We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading the reviews on how friendly the staff were, we were pretty disappointed when we arrived and were practically thrown the key to our room. We had booked and paid for an ocean view room but ended up in room 7 , overlooking to pool. Room is clean enough, however the mattress was disgusting. Please Mamma, at least use mattresses protectors. We had dinner at the property which was very nice, however the breakfast is just toast and coffee .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    109
    42
    22
    35
See reviews for
24
140
103
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the dorm room downstairs and upstairs,the upstairs dorm was more spacious. Both rooms were clean and comfortable.

We came back twice whilst in Fiji because we felt like were at home. Mama and the team are great, they cook lovely food, help you with travel plans and generally treat you so well.

It is a quiet hotel, right on the beach with a pool. It it accessible to catch a bus right outside the resort to Nadi town and walking distance to a local supermarket. It also has other resorts next door so you can go for a fews drink or watch the fire show for some entertainment.

I would love to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a lot of time in Mama’s place and it was fantastic! We had a great private room with a balcony with an ocean view, AC, fridge and a nice big clean bathroom. Room was quiet small but it was clean and had no bedbugs or other annoying creatures!!! Compared with other options around, it was really amazing and for a really good price!!! We can also recommend the dorms. They were spacious and clean with new beds and a nice bathroom.
Mama took great care of us and we felt like at home. She cooked her delicious food (we still miss it!!!) which was not expensive (11-18 F$ per meal) and a lot! If we needed any help or info, we could always ask Mama or Jerry! We also booked our trip to Yasawas with Mama and it was the best choice. Mama recommended the resorts and they were the best as she said! Everything was perfectly organized so we didn’t have to worry about anything.
If you are a backpacker and you need a good cheap place to stay in Fiji, this is the place to go! We met a lot of great people there. We had amazing evenings sitting all together with Mama and others, eating, talking and having great time. It is not just a hostel, it is a great place where everybody is really friendly and will always take care of you!
Although, some people claim Mama is only interested in your money, I strongly disagree with them. Obviously, it is her business and you need to pay for your room and food (It is not a charity). However, Mama gave us a discounts and it was her initiative. Her heart is big and she does not want to rip you off!!!
Mama- thank you so much again for everything! We had an amazing time in Fiji! We will never forget you! We send greetings to Bella, Jerry and all the others! Take care of yourself and use your gavel to keep order in your place!

Vinaka vakalevu!!!
Kami & Kevin

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanview Room!!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KamiKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm a 27yr old backpacker and had been on the road for 6months before I stayed with Mama. She advised me on the islands to visit (which she got spot on!) and organised everything for me plus she ensured I didn't get ripped off which was reassuring.

On my return from one of the islands I fell sick and she looked after me like your real mum would!

She was simply fantastic, really friendly and it is a place I would recommend to anyone.

Thanks Mama

Liam

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawless351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Do not expect the Hilton or InterCon, this is a family run hotel on the beach. Mama has set up a warm and friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble. She knows everyone by name which was impressive and, as a solo traveller, it was very easy to meet other people here. I had a single room with air conditioning and en suite bathroom for half the price of one next door at Smugglers Cove. The only thing it lacks is wireless, unfortunately. However, I ended up purchasing a Fijian SIM card from Vodafone with a data package which then made it much easier. The beach is right on your doorstep and Mama's is a place to relax and chill out.

I would suggest that it's probably not a place for families but better for solo or couples travelling. To coin the phrase that keeps cropping up, it really is home from home. Thank you Mama for a wonderful stay and to Jerry, Bella and Anna too. I hope your birthday went well and that you liked to gavel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the very affordable poolside room T2. It was so peaceful in there! We got excellent sleep. There is no a/c but the fan was definitely enough to keep us cool at night (although July is supposed to be one of the cooler months in Nadi). Mama's food is excellent and portions are large for the good prices. Mama is also such a sweet character; she really makes you feel like part of her family. You can have as much quiet privacy as you want, but if you enjoy chatting, Mama is always around the front area of the hotel to sit and joke around with. Very good vibe in the hotel. The lady who gives the $40 FJD/hour massages on the beach out front is an excellent masseuse! Best massage deal in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingandtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Compared to the adjacent hotels (smugglers cove or aquarius) the price of a beachfront double are less tha 50%. Mama, the owner and the staff are helpfull, competent and very friendly. On our pacific trip we returned 6 times back to Mama!!! It is a perfect place for a few days in Nadi or if you have to wait for your next flight.

If you are looking for the perfect beach and luxury you should go directly to one of the island resorts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugus3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.1 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#13 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#12 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Property: Tropic of Capricorn
Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing