We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible & expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gecko's Restaurant

Gecko's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, Chinese, European, Asian, Polynesian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gecko's Restaurant is located at Gecko's Resort opposite the Shangri La's Fijian Resort and Spa. Breakfast 8am - 10am. Lunch 12pm - 3pmDinner 6pm - 9pm
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Terrible & expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Worst value for $. Seafood was frozen fresh at best with the most terrible cooking technique. Lobster small, not fresh, and tastes flat and whole snapper dry and chewy like rubber with sweet chilli sauce poured over it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mack X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    94
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Lovely Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant from Facebook and yes it was worth the effort. Our resort fortunately was just down the road so we could walk there.Compared to our resort prices were at least 20 percent cheaper and drinks were almost 25 percent cheaper. We were lucky as we didn't realise on Sunday nights there was a local village show on as well. This included local dancing and fire twirling, they are also children friendly with kids encouraged to join in the dancing later on. The food was on a par with anything else I have eaten here in Fiji. Staff were very friendly and happy to help you out in any way.

Just remember you need to book in advance as it is not that large.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KLG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food, friendly anytime but fab entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

During a week staying nearby we chose to eat 3 times here before left. Friendly, welcoming from 1st visit and a good range of foods to suit all tastes and budgets. We were 3 adults but families welcomed, saw a waitress pushing a baby around to sleep so parents could eat their meal. Usual friendly Fiji treatment, however compared to other places at a very reasonable price. If you want the fresh snapper say quick as it was very popular and can vouch for it being yummy! On Fri's & Sun's they include free dancing show which local hotels charge big for - just remember to put your donation in their box pls. Also spoke to someone who was staying at accom and they were enjoying their stay as well. Def recommend you eat here

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place we went to on our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

9 of us went on a Fiji adventure.. We stayed at the Radisson Blu in Denarau , did an island tour and then drove around the entire mainland. We stayed at Volivoli beach resort (Raki Raki) which was great and the Pearl (pacific harbour) which was OK. Note: Go to Bakka Blues Café.. Awesome!

Our final stop was 5 nights at Gecko's Resort just south of Sigatoka. What a fantastic resort! Great management and great staff made this an excellent place to stay. Forget the big expensive resorts, stay at Gecko's. You will not regret it. Go to the big resorts on cheap taxi day trips..

The food was brilliant as well!! Darren the manager organized us a charter fishing trip which was very affordable and we had a blast! We will all be returning and repeating everything we did there..
Thanks Darren and Helen for your excellent company and great hospitality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate there last night and my partner has been ill all day, he
mentioned his fish and chips tasted of old oil. My pasta was worse than a packet mix. No atmosphere. Forgetful staff.Screwed up order...never again,even if it was free!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko's Restaurant also viewed

Coral Coast, Viti Levu
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 

Been to Gecko's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing