We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic of Capricorn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at Mama's for a total of 4 nights, before and after going off to the islands. Our room was spotless and really comfortable, great en suite bathroom, air con and a nice little balcony outside. The back of the hotel opens straight onto the beach and at the front is a lovely pool. The food was good - the sunday dinner was great and all the prices were reasonable. There are plenty of other places you can eat at nearby also.
Mama, Jerry and the staff were really friendly and helpful, they even let us keep our room until 1 at no extra charge as we had a night flight.
There is a bus that runs to Nadi town from the top of the drive once an hour, we managed to miss it (i think they run on Fiji time!) and also ended up getting a taxi back from town as the once an hour bus didnt turn up! but at $8 fijian it wasnt so bad.
We arranged our island stays through them and this made life so much easier as we didnt want to do the standard packages. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again as you couldn't find a nicer place at such a good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    105
    40
    21
    32
See reviews for
24
130
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

my stay in tropic of capricorn is not pleasant. When we first arrived the hotel, the staff blamed me for not telling them my arrival time at the airport and they sent a people waiting in the airport for us for the whole day. The thing is we made the booking through booking.com and it does not ask us to put our arrival time. Neither did we know that there was free pick up. And, we did not arrive from the airport but from the port. Ok, after check in, we were brought to our room. We booked a double ocean view room for around AUD $45. Yes there were a double bed, but also with 1 bunk bed and 1 single bed. All these beds with no bed sheets so you can clearly see the stains on these beds and there are just too many furnitures. True there is ocean view and the bathroom is clean. But it is nothing like the pictures we saw on booking.com. For this price, I would rather stay in bluewater lodge when def. charges less.

After we settled in the room and we asked if the hotel do dinner and the staff gave me this weird look and asked us to go next door. So, I don't know if they have a kitchen in this hotel. Glad that I only stayed there for one night and that was my last night in Fiji.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joacheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Mama is an amazing person...i went there to recover after an accident before flying home back to the u.k. she bent over backwards to help me and so to all the staff..it was a great experience...food was great and cheap...and when we got a roast dinner on the sunday it made my day. they took me to and from the hospital everyday and help my girlfriend out with me when needed...amazing people...i would go back to stay with mama any day. great location to right on the beach. i cant tell you how much i enjoyed my stay...they made us feel part of the family.

Room Tip: dont go to smugglers....full of bed bugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

If you have to stay in Nadi, this place is great, or at least the rooms at the front are. Clean, new, good bathroom, balcony overlooking the ocean, and very good value compared to other places around. Mama is a warm and friendly character, who makes excellent coconut chicken. My only complaint was that the pool was dirty and uninviting.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are spotless, great value, and overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayasalaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Compared to the adjacent hotels (smugglers cove or aquarius) the price of a beachfront double are less tha 50%. Mama, the owner and the staff are helpfull, competent and very friendly. On our pacific trip we returned 6 times back to Mama!!! It is a perfect place for a few days in Nadi or if you have to wait for your next flight.

If you are looking for the perfect beach and luxury you should go directly to one of the island resorts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugus3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

It's a real good place! The room was not very big but clean with a big bathroom. The view from the balcony was aweson! And Mama is so friendly! We felt like at home. We'll never forget you Mama!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

It was a while ago when I visited Mama's. I actually moved from a different hostel on the beach because one local scuba diver instructor recommended that place to me. The price for dorm was cheaper than other hostels but boy you pay a lot of money for food. Everyone loved the food, but its so expensive. That is the way how mama is earning money. She gives you a nice deal for a room but feeds you for the same cost as in a 5 star hotel. So watch out! If you don't eat and drink with mama her face looks no more friendly to you. Especially when mama is drunk. And yes...don't leave any bottles of white wine in her fridge! you will not see it again.
Also while I was staying over there the person who was supposed to be watching over personal stuff of the customers stole! ipod from one of them!
Conclusion: mama is not friendly to you she is only friendly to your money that you willing to spend. There are no nice people in this business unless you willing to spend a lot. If you have money to spend go elsewhere because you will get much more for your money. If you are backpacker don't even bother to go to mama's. Waist of time and money. The beach and the sea is muddy anyway.
Don't let spoil the special time that you can have while staying in Fiji. It was a good experience but I wouldn't come back to Wailoaloa Beach (which I think means something like muddy beach). I would go to the islands right away from the airport or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#9 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Property: Tropic of Capricorn
Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing