We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly staff”
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2011

After reading the reviews on this site, I decided to take the bad with the good and book my accomodation at Geckos. I was unsure of what to expect but right from the minute we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome. Everyone made the effort to get to know us by name and were always happy to help with anything from personal laundry to booking tours for us.

The rooms were lovely and looked just like the pictures on their website. The grounds were also beautiful and encompass the Kalevu cultural centre of which you can take guided tours or just wander around by yourself and take in the culture of Fiji.

On Friday and Sunday nights, they put on a Polynesian dance show which is free to attend, unlike the big resorts which will set you back as much as $100. We went to the show at the Fijian Shangri-La one night but found the Geckos show to be much more personal and fun.

Its not just the staff and the resort itself either, the other guests staying there were friendly and really contributed to our having a great holiday there. This is because it is a fairly small place, only around 30 or so rooms. We couldnt understand why anyone would pay all that money to stay at the 5 star resorts when you can stay at a lovely little place like Geckos for half the price and then go to the resorts during the day to use their facilities for free anyway!!

Yes, you can go to any resort for free and get a visitor pass and just use all their facilites! Also, you can book beauty treatments, hair braiding and massages in town and they will come to your hotel and its cheaper the what the resorts will charge for the same service.

But then at the end of the day, we went back to our friendly and comfortable hideaway with its fabulous food and delicious cocktails at reasonable prices and either socialised with other guests or watched one of the free hire dvds on offer. Seriously, it's a wonderful place!

Other review were complaining that the only way into town was by taxi. This is not true. The main way people get around in Fiji is by hitchhiking. Expect to pay a dollar or two and any passing car will happily drive you into town. There is also the local bus which costs about $1.50. Just ask the staff for times. If this isn't your style, just wander over the the Shangri-La and catch their shuttle bus! Taxi to the nearest town will set you back $10 Fijian which is only about $5 anyway.

Simply put, if all you want to do is lay around a pool and do resort type things then this is not the place for you but if you want a decent place to sleep, great food, friendly staff and a place to call base camp while you head out and experience Fiji during the days, Geckos has all you need. Both thumbs up from us!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meighan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

Average Facility and Comfort, But good food

Gecko’s Resort is a 4-star self-rated resort. The nearest town is Sigatoka which is 15 mins away by a taxi. The cost for each is about FJ$12.00.

My experience at Gecko’s Resort is disappointing. I for one would not call Gecko’s Resort ‘a resort’ at all. Gecko does not have a beach. The nearest beach you can go to is at Shangri-La's Resort located about 15-minute walk or 10-minute bike ride from Gecko. So if you want to do a bit of snorkelling, sea kayaking diving etc., you will have to do the walk to Shangri-La where you will have to get a guest pass to use their facilities at costs. Tip: Bring your own snorkel gear as at Shangri-la’s, it is FJ$70 a set

The pool at Gecko is half of the size of the picture posted on the website. The room is comfortable. There are an air-conditioner for those hot days, a working fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. There is also a 32” TV/ DVD combo. However, the TV in my room didn’t work. It only had one channel that was absolutely unwatchable. There is no fly screen in the room. So, if you are allergic to mosquitos’ bites, hate spiders flies and other creepy crawlers, this is NOT the place to be. I applied Aerogard religiously every day and I still got bitten by mosquitos on my face, shoulders, arms and legs. Usually at night it was the worst. The shower does not have consistent water pressure and the hot water system does not work properly. One minute it’s scorching hot, the next minute it’s cold, so washing my hair is a nightmare. Finally the toilet doesn’t flush properly…

The food at Gecko’s is delicious however since 1 Jan 2011 the price has gone up. For example, a main dish, say a chicken stir-fry with rice, was FJ$25.00 and now it is FJ$30.00. Lobster Thermidor was FJ$42.00 and now it is FJ$52.00. Steak was FJ$39.00 and now it is FJ$49.00. The bicycles are still free for guests to use though. The Internet facility is FJ$8.00 per hr and there is only one computer available in the common room near the restaurant. The nearest ATM (Westpac Bank) is located in the Shangri-La.

Overall I don’t think Gecko can call itself a resort and it is definitely not worth AU$99 per night that I paid for. I won’t recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxLove_to_Travelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided very last minute to spend a few days in Fiji. This was our 4th visit and on all previous holidays we stayed in big well known resorts. Geckos was great and we had a lot of fun.Even though it may not have offered all that the big resorts do we all agreed we enjoyed it more.
The rooms were spacious & clean -The complimentary breakfast was brilliant & the dinners tasty & filling and value for money! The Managers & their staff were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend for sure!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I'm surprised by the reviews given, it seems that someone has taken his own taste and those that don't agree as personnel since others, ourselves included thought that trip advisor was over rated based on what we experienced. I think Sisko has been generous given we think we know who the sour puss is and agree that many issues left a bit to desired and found that the man in charge was less than approachable with complaints based on the number of complaints from other guests. Perhaps some people should have left the less than negative review alone as 1 bad out of 6 seemed miniscule, rather than make it personal and insulting. We wouldn't normally bother with reviews but since we based our trip on trip advisor feel let down.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussier_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

As a regular visitor to fiji with my family, we stayed at Gecko's for the second time in 2010. This resort is by far the best place we have stayed in all the years we have been coming to fiji. The food, the staff, the rooms and the management are all first class. It is by far the best value for money resort in fiji. As previous reports suggest the shangri-la is way over priced for the average family. But the smart traveller would stay at Gecko's and occasionally use the shangri-la's facilities.As for the comments of never again we were their the same time and it was obvious to us and other guests that you two sour pusses would not be happy if you won lotto.management bent over backwards to attend to your constant whinging .To Tom and Carolyn thank you and your great staff for making our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRGARY3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Rooms were dirty the cleaning staff only changed the towels and made the beds.
The bath room was not clean, tiles were never cleaned.
Bed was only a double bed.
The curtains did not block out any light so you are awake at 6:am when the sun hits the room.
Keep an eye out for the chairs in the rooms, as the screws are loose and the chair could collapse if you sit on it.
Food for b/f was ok, lunch was the best meal at the resort. Dinner was a hit and miss affair.
The pool area needs more unbrellas around the pool 2 unbrellas is not enough for this place. Need more deck chairs to sit by the pool.
The waiters could not fault them at all. They did the best job they could do.
But I would get rid of the cleaning staff I dont think they have any idea what they are doing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siskokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 3, 2011

Good to get a review whether good or bad, We take both on board, we have had over 500 guests in the last few months with excellent comments.It's a shame you hadn't bought this direct to the managers attention which would have been rectified.
Thank you for kind comments towards our staff, breakfast & lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed at Gecko's earlier this year and had good experience. The property is simple but clean and tidy and has a great cultural display about the history of Fiji. The grounds were well maintained and the staff were friendly. It's also opposite the Shangri-La so in a good location. I would recommend to fellow travellers looking for basic accommodation at a good price. Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FijiTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,124 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
417 reviews
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
#10 of 10 in Sigatoka
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,749 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Crow's Nest
The Crow's Nest
#1 of 1 in Korotogo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $55 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing