We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fly & flop family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect fly & flop family holiday”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're after a relaxing, hassle-free, tropical island family holiday, the Outrigger is great.

There's enough to do for all ages but what I liked is that once you relax into Fiji time you can really unwind without feeling pressure to stay busy. Read: cocktails by the pool or beach in a shady spot to indulge in reading/chatting/snoozing.

A seven night stay with kids eating free & vouchers for us meant we rarely had to open our wallets the whole time. Food was plentiful, fresh with good variety. Staff were exceptionally friendly.

Fast-track your transition to Fiji mode & get a massage/pedi soon after you arrive. Truly wonderful way to click your headspace into the right gear.

Late Jan is pretty busy but the buffet lines move quickly & you can always find a shady spot. Most guests seemed to be Aussies & if you spend most of your time in the resort you won't get the deepest cultural experience. But no matter - there are enough genuine bulas & vinakas to put you in the right mindset.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite & also a bure & both were great for different reasons. The kids loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3AllyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear 3AllyL
Sunny greetings from Coral Coast! We are thrilled that you and the family had such a memorable holiday experience! We really appreciate the time you have taken to provide positive comment. Thank you for your wonderful comments about how easy it is to chill out and relax at our beautiful resort. I was delighted to read that you had the opportunity to experience a relaxing treatment at our world class Bebe Spa- As you have stated, the best way to start your holiday!
3AllyL, once again we sincerely thank you for your comments! We look forward to the day when you return for your next visit to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,921
    755
    283
    81
    43
See reviews for
1,561
874
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raccoon, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got back it’s a great place . for the hole family . people fantastic rooms great . just be aware of going to the Ivi Restaurant / its very dark . food I would class as poor. To average .And very expensive . and to end the night . we where short changed by $50. After speaking to Moses the site manager . I was told there was nothing he could do . but the hole holiday was great . mainly the staff and great views . just be aware of the ivy restaurant . for us staying in room 801 for 10 nights we found the . ivy restaurant to be a bad experience. But the staff made up in the resort for this any way . we still had a wonderfull time

Room Tip: room 801 is very quieter than most. and looks over the fire dancing show for free and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Jessica H
We appreciate the time you have taken to advise readers on your most recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday experience. As you found out, we have a wonderful team of warm and friendly staff at the resort! I have noted your comments in relation to your dining experience at the Ivi Restaurant. I sincerely apologise for the lack of service that was expended to you! I have personally followed up this issue with the team at the restaurant. As you will note from other subscribers to Trip Advisor, Ivi Restaurant is rated as an exceptional 5 star dining experience and would rate in the top 3 restaurants in Fiji. I am obviously disappointed that this exceptional dining experience was not forthcoming when you dined at Ivi Restaurant!
Jessica H, once again we thank you for your comments! All of my team looks forward to the day when next you return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our initial experience was tarnished by a delayed check in. We understand that normal check in is 3pm however we provided substantial prior notice that we would be arriving at 9.30 and we were told they would do their best to cater for this. We finally checked in at 1.30 and reception were very poor at communicating to us which led to us waiting and sitting at reception for 90 mins without any care given from reception (no offer of water etc). Thankfully the remainder of our experience was much better. The beach is a bit corally but great for swimming with coral shoes. The pool was a bit loud initially due to families with kids but got quieter at the end of our stay. Generally liked the pool area. Takia on the go cafe was a daily visit for coffee, muffin and Internet - highly recommend. Breakfast Buffet one day - not amazing but good selection of food. Main sticking point price 22aud which isn't bad but not cheap either. Buffet does not include barista coffee. Dinner seafood buffet one night - liked this better although 37aud good selection and very nice food. Cocktails also expensive but nice. The main reason I'm focusing on price is we heard outrigger employees are paid relatively minute wages when compared to outrigger prices. Superior resort Room was okay - expected better from a 5 star resort. Shower in bath was tacky. Overall design of room ok. Best thing about the resort ended up being the ability to fully relax due to beautiful views from reception, great pool area, beautifully manicured gardens, great warm humid weather, very good staff (apart from the majority of reception). Would probably revisit due to great location and relaxing holiday experience although have visited more polished and better value resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the long weekend over at our fave resort, got a great deal that included not only breakfast but buffet dinner which was absolutely beautiful and delicious. In our previous visits it was just my husband and I, this time we had our 9 month old baby girl with us. Staff were so friendly towards us as well as our baby girl and treated us as though we were special guests, just awesome service. Wasn't looking forward to checking out but all in all, yet another wonderful time spent at the best resort ever.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyr J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Kyr J S
What an outstanding review!
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your “beautiful” weekend at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. Whilst your review was short and to the point, I truly felt that you have captured the essence of what a holiday is all about at our beautiful resort. As you have stated in your commentary, our staff are what sets us apart from all of the other resorts, not just in Fiji but also Australasia – We are truly blessed with the warmest and friendliest team you could ever imagine. As you also found out, they just adore children, particularly babies!
Kyr J S, Once again we thank you for your comments. We all look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family, 2 adults & 3 kids (4yrs, 6yrs & 8yrs), went to the Outrigger for our first overseas holiday in Dec 2012. Stayed 8 nights. Though Fiji itself is quite poor the resort is absolutely beautiful. The staff are very friendly (love the "bula" man at the front gate) and very willing to help. We wanted a relaxing holiday and we got it. The kids swam and played all day.

Accommodation - given we are a family of 5 we stayed in a Plantation Family Bure - aka 2 bure huts joined in the middle. Huts 441 & 442 right beside the kids club. The bures were fantastic - 1 with a king bed, lounge etc, the other with 2 double beds in it and the middle adjoining section had a pull out sofa. Kids got a bed each. The bures are beautifully decorated and a pleasure to stay in. The hammocks out front were a nice touch. Note these large family size bures are expensive though. We had a butler service which was a nice touch - Zak was a wonderful.

Food - the restaurants are beautiful all with prompt service Pricing same/little less than Sydney prices. However with kids eating free we sayed $$. The kids menu had a lot of variety and kept my 3 happy. The food was delicious everywhere - particularly loved restaurant overlooking the beach. Def recommend getting the breakfast buffet in your "deal". It was easily the best buffet I've seen. We all loved these the variety on offer.

Kids club - only one of my kids loved this. The activites vary from session to session and the staff are friendly.
Activites - only critisim would be being unable to access reef shoes, snorkling gear, canoes etc easily. These were only issued when the tide was high. The reef out the front is OK, nothing like the barrier reef, but OK. Have to go at least half way out in lagoon to see fish.

Unfortunately we were there when Cyclone Evan hit Fiji etc. Luckily our resort faired well. The management moved us up to the main building for 1 night for safety. I was amazed at how efficiently they secured the resort and cleaned it up the following day/s. Though the kids went a little stir crazy in the 1 bed apt we were put in we were given food packs each, had movies running constantly and given updates regularly. Again we were very impressed.

Our family is looking forward to going again and next time prob Oct/Nov. Happy holidays.

Room Tip: Get a bure - they are located closer to pool, restaurants, kids club etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Toni1897
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday in December 2012 at our beautiful resort. I was pleased to read that you rated your family holiday as “excellent”! As you found out and have also commented upon, the best thing about a holiday at Outrigger is the unbelievably warm and friendly staff that takes great pride in looking after our guests. I will most certainly pass your comments onto your butler, Zac.
We also thank you for your comments on our restaurants. We are blessed with some of the best restaurants in Fiji, with the “fine dine” Ivi Restaurant being rated as number one! I thank you for your patience and understanding during and after cyclone Evan. Whilst it was a challenging time, I am pleased to advise that the resort is back to 100% operation with all services available to our guests.
Toni1897, once again we thank you for your positive comments. All of my team looks forward to the day when you and your family return to our beautiful resort, sometime in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first time in fiji,and l have to say we will be back. Outrigger is a very relaxing resort, where you feel absolutely spoilt and after only a very short time relaxed. Bula to all your wonderful staff who always greet you with an amazing smile and a big warm bula.( l especially loved the guy at the entrance to the resort and looked forward to his huge and happy BULA) Also a very warm mention for Maleki and the staff around the resort pool. Loved the pool area although it was hard to get a shady spot as guests would leave a towel on lounges and then disappear for a couple of hours. l realise this is extremely hard for the staff to monitor. As to the food yes l agree that it is a bit pricey but we did eat at the evening buffett a couple of times which l have to say was really just average and because of that l would say not worth the cost,buffet breakfast was great with a huge selection to choose from. Our favourite restaurants were the Sundowner and Ivy, both fabulous. The added bonus of the butler was a lovely treat and our butler was always friendly and happy.l had two treatments at the day spa and what can l say, it was pure bliss. We stayed in the deluxe ocean view room which was maintained beautifully, We did enjoy a couple of excursions which we received from My Fiji,whom we have booked with now a few times and would highly recommend. What fun Australia Day was and can't wait to see your photos so thankyou for all the activities that were organised. We mainly went to Fiji for a total relax and destress holiday which we definately got and would recommend Outrigger to our friends. So from Brisbane a huge thanks to all at Outrigger. Morethey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Carla D
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday. I was delighted to read that you are already considering coming back to our beautiful country. As you found out and have also commented upon, the best thing about a holiday at Outrigger is the unbelievably warm and friendly staff that takes great pride in looking after our guests. I will most certainly pass on your comments onto Maleki. We also thank you for your comments on our restaurants. We are blessed with some of the best restaurants in Fiji, with the “fine dine” Ivi Restaurant being rated as number one! How good is the Bebe Spa? You can see why it is rated in the top 4 spas in the Australasia, Pacific region. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our Australia Day celebrations – It most certainly was a lot of fun!
Carla D, once again we thank you for your positive comments. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort, sometime in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a pensioner couple with two permanent foster children, this resort was absolutely perfect. Totally relaxing for us and kids had an absolute ball, staff were very helpful and friendly.
Kids loved all the activities that were on going around the pool area all day and were never bored even though they didn't use the kid's club.
However on arrival we were asked for our credit card and an amount was taken out of our account which we were not told about, and that amount is still being witheld from our account today, 5 days after we left. Surely, it could have been put back into our account as soon as our room/bure was inspected. We save all year for that holiday and go without a lot so that we can give our foster children something special, and tomorrow school restarts and I am short of money for school needs because you are getting interest on my money. I wouldn't have minded if we were informed of the time it would take to reimburse us but we were not.

Also, a warning or advise to your visitors about handling the toads as they emit a poison from their skin and can make you sick would be good.

Room Tip: Bures are great for families, especially if you don't want to have rooms above or under you. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Margaret E
Bula and sunny greetings from the team at Outrigger o the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent holiday at our beautiful resort. I was delighted to read that your foster children enjoyed their time undertaking the many and varied activities at the resort. I note your comment regarding the deposit taken on your credit card. It usually takes 7 days for this deposit to be refunded by the banks in Australia. It is necessary for us to take a deposit as all services at the resort including activities and food and beverage can be charged back to our guest’s accommodation. I have also noted your comments regarding the cane toads around the resort. I agree with your recommendation not to pick up these toads.
Margaret E, Once again we thank you for your comments. We all look forward to the day when you and the family return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing