We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish i was here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I wish i was here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger in April and had the most amazing holiday. I reviewed our stay at the time. we are now staying at the Intercontinental, a beautiful 5 star resort but lacks any sense that you are in fiji. The staff dont greet you here, its all a bit western and formal.

We will be back at the outrigger again soon! You have created something very special there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear nicl72

Bula and Sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
We wish you were here as well!
I was delighted to read that my staff took such good care of you when you visited the resort in April!
You will have to come back for another visit?
The biggest change since you were here in April has been the opening our our new “Adults Only” swimming pool and bistro. This new facility features a 20 metre lap pool, a 35 metre lagoon pool with a swim-up bar and an outstanding bistro. The name of the venue is Vahavu, which means chill-out in Fijian and it has made such a huge difference to those guests staying at the resort that are looking for quiet time.
Nicl72, hopefully we will see you back at our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future?

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    717
    263
    77
    42
See reviews for
1,464
835
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Awesome pool...Bebe spa amazeballs (pay the extra for the Drua massage)...food as good as can be expected (didn't venture out of the resort to eat and for a relatively fussy 7 year old, he didn't starve but only conquered two of the main food groups...pizza and toast) resort activities were great...Village tour worthwhile (only $10 FJ) but take coins for the kids...all the staff were fabulous (the barman always remember your drink and room number!)...Kids Club really well run...Robinson crusoe island visit great fun (don't be deterred by the tin barge that leaks...got us there in one piece)...daily talai service a nice treat when getting ready for dinner...rooms are clean (deluxe ocean view) and well appointed...no problems with noise (considering it's AUS school holidays, the place didn't seem crazy overcrowded)...cheap to get here and stay but don't expect Bali or Indo food and drink prices...lots of village ladies selling their wares all around the resort in addition to the souvenir shops...all in all...a great visit! Met all expectations and would gladly come again! Just a small note for the uneducated...the fijians take their concept of "time" verrrrry casually..."how long to the resort from the airport"....quoted 1 hr 15min...took 2 hours....how long from the resort to the jetty? 45 mins (took 1hr 20)....just add another third to everything and you'll be fine. All photos true to reality...the resort is beautiful and well kept.

Room Tip: Lagoon view wing has fabulous views of the beach and is close to everything! We were lucky enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lisa F

Bula and sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We are absolutely thrilled to read that you and your family would consider coming back to our beautiful resort for a second visit – We must be doing something right!
As you have stated – great restaurants, heaps of activities and to top it off outstanding warm and friendly staff – This is what Outrigger is all about!
Lisa F, once again we thank you for your enthusiastic comments. All of the team looks forward to the day when you and the family return to our beautiful resort.

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Bula Outrigger
We've just arrived back from Outrigger having spent 6 nights there and it was fantastic. We went with the intention of having pure relaxation and that's exactly what we got. The welcome was excellent, we really felt expected when we arrived at reception and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The Talia David who took us to our room was very helpful and ensured that we knew where everything was and how everything worked in our room before going to get us some drinks in our room.
Our main Talia Venina was lovely and so caring, such an asset to Outrigger and ensured that our son got his favourite popper each evening while we enjoyed our wine or beer (depending on what we felt like).
The food was excellent as was the range of drinks, in ever got to the end of the cocktail menu so will need to return to complete this task as they had special cocktails on each night that would have been rude not to try them. A few people in their reviews have said that the food and drink is expensive but its really not anymore expensive than eating and drinking in the CDBs in Australia and at the end of the day we're on holiday so we may as well enjoy it! The choice of restaurants was excellent, we loved VNK (buffet), the Sundowner and the pool restaurant. We didn't visit the IVI on this visit as we just ran out of time but the menu looked amazing.
The main pool was great and our son loved meeting and playing with the other kids, it did get a bit noisy at times but that's what an iPod is for - it is a family resort after all. The adults only pool however gave us the peace and tranquility when our son went to kids club. It was such a chilled atmosphere, with the swim up bar and the spa offered massages there as well.
The kids club was great, our son who is 6 loved going and even insisted on having lunch and dinner there on some days. He loved having lunch with the local school kids when they came to visit. A special thanks has to go to Tasha from kids club who our son loved and was over the moon to have the chance to dress up as a warrior to take part in the lighting of the lanterns around the pool one evening.
While our son was occupied at kids club we took advantage of the extended child care there and spent just over 3 hours getting pampered at the Bebe spa. It was excellent and the view from the spa was breath taking.
The local ladies who came onto the resort to sell the jewellery, bags etc that they made were lovely and so friendly. Just like everyone at the resort. I don't think we came across anyone from the staff who wasn't friendly. The management of the resort were visible daily and seemed to be approachable.
On our last evening Aliti in the VNK arranged for the goodbye song to be sung to us and it was lovely and made me cry.
We stayed in an ocean view room which was perfect for our needs, it was across from the gatehouse to the resort so you could here the Bula welcome every time anyone came or went but we all really enjoyed hearing it as it made us smile.
Excellent resort for families, can't wait to go back
Vinaka!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear alibear21

Sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
It sounds like you and your family had a “brilliant” holiday!
As you have detailed in your review there is something for everybody at our beautiful resort! Water aerobics, lots of activities and yes, lots of kids having fun can be found by the main resort pool or if you prefer to chill out and relax, then the Vahavu “adults only” swimming pool is the place to go!
I was delighted to read that your son enjoyed his time at the Kids Club – I will most definitely share your comments with Tasha. I was also pleased to read that you and your husband took the time to visit the stunning Bebe Spa! How good is the view?
Aliti, Venina and David also send their best wishes!
Alibear21, once again we thank you for taking the time to provide comment on Trip Advisor. We all look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

BULA!!! What a great place for a family holiday. Took our 3 boys 10,12, 14 and had a blast. The service and recall of names from the staff was amazing. The staff capture the true essence of Fijian life with their focus on the kids. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone with kids. A must for the adults is the adults only pool area - very relaxing and quiet. The Sundowner Bar has excellent beach views and a great place for dinner with the sun going down. Having been to Fiji before (sans kids) I had an expectation of what to expect but the level of detail from the staff here was so much more in keeping with the traditional Fijian way of life. As a family we would suggest the local village tour as it is an eye opener. A big tick from all of us and looking forward to going back again. Staff members Semi, Basil, Violet and Merita are simply wonderful and Vinaka for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Olicent

Greetings and a very big “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you and the family had a wonderful holiday at our beautiful resort.
I was delighted to read that our staff took such good care of you and the boys! I will most definitely pass your comment onto Semi, Basil, Violet and Merita. As you found out all of our staff love coming to work and engaging with our guests.
I have also noted your comments regarding the traditional Fijian feel to the resort – This is an area that we work very hard on! I believe our tag line “Where traditional Fiji village meets 5 star luxury” says it all.
Olicent, Once again we thank you for your comments - hopefully we will see you back at our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future?

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A mega resort... On a grand scale... But is bigger better????

Our first Fiji experience. The Outrigger was suggested to us as a family/kid friendly resort. No doubting this fact. The resort had everything you needed, restaurants, beach/lagoon access, tennis courts, gym, massive pools, activities, a spa..... A great spot on the coral coast...

Getting to the resort is a 90 drive from Nandi. Pleasant enough....

As our flight was overnight from Melbourne, arriving at 6am into Nandi. We decided to book our room from the previous day so we could check in immediately. Others who were on the same flight as us had to wait until 2pm to check in.... Worth the extra expense especially with kids in tow....

The room we had was a premium resort view, on the ground floor. The room was well appointed, however our bed sagged on both sides which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Our daughter slept on a fold out bed.. The sagging master bed was a minor issue and one we didn't really worry about. The showers were hot, the water drinkable, and the maid service reliable...... All in all, we couldn't fault this aspect...

The activities provided for kids were excellent. The pool was a hit with our 4YO, but it could get very crowded and noisy...... The snorkelling on the lagoon was good and we had a go on the SUP board provided as well as the kayaks... The staff were very good.

We ate at all the kid friendly eateries and found the food ok, but not great. Value for money was questionable...??? Like most large resorts, they cater to a "captive audience".... This somewhat dictated price..... The wine and beer available was very EXPENSIVE.... Buying from the closest town (Sigatoka) and taking it back to your room was a much cheaper option for beer & wine. We are not food snobs but would give the food at the resort 6/10... Good, but not great....

If you do choose to get a meal package included you may find the food boring after a week of eating the same thing... We chose not to get a meal package except for breakfast each morning. This gave us flexibility to do our own thing for dinner if we wanted. And we did... Breakfast was your usual resort fare...... They made a great latte (at additional expense!!!!)

For those wanting to explore, we took a walk each night along the beach road to the west of the resort. There are a number of places to eat that offer better value for money. Our favourite was the restaurant at the Bedarra Beach Inn, 200 meters along the beach. Awesome food with a modest wine selection. The chicken curry was to die for....Other places we ate out at - Le Cafe... Don't expect too much here. Food was lovely but meals came out one-by-one. Very slow.....

We managed to go on two separate tours organised through the tour desk at the resort, we visited two different islands. This gave us another perspective of Fiji. The islands are so beautiful..... We'll worth it.

So is bigger better????

Depends on what your after. We were happy with our first experience, but realised after doing the two island tours that there is another side to Fiji that the outrigger just couldn't offer...

Pros - great location away from the hustle/bustle of the major towns. The resort was well appointed. The activities for kids were very good. The staff were Awesome. For $3.50 Fiji an hour, they certainly make you feel special. The weather was great. A fantastic family friendly resort.

Cons - food and beverages very expensive. Too many noisy weddings, the pool area could become overwhelming after a while.

Would we go back to the outrigger?? Probably not.

This isn't because we didn't enjoy our stay, it's because there is another side to Fiji we want to see. Smaller resorts, Island style...

BULA!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cassie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Cassie F

Sunny greetings from the Coral Coast!
My team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji are all about delivering quality holiday experiences to our guests. It is obvious from your comments, that in your case there were several areas that did not meet with your expectations. We apologise for this occurrence!
As you have stated, Outrigger on the Lagoon is a larger resort with lots of activities, the best restaurants in Fiji and also the number one spa in Australasia. This is not everybody’s cup of tea and I can fully understand that you may prefer a smaller boutique style of island resort! I personally enjoy the island resorts, but only for 2 or 3 days, then I need to come back to a large resort like Outrigger where there are more activities, more restaurants to choose from and a large number of cultural activities right on our doorstep.
As you have stated wines are about the same price as to what you would pay for in Australia. The reason for this is that Fiji does not have its own wine industry therefore we need to import our wines from Australia and New Zealand. Al imported goods are hit with 32% import duty when the goods arrive into Fiji. On top of this we then have to pay another 15% Value Add Tax plus another 5% hotel tax – It all adds up!
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the warmth and friendliness of our staff. We are blessed with the best staff in all of the South Pacific and they make such a difference to the overall holiday experience at our resort. I was somewhat surprised by your comments about our restaurants. Our restaurants at Outrigger are rated as the best in Fiji and we are extremely proud of the variety and quality that we offer to our guests.
Cassie F, Once again I thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon .Fiji. Should you be looking for an island holiday
destination, may I take the liberty of recommending our sister resort, Castaway Island which we also own and operate. As a small suggestion maybe a little bit of both would meet your needs!

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Perfect place for the family. I will definitely return to the Outrigger at Fiji.
We just got back after 10days at the outrigger. The place was amazing I just felt relaxed straightaway. Loved the kids & adults only pools, kids club, activities, friendly staff & other guests, my son had a ball with the other kids. They catered for everyone needs. Thank you for making our first time in Fiji so good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Annemarie H

Sunny greetings from Coral Coast!
I am absolutely thrilled that you had such a wonderful holiday on your first visit to our beautiful resort! We really appreciate the time you have taken to provide positive comment. Thank you for your comments about our staff around the resort. They seriously love coming to work and engaging with our guests.
I was delighted to read that your son enjoyed his time at the Kids Club – so much to do!
Annemarie H, once again we sincerely thank you for your comments! We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Outrigger on the Lagoon with my boyfriend in January 2013. We booked a package with My Holiday Centre, and for around $2000 we got flights, upgraded accommodation, daily buffet breakfast, a $1000 voucher to use anywhere in the resort (other than massages) and bonus Talai Butler services. This was the easiest holiday I had ever been on as everything was done for us. The resort itself is great! So much to do (if you want to), staff and service were amazing and the rooms were spacious with appropriate facilities. I Would definitely recommend this resort to couples, but there were a lot of children there, but they didn't get in the way because the pool and surrounds are huge!
Enjoy!
p.s. the cocktails are amazing

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room and had views of the ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ashleigh S

Bula and Sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
I was delighted to read that my staff took such good care of you when you visited the resort 9 months ago!
You will have to come back for another visit?
The biggest change since you were here in January has been the opening our our new “Adults Only” swimming pool and bistro. This new facility features a 20 metre lap pool, a 35 metre lagoon pool with a swim-up bar and an outstanding bistro. The name of the venue is Vahavu, which means chill-out in Fijian and it has made such a huge difference to those guests staying at the resort that are looking for quiet time.
Ashleigh S, hopefully we will see you back at our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future?

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
30.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
30.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing