We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely (but rainy) Honeymoon...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
thunderbay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely (but rainy) Honeymoon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

As a young Canadian Couple (28 & 29 yrs.) we travelled a long way to visit Fiji! The Outrigger is a wonderful hotel, and we had a great time despite 7 1/2 out of 10 days of rain!! Read the reviews here, as we did, but go with an open mind as you will make your own experience! We can only offer our opinions and advice; as every experience will be a different one! Here's what we thought:

Rainy season in Fiji means it rains. Alot. Not for an hour or two, but for the whole day. So if you're going for some sun, don't book in January! There is not much to do in the rain, in-room movies are expensive (as much in the resort is!) and there are not alot of tv channels...so unless you are "happy Honeymooners", be aware that you might be trapped in your room!)

The resort is a five star, so therefore it IS expensive! Picking up the phone costs $2.50 FJ whether it's a local call or you're calling across seas. 10 minutes of internet costs $15 FJ. Food and drink is very expensive, but also very good and the service is wonderful (although some "Westerners" may not be able to aclimatize to "Fijitime"!!)...although our travel guides warned us not to tip, being restaurant managers we could only stand to do this for one dinner, then felt terrible and started tipping for good service as we normally would at home. The staff seemed to appreciate this, and we soon learned from a local that the staff is payed very poorly, and depend on thier tips- so please tip if you recieve good service! The staff, I will repeat, is wonderful and so friendly! Maybe its forced, but hey, it worked for us!! A good tip we got from this site before we left was to walk 200 feet (right) down the beach to eat at the cafes and bars to save some cash, if you're finding the resort too expensive! But budget some money to eat at the Ivi restaurant because it was amazing! we ate there on our last night and when the waiter found out it was our last night at the resort the staff serenaded us at our table (it wasn't corny or embarassing, but beautiful and sad!)...

The Bebe spa was anouther amazing experience! I saved money and had the "Bebe Polish" 2 hour treatment and it was worth every penny!! No other 5 star spa can compare to the view from your room in the spa: Ladies (and men!) go to the spa: it's worth the exorbitant prices! (and not any more expensive than any other luxury spa!)

Yes, the pool was crowded in January, and you had to wake early to get a "good" spot, but even in the afternoon we always found somewhere to sit, even if we had to walk 10 extra feet to get in the pool!

Pizza at the Sundowner IS good, and worth the price! The breakfast buffet it expensive but great, if not- buy a pineapple at the market down the beach!

A warning to the younger, party-types ( which we are, sometimes!): The resort is beautiful, but quite isolated from any "scene"...there is little to no night-life at the resort, so if that's what you want we'd suggest one of the smaller "backpacker" islands like Robinson Crusoe or Beachcomber...unless you can make your own fun!

Speaking of the tours, Robinson Crusoe is worth it! It's not as "picturesque" as the brochures suggest, but the entertainment is worth it! It's maybe a little corny, but if you can take a cheesy "congo-line" of tourists and some bad jokes it's still pretty fun! The buffet is good, "real" food, and the male fire dancers are worth the $89 FJ, ladies! The snorkelling is average, but hey: It's free!

We rented a scooter and drove to Natadola Beach (about 45 minutes)...that was a great way to travel (a ex-patriate Canadian rents them from a hut down the beach by the the cafes and beach bar)...Natadola Beach was what I pictured Fijian beaches to look like (the Hotel's wasn't!) and we had it pretty much to ourselves: just politely tell the one or two kids selling things that you're not interested and they'll leave you alone (though I did get a very pretty coconut shell bracelet for $5 FJ - yeah, I know, I'm a sucker!)...

Sigatoka is busy and a little overwhealming at first, but close by, and you can buy much cheaper booze there to put in your room fridge!

By the way, we stayed in a "Deluxe Oceanview" room and we thought it was great. A little damp, but hey- you're in the tropics! Nicely decorated, and we LOVED our Tue'lai butler service!!! We thought the canepes (hours d'ourves to fellow Canadians) were small but lovely and the champange was a fabulous touch! Also you get free Fiji water (yes, the kind celebrities drink!) every night, so don't ever buy it at the resort: You can get it for like a buck or two in Sigatoka or slightly more at the neighboring market...

So overall, a beatiful, if expensive resort that can still be enjoyed on a budget...but beware the rainy season! Fijians are friendly people who WILL bring your drink, and it will be worth waiting for! If you're able to chill out and go with the flow, you'll have agreat vacation!

  • Liked — friendly staff/beautiful grounds/5-star service
  • Disliked — isolated location/weather in rainy season/expensive
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank raegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    717
    263
    77
    42
See reviews for
1,464
835
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

What a magnificent place to stay, to relax and unwind among
friendly Fijiian faces! The hotel room had wonderful balcony views of the ocean. We enjoyed the Talai butler service to our room each evening with canapes and champagne.
Most days we spent sipping cocktails by the pool or eating gourmet pizza at the sundowner bar.
The Fijiian staff are extremely courteous and friendly, ready to assist you. I loved the ceremonies, lighting of the torches around the pool each evening...firewalking ceremonies and fabulous cultural dancing in the restaurant. We actually drifted into a world of our own, completely forgetting about the stresses of work and other day to day business. The resort is a great place to visit with or without children. we cant wait to return !

  • Liked — Room Service, Butler Service, getting to know locals
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kmblea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights at Outrigger in the first week of December.

As you would expect of Fiji, all the staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. The hotel is about an hour drive from the airport and the connection we got stopped at 2 or 3 other resorts on the way. The roads are quite bumpy, but fairly empty and we felt very safe.

On arrival at the hotel at around sunset we were greeted by their truely beautful lobby, a group of young men yelling 'Bula!' and a fresh fruit juice. Wonderful!

Our room was very clean, large bathroom, king sized bed, the usual tea and coffee facilities. The porter who showed us to our room pointed out everything we needed to know - including slippers and where to find ice for our ice bucket - very important - alcohol is very expensive at the resort and even other bars in Fiji, so buy some at the airport duty free if you want to be having a few drinks.

The resort itself is very easy to navigate - the paths are all covered with thatched roofs so there is no need to worryabout the tropical afternoon showers. The pool was lovely, although we saw a swim-up bar advertised and were disappointed to find it didn't exist.

Food at the resort in general is quite nice - overpriced for what I am used to, but not too bad for 'resort prices' . Most meals were in the Fiji$25- $30 range, where in Australia you might expect to pay Aus$15-$20 for the same thing.

The five star 'children free' restuarant is a MUST. It was only marginally more expensive than the other places to eat, but the level of service, quaility of food and value for money was far better!

We ate most of our meals at Le Cafe, about 20 metres down the beach. Very cheap, not huge portion, but good value. And the happy hour runs for 3 hours, with Fiji $2.50 local beer and spirits, which we definately took advantage of compared to the Fiji $9.50 basic spirits at the resort.

All in all the only complaint we had was the a cyclone trapped us in the country for an extra 2 days, but the weather on our side of the island was still perfect, so we weren't too concerned at all!

  • Liked — the bed was really good, as was the pool.
  • Disliked — Can only (really) use the beach for about 2hours per day because the tide goes out pretty far.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank c1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Having been home for one week now, I would give anything to be back in Fji laying around the pool in the sun. Our two children aged 12 and 7 had a great time. The friendly " activites crew" always had plenty of activies planned for the whole family which you could join in or lie back on the deck chair and concentrate on the tan .
The garden burea we stayed in was excellent and kept to a high standard the whole time.
Unfortunately we did get 3 days of rain but this didn't stop us from enjoying the resort and its facilities.
With 3 resturants at the resort, we were spoit for choice, the pizza place had the best pizzas I have ever tasted and the best meal of the day was breakfast - having plenty to choose from every morning. Next time we go I would condsider getting the "food package deal" as we did think the food in one of the resturants for dinner was a little expensive.

  • Liked — Luxury Rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SpikeNewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

My husband and I are from the states and one my dreams has always been to visit Fiji. We are living in Australia and decided to come as a Christmas present to one another. Our expectations were moderate so what a wonderful surprise upon our arrival. Our flight was delayed and we did not arrive until 4am. We were still met with cool cloths and fresh juice and warm greetings and smiles. Our stay was the things dreams are made of. The resort is beautiful and peaceful but it was the staff that made the difference. Everyone we met on the staff was warm, helpful and friendly. I looked forward to going to the restaurants to just chat with our servers. I would recommend the Outrigger to anyone who wants to be treated like royalty. I sure hope we can return someday.

Linda and Jim Cooper
Alice Springs, Australia

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank coopfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

We spent 5 days at the Outrigger Lagoon Fiji in December 2007. We travel extensively and also work in the Tourism Industry in Australia, so have very high expectations for our Holiday experiences.

I don’t often write reviews, but I feel compelled to write this one… Our Fijian holiday was very special and more than exceeded our expectations.

The staff of the Outrigger made the difference… The Bula Spirit was demonstrated to us by every staff member of the Resort from the Gardeners, Waiters/Waitress’s, Housemaids, Receptions, Concierges. Their smiles were always genuine and their Bula’s were always warm and friendly.

The resort is five star, the rooms excellent, food exceptional and entertainment fun and enjoyable. Most important of all, the service was constantly excellent and always with a beautiful smile.

The Bebe Spar was so luxurious, my spa was the best I have experienced anywhere, and one of the highlights of our stay. I purchased as much pampering Pure Fiji products that could fit in my luggage. Now I am home I wish I had brought more..

Sunset was always a special time, and no better place to enjoy than at the Sunset Bar with a Cocktail (yes we do recommend the cocktails !!!)

We especially enjoy all the Fijian Music and entertainment, I think the beautiful Fijian people were born to sing…

Getting away from a very busy lifestyle here, made the Fijian time concept just perfect… no clocks in the room or anywhere visible was just what we needed, and we quickly adapted to FIJIAN TIME, we made our days there long, slow and lazy…

When the staff stood around us on our last night and sang to us the Fijian Farewell Song, I cried and felt very sad about our departure…

We are going back again and this time with all our family… we highly recommend this Resort and Fiji…

One can well understand why the Outrigger Lagoon won the 2003 Fijian Excellence Award.

  • Liked — The Staff and the Bula Experience
  • Disliked — can not think of anything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Nanabeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Outrigger for 10 nights in a garden burea - it was truly amazing. Every afternoon we received champagne and canapés which we would sip on the balcony or in our hammock, then after dinner, after dinner drinks and mini deserts were left in our rooms, lovely to come home to!

We didn’t leave the resort we lapped up the pool side service and four yummy restaurants in the hotel. The day spa was spectacular as well; we had a massage up there followed by lunch with views out to the ocean. Everyone was very friendly and the facilities are great, with a golf range, and gym we could stay fit and healthy and not feel guilty about a little indulgence. Our last night was spent at the Ivi, a great restaurant with outstanding food and complimentary surprises through the meal – like sorbet ice cream!

We didn’t do the meal packages and with the exchange rate we were pleasantly surprised at how affordable it was, considering cocktails by the pool were a regular occurrence. Thanks Outrigger for a fantastic holiday!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank melbournefiji2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
30.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
30.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing