We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Best People !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights between islands and the staff couldn't be any more helpful. Mama is a legend she let us join the family and some nice cooking from Bella and activities organised by Holly :) Already planning the next visit back thanks Tropic of Capricorn. Tom and Rachel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DoonbegMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama406, Manager at Tropic of Capricorn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Bula Tom & Rachael

Thank you for your short sweet review and again for being with us in a couple of days. This review will surely be beneficial to other travelers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staff as we strive to continuously enhance our service deliverables.
I am extremely proud to say that we will continue to extend our service at Mamas Tropic.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you back to Fiji.

Best Wishes,
Holeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 412 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My fiancee and I stayed for just 3 nights and I couldn't have asked for anything more.

We had a private airconditioned room with a balcony looking directly over the beach for only £20 a night. I don't know where else outside South East Asia you can find at.

Breakfast was light but all we needed and more than I expected for the price. We ate all other meals elsewhere, but tgat was just to see other places.

Mama was so friendly and looked after us and all the other staff we're so nice too.

It is definitely the epitome of value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JKerching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

What makes I remember this place is not the facilities but the staff. The warm and kind Fijians with their enthusiasm and friendliness really make us want to come back. Mama (with 1 dog and 4 cats) jokes every time talking with me, Bella cooks delicious dishes (except chicken sweet and sour :) recommend beef/chicken stir fry, people laugh at me when I need extra rice everyday), Anna runs her small massage service and Kele with his helpful tourist center.

The location is between the airport and Nadi town (about FJD$15 taxi to these places). I spent 5 nights here and most information for our trip comes from nice staff (they loved us, I believed - the first Vietnameses stayed here). Mama promised that our picture will be hung on the hotel's wall someday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoàng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a great stay at the Tropic of Capricorn - always in the same room, #15, on the 3rd floor with a balcony. Comfy, inexpensive. We took a few trips to different areas of Fiji (the Yasawas, then out to Suva, then the Beach House) and were able to leave our luggage, which really helped. (Booked the trip to the Yasawas with Tropic of C's tour desk.)

Definitely stay here - not posh, but very nice and homey.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the ocean view, but it gave us a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location was amazing, the pool was great, the sitting room great, and I liked the presence of animals. However, I wish there had been more food options ie. snacks or half meals, and that the breakfast was more than toast, even if at a greater cost. Also, I could not sleep during the night because from my room on the ground floor I could HEAR EVERYTHING going on in the place, including very loud drinking until dawn by the staff members and their friends, during which the previously cute dog barked and howled without restraint. I would not have stayed more than the night I did in transit to an island resort, and will not be making a return visit.

Room Tip: Do NOT go on ground level. Choose one with a balcony or else you will not sleep. (And even then I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedCurry42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at Mamas three different times, first time one night, second 5 night and the third 8 nights. Mama was there the first two times but even though she went to New Zealand I had a great time!! Kele and Auntie Bella is nice and helpful, the food is GREAT (the spaghetti bolognese blows your mind!!!!) No bedbugs, clean sheets and hot showers! And if you want to go different day activities just ask Kele and he'll hook you up! Plus if you want to go to the island and not bring your big backpack you can just leave it there.

Right next to mamas is smugglers which is really expensive (38 dollars for a 30 bed dorm!!) and bamboo is full of bedbugs and you have to keep your valuables with you! I really recommend this place out of those and even in Nadi (stayed at a few other hostels in Nadi). Thanks so much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambaruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Spent one night before travelling to the islands which was great. Mama really looked after me, just like being at home. However when I returned a few days later not quite the same service. Seemed to be an inconvenience to order food. Also realised I had 'lost' a t shirt when my laundry was done during first stay and saw one of the staff wearing it when I returned. Tried to think of it as a coincidence until she went into the kitchen and turned it inside out. As mama wasn't around I didn't feel comfortable to confront any one about it. Pool is good and spacious dorm.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunskateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 25 in Nadi
177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#15 of 25 in Nadi
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: $11 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing