We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$114
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$290
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Bedarra Beach Inn(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$91
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$173
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$50
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$63
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tambua Sands(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$97
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$262
$204
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Cocomo(Sigatoka)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Gecko's Resort(Sigatoka)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,270)
Filter reviews
3,270 results
Traveler rating
2,038
797
300
89
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,038
797
300
89
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbebe spaivi restaurantplantation burebutler servicesundowner barmei meitalai butlera deluxe ocean view roomvale nichampagne and canapeskids clubtapaspeter hopgoodmeimei serviceevery afternoonpool aerobicscoral coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,537 - 1,542 of 3,270 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Outrigger is a fantastic family resort. Friendly staff that have that friendly village islander feel that help you to unwind from the moment you walk in. The resorts definitely not 'new' but very well established gardens and grounds and well looked after. We got an incredible package deal with MyFiji.com that included everything we needed - highly recommend checking them out if your thinking of going to Fiji. The new adults pool area expands the appeal of the resort beyond just 'family time' (we enjoy couple time aswell on our family holidays!). The shots of the beach and coral overstate how good it is (much better beaches and snorkelling out on the islands) but it is still much better than the Denarau beaches (murky water, dark coloured sand). The Bebe spa on the hill is also a must! We went all out at the spa because we had a 1,000 credit from My Fiji.

Well done Outrigger and thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: for families, if you can afford it go the Bure!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Sara B,
Thank you for your kind feedback. You have hit the nail on the head as to why we call ourselves a “Traditional Fijian Village Meets 5 Star Luxury”. A great tip in your review to make sure you do not miss our opulent Bebe Spa. Our Bebe Spa has been awarded the best Destination Spa at the Australasian Spa Awards and it is a must do. My personal favourite is the Bebe Vakaviti.
Sara B, thank you again and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Fiji.
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Outrigger on the Lagoon for 8 days recently and loved our stay. The staff were genuinely wonderful people, the facilities were excellent (the pool fabulous), gorgeous weather, lush grounds. Our children loved the Kids Club and were very sad to say goodbye. Given the size of the resort and number of kids, I can't recall ever hearing a peep in our room (we were in the Ocean View rooms). The beds were soft and the friendly valet service was appreciated.

Our only sad moment was discovering that there really isn't a nice sandy beach, but rather a tidal flat. Upon further inspection, however, the kayaks and snorkelling equipment allowed us to explore the critters and corals in the reef environment.

Be warned: food and beverages aren't cheap, but both are good.

Again, a fantastic trip. Thanks to the staff of the Outrigger.

Room Tip: We were unable to book a Bure, as they were in high demand, but they looked great! Closer to the pool and restaurants as well as the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Bula Smiley D,
Greetings from the isle of smiles. We are delighted to read that your whole family had a great Fijian holiday. The Kids Club most certainly keeps the children entertained so that the parents can also have a relaxing holiday. I also note your comments relating to the beach and you are correct, we do have a coral beach which provides an abundance of marine life to explore. We will most certainly share your comments with our team who will be equally as thrilled to read them.
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Outrigger for a friend's wedding between 20 March 2014 and 27 March 2014. Outrigger wouldn't normally be the type of place we would stay at - we don't have kids so we normally go for the smaller boutique type accommodation. However, in the interests of convenience, we stayed where the wedding was. We were in a Garden Bure and it was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We prefer not to use air conditioning and there were great cross breezes but the aircon was freezing cold when required. The resort is immaculately presented and constantly being groomed by the ground staff. This is a family resort, so if you're anti-kids there is an adults only pool and bar area to escape the little terrors. The buffet breakfast is huge and covers all dietary needs - TIP - for peace and quiet, try going down to breakfast after 9.00am - most of the families have left and you can have breakfast without little Johnny beating out a drum solo on his high chair. Food and drinks are not cheap but are of a high quality and the exchange rate is in our favour by about 60%. Local beer and spirits are the cheaper option. The snorkelling is great once you get out a bit and there is plenty to see under water.

We had the "talai" butler service with our package and our two - Jonatoni and Celera - made the trip for us. Can't thank them enough, both beautiful people. Get to know your butlers, they are a wealth of local cultural and practical information. The afternoon champagne and canapes were different every day and something to look forward to, as were the night cap liquors and dessert canapes.

You must try the local cafe's and restaurants just down the road from the resort - we recommend Koko's. They have a courtesy van that will collect/drop you off. Go for the Carnivore burger and get the free beer!! There were no negatives on this trip, if the resort thing is what you are after then this would suit you to a "T". The wedding was beautifully done, the chapel is stunning, food brilliant and the local dancers awesome.

Only blemish was finding out that Outrigger still stung our dive operator for commission, even though none of the bookings or enquiries were done through Outrigger and no Outrigger resources or staff were used. I found the dive company on my own, Outrigger had nothing to do with it so this doesn't seem fair. If Outrigger had recommended the dive company or had done anything to earn their commission then fair enough, but this just seemed to be a money grab.

On the whole a positive experience and we would recommend Outrigger to others, especially those with kids. Not an ideal couples retreat, but they do manage the compromise between families and couples very well, which is no easy task.

PS - I had the best sapphire martini ever here and worth the price tag. The local vodka is cheap but also fairly nasty. Fiji Gold vs Fiji Bitter? Gold wins hands down. If you arrive via a private car transfer, ask your driver to stop at a market in Sigatoka to grab drinks and snacks for your room. That way the beer will cost about $4 FJ not $9.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a garden or beachfront bure - more secluded and private.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear darren m

Bula and sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We are absolutely thrilled to read that you and your wife enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful resort! As you found out, we are blessed with the friendliest staff that you will find anywhere in the world. I will most definitely pass your comments onto Jonatani and Kelera. I have noted your comments regarding the dive operations at the resort – I have addressed this issue with our activities team.
darren m, once again we thank you for your comments. All of my team looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future!

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stopped off here on our way round the world for 10 days last year, took the advice from Auz travel that this was the place to stay ,"beautiful sandy beach etc" how wrong could we have been.
Beach is made up of broken corals from the reef that surrounds it and you need to wear something on your feet all the time. Staff are brilliant but thats about it, food is average and weather is hit and miss.
From what we observed its a great place if you want to come and dump your kid's off with the nannies so the parents can get pampered all day.
Very expensive place to stay as the whole resort is based around getting money out of you. If you are looking to stay here make sure you book the meal deals otherwise it's really expensive on the pocket.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris_davies777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear chris_davies777,

Thank you for taking the time to provide review on your recent holiday with us. We are obviously disappointed to read that your expectations were not met. We strive to deliver fantastic Fijian holidays and we sincerely apologize that you did not receive this. I am disappointed to read that your travel agent incorrectly advised you of our beach! We do not hide from the fact that our resort is located in the heart of the Coral Coast. As such, our lagoon is more of a coral base rather than white a white sandy beach. However, we do provide reef walkers and we encourage our guests to get out and explore. The reef system directly off the resort is full of marine life and well worth an afternoon of snorkelling or one of the guided reef walks at low tide. Further to this, I am sorry to read that you found our Food and Beverage and the weather to be hit and miss. Whilst we cannot control the weather, we most certainly can control our Food and Beverage and as such, we will be sharing your information with our F&B manager and Executive Chef to address. We are known to have some of the best restaurants in Fiji. Whilst we appreciate we are not the cheapest, we honestly feel that we provide exceptional value in a great 5 star resort.

Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our experience was beyond our expectations. The location, hospitality, and the beautiful people of Fiji made our stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon one holiday we will never forget. Five Star all the way

Room Tip: Such a large property, every room is great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Bula Shazzy2014,

Vinaka (thank you) for your kind words and comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and holiday at our beautiful resort. As you have mentioned, our staff are very special and go out of their way to provide a fantastic Fijian holiday. This is just one of the many reasons why we are continually rated as the best family resort in Fiji! We hope to see you back!
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews