We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice day out!”

Sigatoka River Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.21*
and up
Jet Boat Safari on the Sigatoka River
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fiji's original and the World's First jetboat & village safari,is a half-day, uniquely Fijian adventure into the "Heart and Soul of Fiji", aboard our purpose-built Safari jet boats. Our guests will travel along the majestic Sigatoka River to visit an authentic Fijian village and experience a day in the life of the real ‘kaiviti’ (Fijian). To bring the Safari adventure to life, your driver/guide is assigned to each group and introduces passengers to the rich culture of the Fijian people and shares the history, customs and legends of the area. Sigatoka River Safari began operations in 2006 and quickly established itself as a premier attraction by winning the Best Fiji Experience in 2008 and Best Adventure Tour in 2007 at the annual AON Fiji Excellence in Tourism Awards. To date, Sigatoka River Safari has also won 6 consecutive Trip Advisor Excellence Awards putting itself into the Hall of Fame as the Number 1 Outdoor Activity in Fiji
Whyalla
1 review
“Very nice day out!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Jet boat tour is a definite to do when in Fiji. The ride up the Sigatoka river was fun. We were welcomed, by the village people, with a traditional Kava ceremony followed by lunch and dancing.
We got shown through the village before leaving on the jet boats again and returned to do some 360's

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeepBlueAquariums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    106
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Insightful, exciting and fun!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The jetboat tour was advertised mainly as a jetboat experience but it was so much more with the inclusion of a wonderful, educational and interesting look into village life in fiji. We danced with the locals ans got a taste for their delicious food.
We loved the jetboat tour so much we decided to take the off road cave safari two days later and it was absolutely brilliant! The offroad bumpy and fabulous drive was picturesque, , informative and exciting. Driving through the village and high fiving the gorgeous little local kids is something we'll never forget. The cave tour was eery but so interesting and Maria, our host was full of amazing knowledge.
Would definitely recommend both tours to everyone! Maybe not the cave tour for older people with problems getting down low though.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsNatH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very humid and long day; would have liked more varied approach to history lesson not just one topic”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Its probably easier to break it into sections: We were family of 4 with a 5 and 7yo

Bus trip out to the river 9/10
Host was funny and entertaining and informative

Jet Boat Ride 8/10

Hint: If its raining put your rain coat on before your lifejacket so it doesnt hit people in the face seated behind you and it will keep drier,

Its very fierce on your face in the rain, cover the kids well, the back of the boat gets wettest

Kids of all ages went including 9 month old; there is a narrow margin for error in some of their 360's and swerving of logs in the river
My kids loved it, i was a little more worried for them

Village historical part 2/10
From the tour i was left thinking that cannibalism was the only history Fiji had
It would have been nice for balance in the history lesson, with not so much focus on one part
I personally was uncomfortable with my kids hearing about this over and over again
They are too young to truly comprehend the reasons behind historical behaviour,no one else seemed to mind. Made for interesting questions when we got home

Village Feast and Dancing 9/10
Best part of the trip was dancing with the locals
You are able to take gifts for the village for either the kids or the adults

Weather
Its very humid in the village
Be careful with young kids or anyone who is not well
Its a long day for the little ones and they are exhausted with the relentless humidity

SHOES hint
You walk up steep hills of mud which if wet (good chance ) its very slippery,
I wore thongs and they were not helpful

TOILET Hint
Avoid going to toilet at all costs if you are a women, trust me
Drink only what you have too and make sure you go at the jet boat drop off beforehand

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the absolute pleasure of being able to do the Sigatoka Jet Boat River Safari the other day.

From the minute we were picked up from our hotel to the minute we returned we were very well looked after.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The 45 jet boat ride was SPECTACULAR! And was enjoyed by the children, adults and the older adults on the boat.

The villiage tour.... I can not put into words how enjoyable it was.
We were abit unsure what to expect. As well as showing us the way of their villiage we also found it very entertaining and enjoyable.

Highly recommend the tour for families with children over the age of about 5 right up to the elderly.

Helpful?
Thank Diamonddave20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awsome Fun! Great insight into Fiji village life”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Love the river safari!, the Jet boat is Soooooo much fun. We arrived at a little Fiji village after a 40 minutes Jet boat ride up the Sigatika river. The village people welcomed us with a traditional Kava ceremony, served lunch, and showed us through there village. Prior to leaving we danced with the villagers and Fijian children. Had a blast. On returning our Driver "Freddy" did some 360 degree spins in the Jet boat AWSOME!! Definately recommend to others!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank P1peth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigatoka River Safari also viewed

 

Been to Sigatoka River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing