We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a " Gem" of a place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
de Vos The Private Residence
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“What a " Gem" of a place!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The De vos is located at the coral coast,1hr 40mins away by taxi from nadi airport,which cost us $97.oo FD ($55.oo aus, one way).This resort lies between the nativi and hideaway resorts,where you are able to walk to these resort by the beach,half an hour walk to either resorts.We were greeted by lots of bula's by many staff,when we arrived,we felt very welcomed and very relaxed as soon as we entered the resort.Our room was the mango room,which was located in the main builting,upstair overlooking the marine.we had a large balcony to sit or view the lovey garden and beach from.The room for 3 of us was a medium size room with all the basic things we needed,with own ensuite,fridge,kettle,etc.At night you could hear the waves roll in onto the beach as the nice cool breeze blows in through the wooden slat.while you sleeped.We had a great time here relaxing by the pool or going to the beach for fish feeding,we saw reef sharks and other fish at our feets in knee deep water,it was awsome for snorkling as this is a marine reserve.There's a horse ride you can take to the hotsprings or waterfall,we choose the 4hour return trip to the hotspring by horse than a 30min walk to the spring,with 2 guides,it was a fantastic afternoon out to these springs which are over 200 years old.This resort only caters for max 20 guests l was told,we only had 14 guest max ,during our 5 night stay here,which was just heaven.Children are welcome here l was told,but there wasnt any when we stay.The lovely staff,paul the chef,pinky did some cooking as well ,tom the horse man and maitence man,geisha the massage lady(great massage)Nis and all the cleaning staff were always helpful and accommandating anything you required.We also meet Paddy the resort manager,who was nice to have a good chat with.Paddy get the" Blooming internet" fixed .Breakfast was lovely,freshly cooked every morning,with cereals ,toast,eggs cooked to your liking,pancake, friuts,etc.Lunch for us was made to ordered if you wish,my girls loved paul's fries rice.Other guest were on a package deal,so lunch was whatever was on the menu for the day for them.Dinner was served at the same time for all guests,at one long table,which was great,as we meet so many nice people form other countries.Indian was served on our first nice by pinky,we had 5 indian dishes,that were very tasty and delicious.Thanks Pinky.Paul the chef cooked a lavo on our 3rd night here,which was black snapper,chicken and vegetables,follow by a coconut sliced dessert.Yummy paul,very nice dinner to share with all.This resort has 5 very large bures scatter around,amongst the gardens,pool and beach frontage.The 2 bures at the front have there own plunge pools,with 2 double beds in each room and outdoor bath tub enclosed by there bures.Overall our stay here was the most relaxing holiday we have had.Choose a book from the large library upstair,relax by the pool with the swinging palm trees above you,lush gardens and sunny setting with deck chairs and you might even have the pool to yourself as we did on one day.l reccommend you go to the gift shop down the road and visit the village across the road from giftshop,they will pick you up and return you for free from your resort.

Bula!! to all the lovely staff at de vos,we really enjoyed our 5 day stay with you,it was the best relaxing holiday we have had.I would highly reccommend the this palce to all,who wants to enjoy the REAL FIJI .

Vinaka,
Ciao, the Geelong girls ( Australia) Elisa,Laura & marissa.

Room Tip: look at the pictures of the rooms carefully,not offen do l not pick a nice room.price always plays a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Bula from de Vos!

Thank you for choosing de Vos it is obviously perfect for your needs. We were also delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway soon with your friends. The review is very in depth and describes all we can only thank you again

The beach side bures with views and sea music is obviously the number one pick no place closer to the sea and the enjoyment of surroundings.
staff thank you for your wonderful comments and could on and on but better still see you again soon

Thank you again Annemarie and team at de Vos
see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Like many others my partner and I came to De Vos using a deal we found on yazoom. We had never been to Fiji before and we were SO happy with what we got. The bures were beautiful, private and well maintained. One of the highlights for us was the amazing food. We got a diverse range of traditional Fijian and Indian meals and Pinky and Paul were superb chefs. Another highlight was the staff.... their hospitality, friendliness, and general effort to go above and beyond was well appreciated and made our stay that much more enjoyable. Something that wasn't mentioned on their website is the small library upstairs. It had all sorts of books with a range of great authors!
We wandered down to the nearby resort and all it did was made us so grateful that we had ended up at De Vos. De Vos was so much more quiet, peaceful and relaxing. On top of that it also offers a true taste of Fiji- right on the beach front and remaining authentic right from the staff to the food. Going out and returning to the tranquil oasis at De Vos or just spending the day snorkelling/reading/laying by the pool.... you will not be disappointed :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Bula from de Vos!

vinaka Vaka Levu
What can I say but Thank you for choosing de Vos it is obviously perfect for your needs. We were also delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway soon.
The beach side bures with views and sea music is obviously the number one pick no place closer to the sea and the enjoyment of surroundings. staff thank you for your wonderful comments

Thank you again Annemarie and team at de Vos
see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our family stayed at De Vos in late July / early August not knowing what to expect as we'd booked it spur of the moment through a deal site. We'd never been to Fiji before let alone travelled with our toddler so were a bit nervous but once we arrived we were so happy with our choice. We had the bure next to the pool which we found perfect. It was spacious enough for all of us so our daughter could run around, play with a ball etc, in the early morning inside without an issue. It is also the closest bure to the main house so we were able to put her down to sleep and still go for dinner inside as we could see the entrance to the room and even hear her if she cried. (when you step off your bure deck, it's literally a couple of steps to the deck of the main house.) We never felt security was an issue.
The staff were amazing and so accommodating. Pinky was happy to cook up additional food for us in the evening for our daughter, either cooking rice or pasta, vegetables, hot chips, sausages etc. She also had no issue with us getting in her way in the kitchen to scramble eggs etc if we needed.
Breakfast was amazing. As much cereal and toast as you wanted, as well as cooked eggs or pancakes. We certainly didn't go hungry.
If you're after a party place, this is definitely not for you, but if you're after a quiet, B&B style home away from home, then this is it. We walked along the beach for 30minutes one day to check out a nearby resort and swim in their pool. It was a great morning out but looking at the hundreds of people living on top of each other, agreed we preferred being at de vos. A visit into the town of Sigatoka was also easy - just wait on the side of the road and flag a white van which symbolises one of the many mini-cab taxis. Much cheaper than hiring your own taxi as it's just a few dollars each. The trip was about 45 minutes.
The ride to the airport takes a bit over an hour and a half so be prepared for that but de vos organized car seats and anything else we needed.

In short, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Bula
Thankyou for the reveiw your choice of bure although not beachfront ideal next to pool and close to main area for you to keep an eye on the little ones.

The girls are great Pinky they endeavour to advise that if you need anything please ask nothing is too much for them people when communciate always have the best time, they like to know you are getting what you want to make a great holiday
This is great that you had everything required at breakfast this can be a hard thing to judge so many people so many expectations thankyou glad we got it right

For a party place you can bookout and come withyour group of friends always popular option but for couples and romance a quiet time easy to find here and lots privacy
The local hitch to town once you have arrived and setteld in have contact numbers and know where you are is always an interesting trip.

So a big vinaka vaka levu from staff and amangement at devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just returned from 7 days at DeVos and absolutely loved it! Peaceful, relaxed, great accommodation, food and surroundings. If you want adventure and fast paced go somewhere else but if you want to have peace and quiet, but still enjoy a great social time with the other guests, then this is the place. Loved the pool, the snorkeling and the kayaks! My favorite was sitting by the pool with my book! Having the food prepared and then get the call that it's ready - nice! The staff were lovely and the bure right by the water was idyllic! Can't wait to go back, this time with extra drinks and I'll pre book the dive or fishing trip! Loved our holiday! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Bula from de Vos! Thank you for choosing de Vos it is obviously perfect for your needs. We were also delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway soon.
The beach side bures with views and sea music is obviously the number one pick no place closer to the sea and the enjoyment of surroundings. staff thank you for your wonderful comments

Thank you again Annemarie and team at de Vos
see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

By the time you leave De Vos, you realise that there's something special and unique about the place. When you arrive the Kiwi owners say, 'Treat this place like your own home', and they really mean it. The De Vos hosts have a very relaxed, informal style, yet they really try and meet the needs of each guest.

The staff are loyal and friendly locals, many of whom have been with De Vos for several years - since it opened. They were just brilliant with our 2 year old boy and 7 month old girl. They were happy to make baby food, spoon feed the baby, babysit and find ways of entertaining our toddler.

Every evening De Vos put on a beautiful spread of home cooked food for dinner - one night a traditional Fijian Lovo and kava ceremony, one night an Indian feast, and plenty of seafood! Our package included three meals per day. The food was nutritious, plentiful and incredibly affordable compared to any other restaurants and resorts in the region. Expect to come away with a few extra pounds, if you don't watch out!

De Vos only takes about 10-20 people at a time. The place has an intimate atmosphere but you don't feel like you're on top of each other. Each bure has its own private space and outlook. We were in a bure by the pool for half our stay (with a beautiful romantic outdoor bath), and a beach front bure for the second half (with delicious sea views). Both had their merits but I preferred the bure on the beachfront. The bures are big enough to accommodate a young family of 4 (De Vos provided a cot). We never felt that our kids were interrupting the other guests - this is partly because the staff enjoyed having our kids around and made them feel at home.

Other things to do are kayaking, horse-riding, visit local villages and hot springs, inhouse massages, etc. If you want to get out and visit other resorts, you can hire a car or taxi from a local. We had a fun day at the luxurious Intercontinental - 45 minutes drive away (voted one of the best beaches in the world and you can see why). We also checked out the Warrick resort, which is quite nice and very family-friendly (15 minutes drive).

The one thing I would say is that the wind comes up in the afternoon and so it's a good time to go exploring the local region. The pool is a nice saltwater pool, which makes up for the beach which is full of coral - not surprising given that it's called the Coral Coast.

I would be very happy to return to De Vos. They helped make our holiday fun, relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Bula
Thankyou very much for the time to write such a full review it is harder and harder these days for people to have time to attend to reviews unless they have a bad experience they seem to find time as with any product.

So thankyou again from staff and management and future guests 'we all enjoyed having your family to stay our place is suited to you as our type of clients. you obvoiusly enjoyed spending time with your children and the staff really enjoyed them.The fjjian people love family happiness and being friendly so they reciproate extremely well to family orientated people or lovely couples you obvoiusly fitted their perfect guest category

your description of the place is great.
And you may not be happy about extra pound but we are pleased with this outcome
I am interested in your veiw of the bures it is good to be able to try couple, different bures I have stayed in the different ones myself and each one has its own unique points so I find it difficult when someone asks which is best

This time of the year always some wind in the afternoons that is why you will have seen we have situated our pool different to others not straight out to sea but enclosed between bures at the side still with sea veiws but blocking any wind so you are able to swim and bathe all day
We look foward to seeing you again in the future all
The team at devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a long awaited vacation in Sigatoka, Fiji.
We searched day and night for the best deal, special, package, etc. and we were offered the world by nearly every travel agent around our home town of Brisbane, but didn't really find anything that didn't demand two months worth of salary.

However, just as we were about to give into the blood sucking travel agent 'specialists' a friend recommended us to a site called 'hotelie.net'. We were quick to compare both flights and accommodation between this site and our agents or the big names in the business like webjet or jetstar and what we found really surprised us. This 'hotelie.net' site allowed us to take our vacation at close to half the cost. We stayed in the five star private residence 'De Vos' for a fraction of the price our lousy agent could find us.

I do recommend this accommodation for anyone visiting the beautiful Sigatoka, however my biggest recommendation at the end of the trip would have to be...hotelie.net.

Room Tip: We made friends with some of the other couples in the resort and visited a number of rooms...they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Bula
thanks for the time to write a reveiw much apprecaited

Always beneficail on check internet for specials everywhere last minute or different wholesalers sell off cancellations or excess off at great prices many options these days to find options like this on the net. we do however try to match any you find

Also note you mentioned looking at other bures you are always welcome to spend time in different bures if available at no extra charge we can sometime save a day or two between bookings so always free to ask thanks you again hope to see you in the future all the staff at devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed here in June with a friend and must say I'm very surprised to see some negative reviews on this site. It was a mini-break of absolute relaxation and the service was amazing, and superior to what i've experienced elsewhere in Fiji. The staff were friendly but discreet, the food was great, and you are literally right on the (lovely) beach - where you can go kayaking, hunting for shells etc. Anne-Marie was lovely and took me out into the sea one morning to see the baby reef sharks, which in itself is reason to stay - schools of baby sharks swim up around you in the shallow water which was a very cool experience. The bures were really nice, and we had a deck overlooking the ocean. The food was great - lots of choice at breakfast (cereals, toast, eggs, fruit etc) and we had fantastic lunches, which magically appeared when we were hungry so we could eat on our deck. The traditional lovo dinner was also rather special. We had more food than we could eat, even though it was delicious (especially the homemade baking!). The pool was really big and nice, there were sun loungers to relax on, and on-site massages were organised for us. It was a fabulous experience and highly relaxing - I'd seriously recommend this place if you want a restful holiday or romantic time away. Its a small intimate resort, so you can really feel like you're getting away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine-NZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Bula from de Vos!

Thank you for choosing de Vos it is obviously perfect for your needs. We were also delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway soon.

The beach side bures with views and sea music is obviously the number one pick no place closer to the sea and the enjoyment of surroundings. staff thank you for your wonderful comments

Thank you again Annemarie and team at de Vos
see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
3.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,033 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,581 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
492 reviews
13.3 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
3.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Vos The Private Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Vos The Private Residence

Property: de Vos The Private Residence
Address: 19 Maui Private Rd, Sigatoka, Viti Levu 166, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — de Vos The Private Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vos The Private Residence is a totally private accommodation based on the design of a exclusive resort on the Coral Coast, main island Fiji so that it is able to accommodate all your individual needs design a holiday from weddings to a private resort for two. The Setting is tranquil secluded luxurious in design and fittings. Sweeping views, wonderful snorkeling, fishing, a marine reserve all within minutes situated on beautiful coral coast beach. All facilities of a resort available from massage to cleaners, security and chef. Just relax and enjoy. 5 Bures with exquisite and romantic bathrooms, private plunge pools and a swimming pool approx 25 metres with spa and pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your de Vos The Private Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vos The Private Residence Hotel Sigatoka
De Vos The Private Residence Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing