We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxed and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Relaxed and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

A very relaxed and relaxing establishment right on the beach. You are likley to be greeted by the owner, Mama, and invited to take tea or coffee even before checking in. This hotel is especially for the budget traveller and you will get more than you bargained for, that is certain. There are ongoing improvements being made and together with the personality of the owner and staff you will be ensured a stress break, excellent.

Room Tip: All good rooms, some better than others depending on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgeordielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    106
    40
    22
    34
See reviews for
24
134
100
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

"Mama" the owner was really friendly and helpfull, as other members of the staff. Rooms are easy but cheap, also the cuisine was good. personally i don't like the location, the beach is nothing special and the worst thing is that's is really busy, a lot of youg noisy aussie and americans. May be is a good choise if you are looking for something "younger" and with more "life" but if you are looking for something typical, quite and authentic stay far from here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We like everyone else decided to ignore the few bad comments and stay here anyway eh a huge mistake. We booked a room at this hotel for 3 nights and I thought it would never end. After arriving from a long flight we booked in and it felt like a Mama was threatening us straight off if we booked a tour with someone other than her. We were sent away down another street about 200/300 meters from the main hotel no street lights to a smelly, unclean, ant infested room. The sheets smelled of mould, hairs in the shower,dirty toilet, no towels and to top it all off a large toad in the toilet. When we complained to Mama she gave us a dust pan and brush and some smelly towels. We then complained to her grand daughter and she put us in a room in the main hotel which had a double bed in it but not room for much else. The food was nice the first day but after that all we got was dirty brown chicken with our rice!!! There are quiet a few insects in the main hotel rooms cockroaches etc which I did not see in any other hotels on my stay in Fiji.There are cats in the kitchen and they walk all over the tables you are eating your breakfast off. We were supposed to stay at this hotel again before our flight out from Nadi but just could not face it. THEY CHARGE YOU A CANCELLATION FEE ON TOP OF YOUR FULL ROOM PRICE IF YOU CANCEL SO WE DECIDED TO JUST NOT TURN UP.
What a joke of a hotel this is. Please ignore the good reviews, this place was just the worst place I have stayed. I'm not a very fussy person when it comes to hotel rooms I had just been backpacking around India staying in hostels and I found this place unbearable.....

Room Tip: Don't pick any stay somewhere else............
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank eganboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tropic of Capricorn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
This histrionic plea published six months after the event reveals its raison d'etre when it breaks out into capital script.We decided to just not turn up.Well,in that case no refund is appliceable and that is the reason for the vitriol which is on display throughout its mendacious appeal.Very simple to make a cancellation in just the same manner as a booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Staying at mama's is like coming home. She takes care of everything. Great atmosphere, lovely rooms and nice people!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

When we first arrived in Nadi we were in fact staying in another resort. After making friends with some of her guests we were soon introduced to the legend that is Mama! She welcomed us to her resort and fed us well, introduced us to her amazing staff (Don, Thomas, Bella and Zelda not to forget many more), took us to a tailors, helped us with a complaint from another resort. Mama even arranged a birthday dinner for me. This included traditional Fijian feast,a birthday card and cake. If that's not hospitality I don't know what is.. We weren't even staying there at the time.
We had a spare week at the end of our Fiji trip so we booked in at Mamas for 6 nights. We were in the ocean view room which had a balcony, fridge, AC, TV and en suite with warm water! The room was clean and beds more then comfortable. The food that is cooked here is affordable and highest in quality. (Mama is infact a good chef and uses her own recipes) I wouldn't bother eating anywhere else in the area as it is over priced. Especially next door.
The resort is a perfect Nadi stop, it feels like a home away from a home you are instantly welcomed and they will never forget your name. They are efficient to your questions and queries it is an overall well run accommodation!! I couldn't speak any higher of the service we was given and we will be back in May!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The rroms were basic but clean and good value for money. We had a twin room that was a few minutes walk down the road from the main building. We were meant to get a pick up from the airport but they didn't turn up. Whne we got to the place Mama was very friendly and offered us free breakfast which was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We got very good deal for this hotel and only because of that we decided to stay for two weeks. On our arrival we been told that they dont have that room we booked available and tried to settle us in some house about 200 meters from hotel without street lights and lights in a bathroom, after seeing us not happy about that they offered some bigger room in a hotel for extra $30 a day, after some unpleasant arguing Mama comes out and offers us that room without extra charge just to keep us happy. She looks very friendly to everyone at the beginning but if you stay longer then 2 days in this place you start seeing bad side of her, like very loud conversations of her while drunk, up to midnight. Really annoying if you tired and with children trying to get some sleep but we thought we cant complain much as got some bigger room without extra charge only to find out after 9 days that we still have to pay for it extra as Mama dont remember giving us any deals. Overall food is disgusting, no room service in that place no matter how long you stay and expect selection of insects including cockroaches in a room and around kitchen witch looked a bit weird as we moved after 10 days staying with them to other hotel very close to them and haven't seen a single cockroach. If you looking to stay around is a lot of nice hotels with clean pools and clean rooms everyday for about same price, we travel a lot and this place was first where you have to sit down and talk to them to get the room you booked without being extra charged for what you paid already, they ruined our holiday :(

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evaldas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.1 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#11 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#10 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Property: Tropic of Capricorn
Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing