We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant!”
Review of Beach Cocomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Cocomo
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had heard great things about the restaurant so made the trip from my resort to Cocomo just to eat the food. Marie does a wonderful job of cooking authentic Fijian cuisine with an Asian twist in the tiny and adorable kitchen. I loved talking with her and hearing about her experiences in Fiji. Going here is a much more authentic experience than what you will get at a resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Merri87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and loved every minute. The hospitality was warm and friendly, the food was superb, such a relaxing time with wonderful hosts.

Beach was empty it felt like our own little paradise (apart from Wishbone the dog of course!)

We will be back!!.

Andrew and Paula

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hipnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Beach Cocomo for seven days in July 2013. It is a small comfortable and very relaxing place. The owners Isao and Marie are nice and friendly. They did everything they could to make us feel welcome and make our stay even more enjoyable. I would certainly recommend Beach Cocomo for a nice and relaxing stay in Viti Levu. People looking for accommodation in Fiji are probably interested in location, beach, activities, facilities and food. Here is a few comments on each topic.

Location. Beach Cocomo is about 15-20 min drive from Sigatoka in the direction of Suva and a few minutes drive from the large Outrigger resort. There are a couple of resorts within a walking distance, but none too close, leaving the whole beach to you and the guests at the other bure. It is on the main road, buses dropped us off right at the doorstep. you will hear some of the road noise, but it did not bother us, as it was blended with the sound of the ocean.
The beach is nice and clean, with plenty of magnificent shells. It is south facing, which means that you can always find a shady spot if you want one. It is washed regularly by high tides and feels pristine in the mornings. There is good snorkeling, probably as good as it gets by Viti Levu standards, but don't expect endless coral gardens. I don't think you'll find them anywhere in Viti Levu. Having said that, we found plenty to look at while snorkeling right in front of our bure. Beautiful patches of coral, lots of small and medium fish. We saw many moray eels , octopus, puffer fish, stingrays, all sorts of crabs and mollusks in huge shells, big clams, anemones, and lots more. There was enough for us to explore for seven days and we could use more :-). There was some really beautiful soft and hard coral too. If you are not much into snorkeling, about 20 meters to the left of the restaurant is a nice sandy patch to swim and relax. Even more traditional sandy beach is a couple of hundred meters to the East (black sand).
We found plenty to do there: mainly exploring the beach, walking to the reef at low tide, relaxing on the porch with a book and playing with Wishbone (a very friendly and incredibly smart dog who seemed to adopt us and look after us). At low tide, you can take very long walks either way on the beach, at high tide you may get wet or need to climb up to the road. We are not surfers, but if you are, Isao is a great resource as a trainer and guide. You can take a trip to a waterfall and some other tours, but we were very content without them.
The facilities are basic, but comfortable. Both bures are built on a sandstone outcrop and surrounded by very well maintained garden, creating nice ocean views through the greenery. Bed linen and towels are sparkling fresh, the room is meticulously cleaned every day. Water is sourced from a mountain spring, and as such the pressure is just adequate. There is a small fridge. Blissfully, no TV, no swimming pool. I really agree with Brendan's review in that regard.
Last, but most certainly not least, the food. It is truly well prepared, creative, healthful and very fresh fusion of Fijian, Japanese, Korean and other asian dishes, cooked especially for you with a true desire to please. We did have one a meal at the sunset strip, but did not repeat this mistake afterwards. Marie's food was so much better and certainly a great value.
We loved the place and would definitely recommend it to people who look for a simple quiet and relaxing experience.
Thank you very much, Marie, Isao, Ako, Semi, Mary and of course Wishbone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angostura22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you genuinely prefer about 600 white people and 4 bars and 5 pools and buffet food for $FJD50 a head and a room for not less that $FJD450 a night in the high season - then please, go down the road to the Outrigger, or further down the road to the Intercontinental (which is newer and on a better beach).

However.

If you like to experience life more as the locals do. Simpler. Surrounded by natural beauty. Staying in one of only two guest-houses on the property. Eating delicious Fijian/Asian fusion food in a burre on a knoll overlooking a lagoon, playing and exploring the knooks and pools of the beach right in front, and snorkelling in that surprisingly vibrant and rich lagoon, marvelling at the coral and the tropical fish - then you have found your place.

It does not have a pool. It does not have a hot tub. It does not have beach service for your fancy cocktail (make your own! From your own supplies!).

We stayed in the "deluxe" house, which has plenty of room, a deck that looks through trees to the coral reef, a fridge, a comfortable bed, and a shower that is low pressure but suitable. It was clean, and always well cleaned. The staff are native Fijian, who live on the property. It is owned and run by a Japanese surfer dude and his Korean wife. They are all good people. Everyone was great to my 20month old son - and I mean genuinely great.

It was a totally brilliant experience for my son, who was able to commune with nature, be loved, and eat well.

I expect Beach Cocomo is self-selecting. This place is either right for you, or it isn't. And if it is, then, like us, you will be very happy indeed.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room - be aware though, that both guest houses are relatively close to a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Natalie and I had an absolutely stellar time at Beach Cocomo. This little gem of a getaway is nice and open on all sides, the beach is coral and there is a reef right out front. We really relaxed and we loved the company of all who were there.

The food was fantastic. My wife is a vegetarian and I a meat eater. Each night Marie and Ako prepared a amazing spread. Such great food and totally different each day.

Thank you all so much for such a wonderful time at Beach Cocomo.

xo
David and Natalie

ps - give Wishbone a squeeze for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthurlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Friendly and couldn't do enough for us - we really enjoyed our stay - quiet and away from the tourist trap - spend time talking to the owners - great people - the accommodation was clean and spacious - not a sterile campus style resort - easily busable to other places - would strongly recommend - thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Coming from a country that is still not familiar with Fiji, we came here with some apprehension especially when we have two young girls that travelled with us. However, all the fears were unfounded as Beach Cocomo really make us feel like home. If your idea of holiday is pristine beach, healthy and delicious food with reasonable rate and host that really put their heart into their service, you will find the right place here. I have two fussy eaters in my two girls and it is amazing how Marie and Ako will try all ways and means to make every meal a special one for us, not fanciful but always something that will give you the feeling of home cooked food. We stayed for 4 nights and except for one lunch we had all the meals in house. This place has met my simple need of a relaxing and minimum agenda holidays where spending an entire day on the beach with no crowd is the main itinerary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
2.1 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
417 reviews
13.1 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
#10 of 10 in Sigatoka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
10.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,746 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cocomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cocomo

Address: Lot 1 Navoto Sovi Bay | Coral Coast, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $70 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEACH COCOMO offers two en-suite cottages nestled amongst tropical gardens, facing the beach. Our location, perched on a slight elevation overlooking the Pacific, ensures amazing views and lovely sea breezes. The cottages are serviced daily. We are located on the beautiful Coral Coast, about 90 minutes from Nadi and 15 minute drive from the colourful and vibrant market town Sigatoka. Visit us to relax, beach walk, swim, snorkel or surf.....And ENJOY THE COCOMO EXPERIENCE AND TRUE FIJIAN HOSPITALITY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Cocomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Cocomo Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing