot of coral so you really need footwear. Fortunately we were up by then so were able to do kayaking and snorkelling (both free). Just be aware if you are expecting a beach holiday with swimming in the sea, you won't really be able to do it here. The pool is very good though.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhart75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We recently celebrated our Wedding at The Outrigger on the Lagoon, a beautiful venue with equally beautiful staff.

Selai, the Wedding co-ordinator, had everything organised prior to our arrival, with only a short meeting to finalise the details a few days prior to our wedding day.

The venue, but most of all the staff, made our Wedding a magical day to remember. Selai, you made our day so stress free and much better than we could ever had hoped for. Vinaka.

Joji, Ilisoni and Ilatia assisted in making our day special, ensuring no-one went thirsty.

To the fantastic Serenaders, Sireli, Tabua, Esala and Jale, our day was very memorable to us and all our guests, thanks to you guys.
Onisimo and Vuni, thankyou for preparing the Beach so beautifully.
To Miri, Eva, Api,Sireli and all the Ivi staff, thank you for an unbeleivable meal. No other Reception Centre can compete with your dining experience.

Our lovely Talai Butlers, Lusia and Salote, we appreciate your exceptional service, but most of all your smiling faces. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Thankyou also for the decorations you suprised us with on our wedding night.

Also to Jonetani, our Teenage children's Talai Butler, you have two new fans. Corey and Britt say "Vinaka".

Leaving the Outrigger was like leaving home. We were all very heavy hearted. Even shedding a tear when listening to the farewell song @ the Ivi on our last night.

We had guests travelling with us that ranged from 3 to 73 years, and everyone was made to feel like part of the Outrigger family. A resort for all ages.

All the Staff deserve a pat on the back, from our maids, to the ground staff, who keep the resort looking so spotless.

Kina & Dee, our Nephew Tiwai, had a ball. This was our first trip to Fiji and the Outrigger, but it certainly wont be our last. We look forward to visiting our new friends at the Outrigger again soon. A BIG VINAKA to all!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger as part of our Honeymoon. We stayed in the Plantation Bure and it was absolutely fabulous. The pool was gorgeous we spent all our time there. We had Talai Butlers who bought us Champagne and Canapes every night and nightcaps in the later evening.
Nothing was too much trouble and all staff were so friendly.
We had the Menu Plan where food was included; the variety was fantastic and the food delicious. Would definately recommend it to any honeymooners...but you have to stay in the Bure's they are the best!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Crystal01Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

My wife and I (in our early 40's), and our daughter (aged 4) had a 10 night stay at Outrigger in Nov 08. Overall, the resort is a good one with most of the facilities you would expect. There is not much else to do outside the resort so relaxation needs to be your main objective for going.
Main tips;
- Book a private car transfer before you leave.
- Checkout Johnny's Bar next door to the resort for an alternative to the resort meals. It's safe, good value, and the family running it are very friendly.
- If you enjoy the snorkling try and do a dive (the highlight of my trip).
- Fill up on the buffet breakfast so you don't have to have much for lunch.
- Avoid the 'do it yourself' pasta night.
- Avoid the fire walking show ($18pp) - a total ripoff
- Make sure you see the fire dancing show (free) - it's really good.
- Pizza's are great
- Kids Club is great.
- Stick to a room rather than a bure if you want the better ocean view.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here are some more detailed observations on our stay which I hope can assist you if are thinking of staying there;

Booking:- the resort is an hour's drive from the airport so make sure you book a private car before you get there. The other option's (bus - various resort stops and express to Outrigger) are only a bit cheaper so it's worth having a car waiting when your plane lands (particularly if you have children).

Rooms:- We had an oceanview room on level 4. Level's 2, 3, and 4 are classed as ocean view. Some of level 2 views would be partially obscured by the trees but most have a good outlook. I read one review where the woman suggested the bure's are a must. I don't agree - We were offered the same (extra $40 a ngt for a bure). If you take this option you may give up the vast ocean view of a room as many bure's are located within the gardens of the resort. You might be closer to the lagoon/beach in a bure but with low tide the lagoon's dry for a majority of the time. We stuck with the room with a balcony overlooking the ocean which was great each evening sitting out there having a few drinks as the sun was setting.

Butler service;- sounds good but reality is if you like your wine, the sparkling they serve is Hardy's Cuvee (about a $6 bottle) so don't get too excited when you hear "free champagne".

Food;- Food is a mixed bag and expensive. Themed buffet's are approx. $60 a head. We went to the Indian night - all three curries were tasteless - totally toned down for those who don't like there food spicy (and I'm sure the beef curry was simply the leftover mini hamburger patties from the childern's menu that day thrown into a sauce). The pizza bar (Sundowner) is the best value and quality - $25 for a woodfired pizza which can be shared between two and they taste great. The poolside restaurant (Barvari) serves good Asian stir fry's but a smallish dish will cost $30 each. Spring rolls $14 were also good. The pasta nights (half the week - Asian the other half) not as good. One night you had to go and create your own dish from the raw ingredients and hand it to the chef to cook it. Standing and waiting 10 minutes in a line to pick the pasta, the sauce, the garlic, chilli, etc was not my idea of relaxing. Tasted ok but I'm not a chef - that's their job - and I still paid $30 to do it!
Outside the resort there is Johnny's Bar and Cafe (a 2 minute walk along the beach next door to the resort). Outrigger openly discourages you from going there but it's better value and the quality is good. It's run by an Indian family (the mother, Shana and her son, Michael are very friendly and are crying out for people to try their food (think Indian curries). We had a fish curry which was great (about $14 each). I used to buy a few beers to take back to the resort ($3 a bottle instead of $6 in the resort) and have on the balcony of our room at sunset most days. Had some cocktails at the Sundowner Bar some days which was great but at $16 a drink it add's up. A $3 beer overlooking the ocean from the balcony was just as good.

Entertainment:- Of the cutural shows the best was the Fijian fire dancing (free) which our daughter loved. It's part of the themed buffet but it spills outside for all to see so make sure you keep an eye out walking back from your dinner wherever that is. Don't get this confused with the fire walking which was a total ripoff (and it cost $18pp). A few tribesman walking over some boulder rocks (from a fire lit sometime earlier) a few times for about 15 minutes. I thought this would be people walking across the hot coals - it wasn't.

Daycare - after a few days our daughter loved going to the daycare once she got to know the other childern and workers. The women running the activities were really nice and friendly.

Gym - small but generally no one there - four good/new treadmills, bike's and some weights. I ran some km's a few days which felt pretty good after the eating and drinking.

Golf driving range;- I went to play in the planned compettions they had down each day but becasue I was the only one they said they needed at least three people there to give out the prize so I just hit a bucket of balls each time.

Snorkling:- the lagoon is great for snorkling but you only get about 2 hours of the day to do it (it's bare at low tide). The week's activity guide in your room tells you what time to go ie.high tide.

Diving:- if you can, do the free diving lesson they do in the pool each day. I did this and ended up booking a real dive. This was the highlight of the trip for me. You can book it all through the resort ($170 for 1st dive and $110 if want to do a 2nd dive a couple of days later. It's a bit expensive but worth it). The coral and reef are amazing and you only have to go 1 minute offshore in a boat to get there.

Pool:- it's big and is the main focal point during the day activities. Really good and plenty of chairs to go around.

Sikatoka shops:- there's not much there - even the souveneir shops are not great (just get them from the resort). Maybe go once ($15 return in a taxi) to get a few snacks and soft drinks if you want to save a bit.

Hope this helps you decide. If you can let the isolation and resort food and drink prices slide you will have a great time. Would I go back? Maybe, but only as a short break (3/4 nights), not 10 nights.

Cheers,
John (Sydney)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank JAGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,730 reviews
25.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
16.0 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $139 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing