We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, relaxing.. Perfect!”
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, relaxing.. Perfect!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Anyone wanting an AFFORDABLE relaxing holiday then Gecko's is it! Unbelieveably friendly and patient staff (especially when dealing with whinging jerks like the ones that have posted negative comments and that tried to ruin everyone's holiday with their negativity towards everything) Anyway! Awesome and very affordable food (remember the prices ol whinger posted are Fijian so break it down, or compared to other resorts probably half the price.. The History of Fiji tour around the grounds was invaluable and very insightful into helping us understand todays situation in Fiji. Carver ceremony ..very cool! Such a relaxing chill out place to be great hosts great staff and spotless rooms with good sturdy furniture.. (The bigger you are the more fragile the chair!!).. HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    97
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
120
108
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We recently went and stayed at Gecko's for 7 nights whilst we were on the Coral Coast. Gecko's was amazing! The rooms were lovely and clean and the beds were so comfortable. Our rooms were cleaned/made up every morning whilst we were at breakfast and fresh towels were always provided. Air con and all the mod con's were available including DVD player and hair dryer etc. The tv only had one channel and didn't get great reception but we just took a stash of dvd's with us and the resort also had a big collection.

I can't praise the staff enough. They were fantastic! Very professional and helpful and were always available to help us with taxi's, directions, tours, hire cars, local information etc

We travelled with our 2 young children. 3 year old DS and 18mth old DD and they loved feeding the fish in the ponds everyday after breakfast and swimming in the pool. There was also a great play ground for them to use too and lots and lots of grass for them to run around on. Although their favourite activity was chassing the frogs at night time :-)

Gecko's now has a beauty room too so I really enjoyed my massage and pedicure during my stay. They were also in the process of setting up a gift boutique whilst we were there aswell.

The food at Gecko's was great for both adults and children. They had a fantastic kids menu and lots of yummy drinks.

Opposite Gecko's is the Shangri-la resort. Another advantage at staying at Gecko's is you get great friendly more personal accomodation/service but with the added plus of been able to grab a visitors pass for shangri-la (for free) and can walk across the road to use their resturants and pool/beach. It's a nice walk over the bridge and through the gardens of the resort up to the main entry (prob 800m in total) but an easy walk to do.

Overall we will def be coming back to Gecko's it's in a great location to explore the Coral Coast and next time we will get a hire car for our entire stay as it was so easy to drive up and down the Queens highway.

Thanks to Tom and Caroline. We Loved our time with you and the kids are still talking about feeding those fish Tom!!!!

Kate & Paul :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrypie1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We have just had a too short a stay at Gecko's ! We came to Fiji for a family wedding. The lead up to the wedding was relaxed. The wedding reception was amazing. The food and cocktails delicious. The hosts and staff were welcoming, friendly, professional and fantastic ! Twice a week there is Fijian cultural entertainment (All part of the Gecko's stay).
If you are looking for a busy, hectic and need to cram a lot into a short time then maybe Geckos is not for you. If you are looking for time out with quality dining, entertainment, sheer pleasure, then Geckos is the place to be !
We intend to return to Gecko's !
Many thanks ! Maree & Morris

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frasermob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at Gecko's for 7 days and found the hotel to be overall good. It did have its up and downs.
The "resort" is located no where near a beach and the pool is much smaller than the ones you see in promotional pictures.
The staff are friendly, the restaurant has an average meal of $30 and if you want Chicken or meat you are looking at $35+.
We booked this as our place of stay on the Coral Coast, however, it is located 15 minutes from the town and you could say it is basically in the middle of no where.
We only paid $45 a night as part of a Flight Centre deal so it was definitely worth the money. We were not looking for somewhere fancy, just somewhere to sleep and eat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

After reading the reviews on this site, I decided to take the bad with the good and book my accomodation at Geckos. I was unsure of what to expect but right from the minute we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome. Everyone made the effort to get to know us by name and were always happy to help with anything from personal laundry to booking tours for us.

The rooms were lovely and looked just like the pictures on their website. The grounds were also beautiful and encompass the Kalevu cultural centre of which you can take guided tours or just wander around by yourself and take in the culture of Fiji.

On Friday and Sunday nights, they put on a Polynesian dance show which is free to attend, unlike the big resorts which will set you back as much as $100. We went to the show at the Fijian Shangri-La one night but found the Geckos show to be much more personal and fun.

Its not just the staff and the resort itself either, the other guests staying there were friendly and really contributed to our having a great holiday there. This is because it is a fairly small place, only around 30 or so rooms. We couldnt understand why anyone would pay all that money to stay at the 5 star resorts when you can stay at a lovely little place like Geckos for half the price and then go to the resorts during the day to use their facilities for free anyway!!

Yes, you can go to any resort for free and get a visitor pass and just use all their facilites! Also, you can book beauty treatments, hair braiding and massages in town and they will come to your hotel and its cheaper the what the resorts will charge for the same service.

But then at the end of the day, we went back to our friendly and comfortable hideaway with its fabulous food and delicious cocktails at reasonable prices and either socialised with other guests or watched one of the free hire dvds on offer. Seriously, it's a wonderful place!

Other review were complaining that the only way into town was by taxi. This is not true. The main way people get around in Fiji is by hitchhiking. Expect to pay a dollar or two and any passing car will happily drive you into town. There is also the local bus which costs about $1.50. Just ask the staff for times. If this isn't your style, just wander over the the Shangri-La and catch their shuttle bus! Taxi to the nearest town will set you back $10 Fijian which is only about $5 anyway.

Simply put, if all you want to do is lay around a pool and do resort type things then this is not the place for you but if you want a decent place to sleep, great food, friendly staff and a place to call base camp while you head out and experience Fiji during the days, Geckos has all you need. Both thumbs up from us!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meighan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Average Facility and Comfort, But good food

Gecko’s Resort is a 4-star self-rated resort. The nearest town is Sigatoka which is 15 mins away by a taxi. The cost for each is about FJ$12.00.

My experience at Gecko’s Resort is disappointing. I for one would not call Gecko’s Resort ‘a resort’ at all. Gecko does not have a beach. The nearest beach you can go to is at Shangri-La's Resort located about 15-minute walk or 10-minute bike ride from Gecko. So if you want to do a bit of snorkelling, sea kayaking diving etc., you will have to do the walk to Shangri-La where you will have to get a guest pass to use their facilities at costs. Tip: Bring your own snorkel gear as at Shangri-la’s, it is FJ$70 a set

The pool at Gecko is half of the size of the picture posted on the website. The room is comfortable. There are an air-conditioner for those hot days, a working fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. There is also a 32” TV/ DVD combo. However, the TV in my room didn’t work. It only had one channel that was absolutely unwatchable. There is no fly screen in the room. So, if you are allergic to mosquitos’ bites, hate spiders flies and other creepy crawlers, this is NOT the place to be. I applied Aerogard religiously every day and I still got bitten by mosquitos on my face, shoulders, arms and legs. Usually at night it was the worst. The shower does not have consistent water pressure and the hot water system does not work properly. One minute it’s scorching hot, the next minute it’s cold, so washing my hair is a nightmare. Finally the toilet doesn’t flush properly…

The food at Gecko’s is delicious however since 1 Jan 2011 the price has gone up. For example, a main dish, say a chicken stir-fry with rice, was FJ$25.00 and now it is FJ$30.00. Lobster Thermidor was FJ$42.00 and now it is FJ$52.00. Steak was FJ$39.00 and now it is FJ$49.00. The bicycles are still free for guests to use though. The Internet facility is FJ$8.00 per hr and there is only one computer available in the common room near the restaurant. The nearest ATM (Westpac Bank) is located in the Shangri-La.

Overall I don’t think Gecko can call itself a resort and it is definitely not worth AU$99 per night that I paid for. I won’t recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxLove_to_Travelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We decided very last minute to spend a few days in Fiji. This was our 4th visit and on all previous holidays we stayed in big well known resorts. Geckos was great and we had a lot of fun.Even though it may not have offered all that the big resorts do we all agreed we enjoyed it more.
The rooms were spacious & clean -The complimentary breakfast was brilliant & the dinners tasty & filling and value for money! The Managers & their staff were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
355 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
24.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
492 reviews
8.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Property: Gecko's Resort
Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing