We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, quiet resort”
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Gecko's resort has some of the most welcoming employees that made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. From helping us find a taxi to booking day trips, they were exemplary. Compared to busier resorts (with more guests), we never felt overcrowded or ignored. Prices were cheaper here than many competing resorts in the area, and the quality of the food was excellent. Also, the fire show on fridays and sundays is a must see; a lot of other guests from other resorts come here just for the show on those days. Only complaint was the wifi access is limited to one room and with spotty service (especially with more than 3 people with iphones/ipads in the room). However, it was nice to decompress and to live off the grid for the week. Thanks so much for a great stay!

Room Tip: -go to the spa at the end of the road rather than the spa at the resort -don't eat at shangri-l...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cvddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Gecko's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our family (my wife and I and our 3 kids) spent 4 awesome nights at Geckos. We arrived early morning (around 10am) but the friendly staff let us book in early. We were amazed at the set up but what was most appealing was the friendliness of the staff. We are locals living overseas but to feel the friendliness and the smile once again makes the stay worthwhile, because of this I would regard this as money well spent. My kids enjoyed their stay so much. They felt that the fish and chips at Gecko is the best in the world!!!. Go Gecko!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fine N Seru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. The staff here are wonderful and they loved our children and the feeling was mutual. The rooms were better than many of the five star resorts we have stayed in and the facilities were generally excellent. The food was consistently good and probably the best food we have had in Fiji and we have been several times! It was also excellent value for money; and therefore it was no surprise that the restaurant was packed most nights, often with refugees from other resorts in the area who had heard how good it was.

The twice a week traditional dance and fire show were superb and we couldn't believe they were free. We visited Shangri La on many occasions for a change of scene and to go on dive trips, which is also a great resort but in terms of value for money Geckos is second to none.

In conclusion, the is an excellent family friendly resort. The gardens are beautiful and the pool big enough for a decent swim but not huge- but Shangri La is within walking distance and you can use their pool and facilities free of charge . Our family group ranged in age from 2 years old to 82 and we were all catered for. The accommodation was great and the adjoining studio rooms, ideal for us - an excellent option if you're considering a holiday in Fiji! The other bonus was the cheap laundry service, which made my life with the three children much easier.

We rented a car though AVIS Fiji and Sigatoka town was only a short drive away for supplies and we also brought fresh fruit from the local villages. The rooms have fridges, which are great for storing snacks. We did bring our own blocks of cheese with us as this is a luxury in Fiji and some of the kids favorite foods but the children's menu at the resort was very good. The managers were excellent and we hope to return next year - a brilliant trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in Geckos last year while my husband was on business, my 1yo daughter and I had a wee holiday. The room was average but clean with a queen size bed and a single bed. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant most nights. Food is really yummy and quite a bargain when you compare to other Fiji resorts. Shangri la is right opposite - food quite expensive in there. We made good use of the pool and the kids playground. Taxis were readily available and well priced. They can take you to Sigatoka for shopping which is pretty good. The spa was just new at the time I think so it was very basic but I know they were looking to get Pure Fiji products in at the time. I hope they did, that product is so good. Unfortunately there is no WIFI in the room - you had to move to the bar area which is not air conditioned. We also had to share an iron between rooms which was difficult as I was ironing every morning for my husbands meetings and I would have to chase up the iron or rush as someone else was waiting. Frogs are also everywhere! My daughter loved them!

Room Tip: We had a room closer to the pool and dining area which was great for us!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinomana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent value for the money, nice place to stay. My wife and I stayed at Gecko's for 12 days and it was more than we hoped. Nice and clean rooms ( excellent housekeeping ), very good outdoors ( the resort is very well maintained ). the staff was amazing. Always helpful with everything . the food was fantastic and reasonable priced. if you want some more just cross the road for a little walk to the shangri - la. but it is nothing compare to the personal touch at the gecko's. we looking forward to come back. thanks to the team at the gecko's for our best vacation ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Brilliant little place. My girlfriend and I stayed at geckos for a week and it was more than we had hoped. Absolute bargain, lovely clean rooms, brilliant pool with a nice bar and absolutely lovely staff. And if that's not enough the shangri la is over the road for a change of scenery!
It's not 5* but for the money its so much more than we expected!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Fabulous place to stay, especially with a young child as it is very family friendly! The resort is only small but has everything you need and we liked that it wasn't huge and full of people. The staff were absolutely AMAZING we cannot praise them enough and they were so brilliant with our son, he fell in love with them all.

Nothing was a problem for the staff and it was very easy to arrange tours and transport through them and the companies they used/suggested were all reputable.

The food was fantastic and everything was reasonably priced and if you want something fancier you can cross the road to the Shangri-La.

We spent one night at the Intercontinental to attend a wedding and although the hotel was spectacular we preferred Geckos for the personal touch it provides.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozzieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,080 reviews
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
13.5 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#7 of 9 in Sigatoka
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $62 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing