We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in late October and had a wonderful time. The rooms are lovely with everything you could need. This includes good quality fittings, lovely thick towels and Pure Fiji toiletries etc.. Everything has been thought of including candles beside the outside bath. We ate every night in the buffet restaurant and were more than happy with the variety of food on ofer. Brekafast was also great there each morning (I loved those pancakes that were made to order) Wine is expensive there, but that is the same everywhere in Fiji. We loved going to the cocktail bar for the fire lighting in the evening. There were a wide range of cocktails for $FIJI$15, which I thought was good value.
The gym has wonderful new equipment and with all the doors wide open was a comfortable temperature.
We loved the location of this property. The beach is beautiful, with great snorkelling just off the resort. The sports club do offer daily trips out to the edge of the reef (only a 5 minute boat trip) but we found plenty of fish in front of the resort (right had side).
The golf club is great (the free shuttle runs from the hotel every hour) but as others have said take plent of balls.
Overall we cannot fault this hotel nad can't wait to return -would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Thank you

Kind regards
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,573 - 2,579 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

we have been back a few weeks now so time to post up and tell everyone what we thought.
Stayed for 6 nights and the facilities are fantastic. slightly dissapointed with the meal options as we had a meal package and were locked into the buffet every night, which is OK and has plenty to offer the kids but would like a few more options.
Most of the staff were fantastic, and the rooms were in fact excellent, Gym was brand new and all good gear, so liked that.
Kids club was dissapointing, and again has great facilities but, I dont need to go to fiji for the kids to play playstation. I was more interested in them learning more about the fijian culture, language etc, and they hardly did any activities outdoor.
However our kids were well kept, well fed and keen to go back every day.
The intercon is a bit of a conundrum, when you consider the place looks a million bucks, is brand new and has the best facilities. but at times there seems to be a disparity between the Intercontinental brand and what you expect from that, and what is expected from a resort in fiji, ie "laid back"service. If it was branded Holiday inn or Crowne plaza I dont think there would be half the negatives posted on this site.
There s general confusion in the billing system so I would advise checking it in your room daily otherwise its likely to be in a big mess when you go to settle up.
The sports shop guys seem a little too laid back to me. Im forty two and way past being called Dude! little more professionalism there would not go astray.
Golf course is sensational and I would go back for that alone. but bring a few balls and stock up from the locals around the course that sell balls.
We did enjoy our time there and we would go back but to be honest we enjoyed the island way better, so its not all about the appearance and facilities that make a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

InterContinental is a great resort physically - everything is brand new, well designed and laid out etc although a long drive fron the airport!

Everyone is very friendly and eager to help but from a service perspective it is still a bit new and I think could do with some more time for proper training etc of staff to work its way through, eg Food and drink orders were confused, dinner reservations through the concierge didn't make it to the classy restaurant etc, room service tray sat outside our door for 2 days. (Not big issues, but not what you expect at a 5 star Intercontinental Hotel)

The rooms were luxurious although the Bed was very poor and certainly did not meet my expectations - I know the Westin have the bed as their key selling point!

The Food was in the same category, not enough choice and the dinner buffet was constantly dissappointing. With no other local options there was only the very expensive restaurant FJ$400 for 2, the pool bar and grill - very limited choice or the buffet which regularly lacked the sought of staples that are needed to underwrite the buffets appeal. They could definiotely do with a mid range option - low end a la carte restaurant, steak bar etc

Every room had a Cleopatra bath on the Balcony/landing and they are definitley a highlight.

The Spa was spectacular (pricey - but that was no surprise)

The pools and the beach were beautiful but we were a little unlucky with the weather (only one Sunny day) - apparently wet season officially started last Sunday.

If I returned I defintely would not go through Sydney as it adds so much time to the journey and meant early starts and late finishes both coming and going which given how close it is to Melbourne shouldn't be the case. This was made even worse by its remoteness from the airport and all other resorts. Only fly from Melb if you can get a direct flight would be my advice.

FYI - The Raddisson apparently won an award for best resort on the island whilst we were there and that made the front page on one of the newspapers.

In Summary - a 5 star setting but they are still learning about service, sleep and food which make or break the stay. I would rate those aspects only 3.5 stars but they still have the 5 star price!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAK-MELBOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. I am shocked about your comment regarding our beds. They are brand new and the range topping bed from Sealy.

Our food has improved with a new team in place, and our pricing is under the local competitors – I know for a fact. We are just 50 minutes from the airport inone of our new transfer vehicles.

You shouldn’t believe all you read in the papers!

Kind regards
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

If your looking for luxury, picturesque scenery, crystal clear water, great customer service and amazing weather....this is the place for you. The resort has been completed to a luxurious finish, from the room decor to the resort grounds. You feel as though you are the only person there as each staff member provides you with warm and friendly service throughout your stay. And the food is amazing and caters for every person (i'm a vegetarian and was never bored with the food options during the 8 days). Would strongly recommend this for couples or families as there are enough amenities to keep everyone happy, from reading by the pool, using the day spa or the golf course.
I'm looking forward to going back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank angeladagaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

You are kind

Thank you
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed for 10 nights at the Intercont in late October.

Complaints- nil, praise- too many to list

Suggestions for prospective guests:
• Make direct contact with the resort and get as much info as you can before you go. Thanks Sanjeshni
• Book a beachfront room if you want to wake up to a picture postcard scene
• Get a pod and spend the day laughing at the kiwi accents
• Book in early for the spa, it’s popular
• Turn off the aircon and sleep using the unique screen doors
• Bring your ipod to plug into the Bose sound system
• The store has plenty of stock at reasonable prices so don’t bring too much
• Go snorkelling straight out in front of the Kama lounge, fantastic
• For <A$4 per beer and <A$10 per cocktail, drink as many as you can
• Don't be afraid to use the kids club and nannies
• Glance at the gym
• Dine at least once at Navo
• Bring your A game for golf or haggle with locals for extra balls
• Visit Navo Island and Sanasana village

Finally to the 'glass is ½ empty' brigade. When you think things haven't quite been up to your impeccable expectations, take a walk down to Sanasana village, have a look around and be grateful for what you have in life.

Ni Sa Moce

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daveBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Thank you for your ‘insight’.

Kind regards
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I was meaning to post a review of the Intercontinental as soon as we returned from our holiday in August 09, but time has got away from me.

Luckily its easy to remember the wonderful things about the Intercontinental that made our holiday so special – from the greeting at our arrival, to the Kama cocktail lounge, the cosy Oval love pods around the infinity pool, the breathtaking view from our beachfront bure, the Pure Fiji products in the bathroom, the Cleopatra Bath, the relaxing massage at the Spa. So many little luxuries which added up to a wonderful experience.

True 5 star luxury! If you’re going to Fiji and want to pamper yourself (particularly if you want to avoid family frenzy) then you really should consider a stay at the Intercontinental – it’s worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Vinaka Vakalevu!
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We CAN’T believe how ANYONE can complain about this amazing resort(including that review from Brisbane written in such detail that you wonder if the reviewer had the sole purpose of bringing down the house). Anyways, after spending the previous week in a kid-infested resort, we were glad to arrive at the Intercontinental and discover that there actually was an adult-only pool (do expect, however, the occasional kids coming from the very near kiddie pool to talk totheir parents at the adults-only pool). The adult pool is of the infinity type, gorgeous and very relaxing, with Zen-like music playing most of the time ... The whole place was so quiet (though full) and had a nice, relaxing New Age vibe to it. The ultimate experience to be had, was a massage in their uber-modern spa ! And just when you think it can't get any better than this, you have a meal at the Navo restaurant and it's heaven on earth (Cloud Nine being reached in my case with their chocolat decadence dessert !! Yum ! ) We'd strongly recommend couples who want more intimacy, (like us) to get the fantastic beachfront deluxe room right next to the Navo restaurant : great sunset views,right on the beach in front of the sandbar at low tide, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean tide (thanks to those huge wooden doors with their screen-protected openings), far from kids, etc ... Clem's only beef : there are 2 TV screens (one in the living room, the other one in the bedroom) BUT you can only play the rented DVDs in the living room (whose furniture is definitely not as comfortable as the fantastic King size bed ... Ah well ! ;) The food at Navo restaurant was above 5 star quality, and our waiter Eddy (formerly from Likuliku Lagoon Resort) had the GREATEST smile to be found in Fiji… our favorite!! What a loss for Likuliku….and they miss him there (we went there later on and everyone knew him when we spoke of him!). Nat has to add that we experienced nothing but the best in service and hospitality here and the upkeep and cleanliness of the resort and grounds was impeccable.The best beach in Fiji, great snorkeling from the beach with soft sand, and surprisingly uncrowded. We attended a Meke (Polynesian-style) one evening and for the price it was very “ordinary” and we regretted missing a chance to dine at Navo’s. We will definitely return to Fiji in the next few years and the Intercontinental Resort and Spa will be our first stayover for sure. Without a doubt our favorite over Warwick, Sheraton, and ever-so-slightly Likuliku Lagoon Resort and Spa (which was excellent as well but the beach is the determining factor in this case). The food at Likuliku was excellent all the time where as at the Intercontinental only the Navo was hors pair; the other restaurants were just good. So imagine how good the food was at Liku liku….. the BEST!

In general, Fijians are the nicest people we have encountered on our many travels around the world. There is no $ smile… it’s all genuine! We love Fiji

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natandclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind remarks.

Kind regards
Neil

Neil Houghton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
13.6 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
23.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,378 reviews
28.3 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
23.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
23.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Maro Road | Natadola Bay, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $226 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort and Spa is located on the beautiful and picturesque Natadola Beach on Fiji's main island of Viti Levu. Relax on palm-fringed white sand beach or swim or snorkel in rolling surf to experience natural Fijian ambiance. The resort offers breathtaking 360-degree views of Natadola Bay and exotic landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Hotel Sigatoka
Intercontinental Coral Coast
Intercontinental Fiji Hotel
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing