We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING AGAIN. The very best in Fiji”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING AGAIN. The very best in Fiji”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I can not rate this hotel highly enough. We have stayed her 3 times in 12 months and every trip has been an exceptional one.

We have been coming to Fiji twice a year for 9 years now and we have tried most hotels on Denerau. This one eclipses them all.

We have stayed twice in the main resort in beach front rooms and that is incredible. They are just wonderful and although a public beach - it feels like a private sanctuary.

This time we have stayed club and it has taken the experience to a whole new level. We have always enjoyed excellent service from staff and management but the Butlers at the Club Level have blown me away with their service and care. Special mention to Andrew, Jonah, Eroni, Jane, Miriam and Jane. Also the head Butler whose name escapes me, even though they always remebered ours.

Our last night BBQ cooked by Mike and Served by Eroni was incredible. Thanks for arranging it Chris and the farewell song was just stunning. We will never forget it!

The Club level offers a a quiet retreat and is great for families who want to really relax. Not that the main resort ever feels crowded, but at Club Level everything feels special. We stayed at the Natandola Suite and I almost don't want to tell you about it - it was so perfect. If you want the best possible stay, book it - you will not be disappointed. We will definately be back.

The Club is great for Children and even though drinks are just for grown ups, they will deliver it to your room, if you can't bare to leave them behind.

This hotel sets a new level for Fiji. We spend the first few nights at the Shereton with friends and it just doesn't come close to this one. We will be back!

Vinaka Chris, Bruno and Cameron. 10 out of 10 3 times in a row!

Jo Simon Charlotte and Alex

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo90_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Marketing Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
We are absoluely grateful for your positive feedback for the Club InterContinental facilities and the kind words towards the staff and management.

It will be nice to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Willams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    612
    191
    55
    36
See reviews for
918
1,081
48
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My partner and I stayed in a garden view room recently and the overall experience was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and while we encountered occasional minor problems (such as the incorrect meal being brought out) these were always rectified promptly.
The rooms are modern and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed using the daybed and cleopatra bath on the private balcony.
The food was fine with an extensive buffet breakfast (freshly made omelettes were great!) which filled us up for most of the day and a few options for dinner. Although we found some of the food to be quite plain, it was always presented well. A standout was Navo restaurant where we ate on 3 occasions. The ambience, service and food here was exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had seen some reviews which commented on the high cost of food at the hotel so were surprised to find that with the exchange rate (from AUS dollars) it was quite reasonable. We would recommend joining the Intercontinental Priority Club which allows a 50% discount on all meals at the restaurants when two people are dining. This was well worth the up front expense of the joining fee.
The spa is worth a visit with a wide range of facilities and treatment options. A high standard of service is provided.
My partner played 2 rounds at the golf course and commented that it was challenging but beautiful. The views from the course are stunning although as the wind seems to be worse in the afternoon, it is better to tee off early in the morning if you can manage it.
Our only negative feedback was in relation to the lack of umbrellas and shade around the pool area. Chairs with umbrellas and shade were reserved by guests so early in the morning that it was virtually impossible to find a space out of the direct sun after 8am. However, staff advised that additional umbrellas have been ordered by the hotel so hopefully this situation will improve once they arrive.
Finally, while the weather was lovely and sunny while we were there, it was extremely windy at times making some parts of the resort a little uncomfortable. In particular, our friends had a lagoon view room which seemed to experience the worst of the windy weather and we would stick to garden or beach view on any future trips.
Overall a lovely hotel and well worth a visit if you are looking for a relaxing poolside holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Marketing Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
We appreciate your feedback and its good to know that you enjoyed the resort facilities.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Willams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leura nsw
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

If a well earned break in a tropical and outstanding location , without travelling to outer islands , is what you need , this is for you.
From the moment we were enthusiasticly and warmly greeted on arrival to the genuine dissapointment by the staff on departure , this experiance rates with the best we have enjojed anywhere. We have travelled throughout the world and have a very clear idea of what quality and excellent service looks like . Our expectations are very high and we research carefully before deciding on a destinations accomodation. This hotel doesnt miss a beat ! From the staff to the location in its own white sand bay to the layout to the room quality to the spa facility - nothing has been left to chance .
Whilst it is a large hotel ,the layout of the buildings planning always makes it seem like there are 50 people with you , not 500 !

The staff are actually there to help with anything and we did not experiance one case of "grumpyness " in any situation. The Australian and N Z mngt team have obviously set the bar very high -which is more than we can say for most Aus properties.

The food is excellent and provides many choices > highly recommend some of the buffet dinners, especialy the seafood .

Guest rooms are all beautifuly furnished and spacious. We had a one bedroom lagoon view suite and whilst it was in a wonderful location to see the tides changing , the wind can make it a bit difficult to enjoy the beach bures. On the next occasion we will choose a beachfront room where the wind is not an issue.

This is one of those locations we would not hesitate recommending and re-visiting .

If you have the chance to visit , dont miss it !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Marketing Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
We appreciate your positive feedback and looking forward to your return.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Willams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Intercontinental is a gorgeous hotel with one of the best rooms I've stayed in: spacious, replete with Bose speakers for our iPod, double basins, a fantastic view of the ocean and a sheltered balcony with a bathtub.

But I should have learned from previous experiences of staying on that coastline that its beaches are windy. We were there during the full moon which made the tides even stronger and the sea totally unsuitable for swimming. Alas the snorkel I brought on holiday got only one decent dip in the sea. The pools were nice though, even though there is a bizarre system whereby people book the best loungers by placing their towels on them first thing in the morning.

The Kids' Club didn't wow me and we didn't use it as much as we hoped. Aside from being a bit sterile it cost, as did using kayaks/snorkels and pretty much anything else at the hotel.

The food here was pretty standard fare. We had buffet breakfast and dinner included in our package. They were fine but by the end of our seven day stay I was pretty much over the whole smorgasbord. If you go eat the raw fish salad (kokonda) and the crab, both of which are lovely and fresh.

Happy hour at the sunset bar was fun. The cocktails were $FJ15 and pretty good to down while the sun went down and a few surfers caught waves on the horizon.

And the staff - while a little slow at times - were very friendly and obliging.

All in all this was a pretty good experience. If you're happy to stay put during your holiday and aren't crazy about swimming/snorkeling at the beach then by all means give it a go.

And if you're looking for a dose of ethics in your travel, it's worth considering the hotel is owned by the Fiji National Provident Fund so your money's helping to fund public pensions.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nelsonian163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Marketing Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Willams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at Fiji's Intercontinental. Wow!! What an amazing place. We really wanted to experience the resort and all it has to offer, so stayed in the resort itself. We have found, in the past, that by staying in the 'elite' areas of various hotels around the world, you could be in any 5 star hotel anywhere. Therefore, we were very pleased to stay in adjoining rooms overlooking the family pool, but with views of the beautiful beach as well. What a lovely position! My husband and I spent many relaxing hours sitting or lying around on the day beds on our verandahs and completely drinking in the resort experience.
Many reviews we read prior to going to Fiji complained about the price and quality of the food. I think the way to go is to have an open mind and not be too stressed about it all!! We ate at all of the restaurants and bars and found the food to be fine for our needs - we were travelling with 4 of our 5 children (aged 2 to 13) and the buffet was great for breakfast and some dinners. The Toba bar was the venue for most of our lunches, which were usually accompanied by ice cold frothy milkshakes for the kids and equally ice cold Fij iPremiums for the adults. Hubby and I went to Navo for dinner one night and thought the whole dining experience was wonderful - it was beautiful sitting and looking past the palm trees at the waves gently lapping the beach, while eating lobster($98 Fijian dollars which converts back to about $60 Australian for a whole, beautiful, freshly caught and cooked lobster - pretty good value I think, compared to the prices we have previously paid for lobster!) that had recently been retrieved from there!! Not to mention the Chocolate Indulgence dessert...Truly memorable. The prices, once converted back into Aussie dollars, were on par with most restaurants we eat at in Australia - we have certainly paid more for steak in Australia than we paid here, and the staek at the Navo is actually imported from Australia!! I think that, if people are going to compain about the prices at the Intercontinental, they should check out the everyday prices in the more touristy countries in Europe!
The fuss that was made of our 2 smallest children was incredible. They had babycinos brought to them for breakfast and had fresh toast made and buttered for them, they were carried back to our rooms for us when we had finished lunch, etc. They have never been so kissed and cuddled in their lives! If my 2 year old doesn't go on to marry a Fijian man, I will be very surprised!! The Fijian people really make this country a must to go to especially when holidaying with children. They are very friendly, loving and obviously value family, which, I think, is a good lesson to everyone. I am so glad we stayed in the hotel itself, as we got to experience things we may have missed out on, otherwise. We also got to spend time with other families who were there to have a good, relaxing time as well - people from all walks of life who appreciated everything that was being done to ensure they had a great holiday. Quite a humbling experience, at times, as we were being waited on, hand and foot, by these lovely people.
It is very unusual for us to travel anywhere and my husband relax completely, but we were talking about booking our next holiday in Fiji by the end of our second day there. Unheard of!!
The final thing I would like tio say to potential travellers to this gorgeous resort is to remember that the prices are listed in Fijian dollars and the exchange rate is very favourable for us Aussies at the moment. The prices convert very reasonably, so mentally convert before complaining!!
Thanks must go to everyone from the cleaners, porters, gardeners, activities staff, waitstaff, reception staff to the Management staff at the Intercontinental Fiji. We had a lovely time and can't wait to return to Fiji. The final

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7musketeers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Marketing Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Vinaka Vakalevu for all the positive comments. It is a beautiful feeling to know that our staff had helped create wonderful memories for you.

See you on your return.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Willams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This hotel exceeded all expectations I had going into our honeymoon. The beach is wonderful, the hotel is beautiful, and the staff is Fijian friendly at its finest. The food was excellent, I have absolutely no idea nor does my husband where the complaints are coming from. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet each morning, dined at Nadu one night and highly recommend the lobster (which is not on the menu but is very reasonably priced, enormous, more than we could eat). The chicken was also delicious, as was the oven baked olive scone and the tasting courses in between. We also dined poolside for dinner one night, and thought the burger and pizzas were excellent. Room service was also terrific. We made drinks in the lounge as a honeymoon treat and loved the service and new concoctions we created - we drank these while we sat outside watching the sunset and the fire lighting ceremony. The chapel is gorgeous, and while we did not get married in Fiji, I would recommend it as a gorgeous setting.

The concierge staff is excellent. In my harried post-wedding state of mind, I left all of my toiletries in the US. The staff tracked down an eye doctor and had contacts delivered to me at the hotel. Thank goodness, because we spent the next week scuba diving. They have an excellent selection of DVDs and music CDs for free.

We stayed in room 2222, which is the room I would request for honeymooners. It is on the beach second floor, and the view is spectacular. The hotel is a bit windy, but I found the only rooms that really noticed the wind were closer to the pool area, perhaps because it is more open.

You can horseback ride on the beach which is so much fun, and snorkeling is fantastic. The ice cream by the pool is excellent and a great midday treat.

The spa is worldclass. We did the wi-zone and couples massage on the beach. It was such a delight, both my husband and I fell asleep. And the basil water served in the wi-zone is something I plan on recreating for bbq's next summer. The cost is reasonable, as the one complaint on here says it was not, however, they are quoting it in fiji dollars, which was 1.8 to 1 favorable to US so it worked out very well overall.

Thank you for an amazing start to our honeymoon!!!

* Note to travelers - Fiji is amazing, beautiful, and out of a movie. A few things to remember before you go - Fijians operate on "fiji time". Embrace it. It means things will happen when they happen, so go with the flow. Leave your watch at home it will not help you get things done when you want them to. The resort is a bit windy, but it did not interfere with our trip at all, once we made sure our room was located away from the pool. Otherwise you get a loud whistling noise. Smoke - Fiji uses slash and burn agriculture, so at night there is a bit of campfire smell to the island. Nothing bad, and only about half of our trip. My husband loved it, as he wanted the rustic side of the trip and managed to get it. As for the comment on here about shade, the staff is very nice and accomodating and will bring you an umbrella and set it up for you. There is a store to buy books at, but no library. However, there are lovely coffee table travel books in the main lounge area to peak at.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Marketing Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
It was wonderful and kind of you to share yor expeirence. We truly are appreciative of your kind comments.

Thank you and hope to see you return.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Willams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Wonderful location, wonderful design and decor, wonderful food, wonderful staff.
The Intercontiental Fiji Golf and Resort provides a wonderful Fijian experience. I could not fault it. The attention to detail is amazing, right down to the staff serenading you as you leave. HIghly recommend this resort. Great for the kids and adults. Cant wait to return.
PS Dont leave without trying the spiced pear mojito at the Kama lounge - it's really out of this world.
PPS Yes it can be windy but it cools the day down and the breeze is devine as you sit in the bar at happy hour. Besides if it really bothers you get the staff to turn it down, I am sure they would if they could!!!LOL

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLouise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
23.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,122 reviews
28.3 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,578 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
23.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Maro Road | Natadola Bay, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort and Spa is located on the beautiful and picturesque Natadola Beach on Fiji's main island of Viti Levu. Relax on palm-fringed white sand beach or swim or snorkel in rolling surf to experience natural Fijian ambiance. The resort offers breathtaking 360-degree views of Natadola Bay and exotic landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Hotel Sigatoka
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Coral Coast
Intercontinental Fiji Hotel
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing