We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home - Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We found this hostel by chance and were so glad we did - it made our trip to Fiji! I have nothing but positive things to say about Mama's.

Mama, Bella, Maria, Eta etc all FANTASTIC! They treated us like part of the family, remembering our names, looking after me when i was ill!!! And welcomed us with open arms.

We loved it so much here we were quite emotional when we left - after a 17 day stay (except a small break to visit the islands). Food was great the room was basic but homely and always clean, the beach was lovely, a quiet hostel but never a dull moment.

Would recommend this hostel to any backpackers who go to the mainland its so much nicer than staying in one of the horrible commercialised hostels along the strip that have no character.

Sending best wishes to everyone at Mama's - Thanks for making our stay so fantastic. I hope to see you all again one day soon xx

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomeo700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 424 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

We just finished a 2 month trip to New Zealand and Australia with 5 wonderful days at Tropic of Capricorn. Everything about this hotel was wonderful. Nice room overlooking the ocean, good location with nice beach and very quiet, Bella's amazing cooking, and the greatest staff possible. We had been there 15 minutes and felt like family. We never did get to meet Mama as she was away when we were there. We were not backpacking but were on our 40th anniversary trip and Mama's exceeded all of our expectations. For a budget hotel you can't beat it. Hopefully we get to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvmarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We had heard wonderful reviews about the lovely lady known as Mama and expected a pleasurable experince at Mamas. We were however transported to a nearby apartment block which did not feel very safe as it had no direct connection to the resort. Mama did not come across well to us, upon our arrival she struggled to understand us and was quite obviously drunk. She openly bad mouthed the surrounding hostels/ guesthouses whihc made us feel uncomfortable.
The breakfast was toast, bread, jam - quite common in Fiji and fine with me..... but the butter was disgusting!!! How can such a simple breakfast be so disappointing?
The cats and dogs roaming around the place did not add to our eperience either.
I was glad when our two days were over.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

On my 1st visit to Fiji I was unfortunate enough to Stay In Smuggler's Cove but eventually found "Mama's" towards the end of my stay. On return to what is for me the best country on earth I was really looking forward to staying at Mama's again. Mama and her fantastic team did not disappoint...

I cannot thank the whole team enough for what they did for me in my 6 week stay - nothing was too much trouble for them and Mama truly has a heart of gold. She looked after me when I got sick and made contributions to my stay too numerous to list. By the time I left I genuinely felt like one of the family and to mark my departure a special party was thrown in my honour...

It was be a while before I return to Fiji but in the meantime I will continue to spread the word about the Tropic of Capricorn. I would not hesitate to recommend it to any kind of of traveller - but especially the backpacker market. Thank you so much for for everything Mama - I send my love to you and all your hardworking and amazing staff....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmyers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I don't normally write internet reviews but after staying at Mama's and having such a brilliant experience i decided to write....

I'd initially booked into Smugglers which is next door, but after they messed up my booking i wandered over next door to Mama's who instantly greeted me with a personal welcome and sorted me out with a room. As a solo traveller stuck in the dark in Nadi with no guaranteed accomodation i was close to tears but they were so friendly here i instantly felt like i was at home.

As well as the personal service, the place is extremely clean - rooms are spacious and air conditioned which is much needed in the Fiji heat. I hadnt realised breakfast was free but it was fantastic and you can eat it more or less on the beach :-)

Reception was really friendly (thanks Mary!), and couldnt help you with more.

Overall, had a brilliant stay here and would urge anyone against staying next door at smugglers cove and stay at Mama's instead!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed here for almost two weeks on and off, and before we arrived I was slightly neverous as it was my first hostel. I cannot tell you how pleased I was to arrive and find Mama ready with our room, coffee and big smile and a hug.

I have previously read mixed reviews on here about the staff, and I think it is fair to say you either hit it off, and it becomes like home with the staff as family or it never really clicks for you. However the staff DO NOT steal from you, they don't enter rooms at all, I am not sure about the dorms but defo not the private rooms. not even to swap towels etc they are provided downstairs daily.

For us it was perfect it is not over run with 18 year olds a real good mix of age groups and people, but the lively smugglers is just next door so you can go there too..

Poni arranged our accomodation and catamerman for the islands and he did a fantastic job, picked us perfect hotels, doens't charge a penny, and visits them personally every year.

The room was lovely, fab view over the beach with a balcony, double bed and clean new bathroom., amazing AC and no bugs at all.

Food was so good by Bella, mega large portions served any time, and plenty of toast and coffee/tea for breakfast.

Aside from Mama being wonderful, the only downside was the beach is not the best in Fiji, and it is a slight walk to a supermarket, smugglers has a small shop & washing machines next door though.

I would defo recommend Mama's for a budget stay we had a fab time, made many friends, given top travel advice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemmathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This place is really the cats meow... It is in a great location, just a stones throw from anything in Nadi, and as far as I could see was for sure the cheapest. Has an amazing kitchen, and the Fijian fish is to die for!!! They also have a cool bar area with big screen for chilling out in the afternoons over a bitter. Nice pool, with great beachfront area. New, and clean as well. I spent an evening chatting it up with Mama, and man is she a great host!!! She helped me in every way possible, and went well out of her way to make sure my stay was as good as it was. Excellent staff, and highly recommended from this backpacker.... Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bejuan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 25 in Nadi
177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beach Escape Villas
Beach Escape Villas
#15 of 25 in Nadi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: $32 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing