We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Relaxing village experience and amazing waterfall experience

Short trip from the Warwick Resort, friendly welcoming people, authentic village tour wth... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
605Kevin_K58
,
Adelaide, Australia
Exceeds 5 stars

Lino helped us with a number of tours/activities and transfers during our stay in August 2019... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nzhena
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 118 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sigatoka
from $52.19
More Info
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
84
18
5
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
84
18
5
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall tour warwick resort kava ceremony spectacular waterfall west end of the beach booked this tour local village per adult paid fjd cassava traditional kava village experience highly recommend this tour lots of fun lino cappuccino biausevu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 118 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We followed previous Trip Advisor notes and as we had a hire car just drove to the village on a Sunday - rang the number on the sign but everyone was in church - so better to go after noon on a Sunday. We met an elder in the village who rounded up three (we think naughty boys not at church) and Siri 13, Alumi 10 and Siri 7 were our guides - lovely boys and quite chatty. Politely took me by the hand through the rivers so I didn't fall. The waterfall is spectacular and we and our teenage girls had a lot of fun jumping through the waterfall. The boys climbed up high behind it and later made a bamboo raft that we had some fun with. Later another elder villager arrived and husked a white coconut which had the best coconut milk and flesh I have ever eaten!
Our boys were in trouble with Mum when they got back - but we gave them a few treats.
It was a lovely visit - $15 FJ per adult and $10 FJ for our girls. Well worth it and a lovely experience!

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank Heather Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having been to Nadi previously we had done all the major tours and were looking for somewhere else to try and the hotel travel agent suggested the Inland Coastal Tours Waterfall trip.
We were picked up at the hotel in Nadi at 7am for the trip down to the coral coast, we were the only ones from that area and had the mini bus to ourselves for the first hour. After picking up extra passengers we arrrived at the village and had the compulsory Kava ceremony, having this once ar twice is OK but unfortunately just about every tour includes this and this possibly detracts from what for the Fijians was originally an important ceremony.
To get to the waterfall is about a 40 minute walk through rainforest which is very nice, it also included fording a stream about 9 times, so footwear (I picked up a pair of sandels in Nadi for about $A8) that can get wet are an essential as there is not way to avoid them. The water was only mid calf at worst but can be much deeper after rain.
The waterfall was very nice though the water was cold but most of the people doing the trip there went in for a short time at least. The tour company supplied a basic but filling lunch of sandwiches, fruit etc. and had 3 guides for about 12 people so they made sure that everything went ok.

Date of experience: August 2013
3  Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Book a trip, go to the waterfalls it's a must! So friendly and a great way to spend your day. Value for money and take the camera. Make sure you wear good shoes and take bottled water and its a recipe for great fun. 9/10 rating

Date of experience: October 2012
5  Thank Holland_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The tour that we had paid for with our Travel Agent in Australia was cancelled at 8:00pm the night before the tour. Luckily the Tour Desk at Outrigger on Lagoon was still open and we were able to book a similar tour with Inland Coastal Tours at a substantially cheaper price

Date of experience: April 2013
6  Thank TimothySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and 3 friends went to the waterfalls on April 20th. It was a great experience. We purchased the tickets for $70FJD each from a little shack just outside the hotel (we were staying at the Warwick). We drove in a black taxi with no seatbelts about 3mins to the old airport where they bought some kava for the kava ceremony and some cola and coconut cookies for afternoon tea.

After a 15min drive inland on a windy dirt road we ended up in one of the Fijian villages. The girls had to put sarongs on to cover their legs and we took our shoes off at the door. We then sat down on the mat and the villagers introduced themselves and began preparing the kava. During the ceremony only the chief in the party of visitors was allowed to drink (that was me!). They kept getting up making it look like they were going to give it to one of us but turned around. Cheeky! After the ceremony the others were permitted to drink. The kava tasted a bit like dirty water at first and then the tongue started to go numb a little bit. It wore off after a few minutes though. Apparently it's a drug so we don't think it would be allowed back into Australia.

We purchased some cheap gifts there to take home for friends and hired some croc sandals for $5, and then began the walk to the village. If you had brought reef shoes that was ok - you will walk through mud, horse poop and streams on the way there.

After about 30mins or so we got to the waterfall (one in our group was a bit slow so it took us longer) and boy was the water cold! It was fairly hot outside (maybe 29 or 30C) but the waterfall was a bit nippy. Once you got submerged it was alright though.

We jumped from the rocks a few times through the waterfall (really need reef shoes for this!) and then had afternoon tea and the guide got up really high and jumped in from about 30m up! The walk back was a lot quicker for some reason :)

All in all a very good experience!

Date of experience: April 2013
13  Thank benno007123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews