We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxed place, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great relaxed place, excellent value for money”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I have been based out of Nadi intermittently for the last 2 months and after an initial stay at a slightly cheaper hostel, I have returned to the Tropic of Capricorn 4 times. The staff here are friendly and efficient, the new dorm rooms are great value with new bathrooms, hot water and comfortable bed. I opted for the dorm with fans when the weather has a little cooler, but the air con room was needed when the nights were too hot. There is plenty of space in both rooms. The swimming pool is a great addition, I think that Tropic is probably the cheapest place with a swimming pool in the backpacker area.

The breakfast of 3+ slices of toast with homemade guava jam is not to be missed. Good coffee to boot.

I would definitely recommend Tropic to anyone on a budget for the dorms and even those that money isn't such a big deal, should check out the private rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the new dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mand282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    114
    44
    24
    36
See reviews for
24
144
109
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

you would be better off staying next door at Smugglers Cove or across the street at Bamboo. Located on the beach. has a pool but it was closed. internet. free breakfast which is white toast and tea or coffee (like most places in Fiji). the guy who sold me the private room said it was normally $150. I kept telling him that was too much. finally he settled on $60 which as it turns out is the published price.he said he would upgrade me to a beach front room. i had a room with a view of the construction next door. it was super loud and there were people able to see into my room all day. room was small but clean and had a balcony, to watch the construction, a tv with maybe 3 channels, and super cold AC..i went to the bar for happy hour and no one was there so when some people showed up i asked if it was still happy hour and could i get a drink. the man said yes which began a screaming argument about letting me have $1 off a drink between him and a woman. this lasted for entirely too long. i did not get a drink. i ordered dinner. after half hour i asked if it would be much longer. i had ordered toast and a salad. i was told not much longer. after almost an hour i was told that they had no lettuce and i could go next door if i wanted to eat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glaciergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Zelda whom checked us in really quickly. The room wasn't that big but it had a really nice balcony overlooking the beach & ocean which does have an amazing sunset. the bathroom had hot water with a great big shower suitable for 2 people. It had a fridge and a tv with only 2 channels. The aircon was perfect. The pool was really nice too. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was great & cheap too. The bed was really comfy too. the hotel has a few resident cats and a gorgeous dog, Lindsay. On the down side, we stayed for 9 nights and the room wasn't clean not even once. I changed my own sheets and replaced the rubbish. the inside of the cupboard, the drawer & the balcony had mice poo droppings wich i found to be disgusting. The beach is very dirty and we didnt go in it once but its nice to walk on the beach in the evening with the awesome sunset in the back. Nadi isnt the best place to stay for more then 2 nights. I reccomend going to the islands for longer. We regretted we didnt stay long & enjoy the real beauty of the Fiji Islands.

All in all a really pleasant stay and i do recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerialeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

me and a friend stayed here for 7 nights and felt at home straight away. everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful, the food (especially the fijian fish) is great and compared to next door very cheap. there's a really relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. the beach is not the best but you can lie in the sun and go for a swim like anywhere else. i'm missing mama's tropic and all the staff already, can't wait to come back some day :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liskon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I had a great time and they were really good at looking after us. One huge problem; when time came to pay tried to pay with my credit card, was told this hadn't worked, tried with another card told same thing. Friend tried with hers, told the same. We ended up being taken by a member of staff to cash machine and paying with cash. Upon return home to the UK I discovered that both card transactions had worked, meaning I'd overpaid by £112. My friend had also been charged. I repeatedly contacted them through their website and was given no reply. In the end had to take action through the fraud department of my bank. I would suggest paying with cash to avoid such a situation. I know it doesn't feel safe to carry cash but there is a cash machine fairly close to the hostel at the junction with the main road. Otherwise I really enjoyed my stay; they were really helpful arranging my travel through the Mamanucas. Mama Selena and her niece Bella are truly lovely people and it was upsetting to feel like they had ripped me off. I would suggest book your first few nights accommodation in advance as arriving at Nadi airport can be a bit daunting. There are literally between 30-50 people trying to arrange your holiday plans. The system in Fiji is that the travel agent receives a percentage of the total amount of whatever they arrange for you - whether its hostels, boat trips, tours etc. Therefore everyone wants to be your travel agent and it can be intense and daunting. I really loved Fiji once I'd got away from Nadi. Whatever you do don't stay there too long, a stop over is really enough. Latauka is worth a visit for souvenirs.

All the best and have fun, Joanna

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J_Tenrecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent the first three nights of a six week Fiji visit at Mama's. We got a decent rate, Mama and her staff were friendly and it was nice being right on the beach. Getting into Nadi Town was easy (and cheap) enough by way of a local bus which stopped just outside the hotel. We were in an older section of the hotel, though, on the first floor, and the accommodation wasn't great - old, not very well maintained, and not especially clean looking. We also got a lot of noise from people walking by on their way to a block of rooms on one side and in and out of the main entrance walkway to the hotel on the other. Mama's nephew was very friendly and took us out to a club one night - very fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I loved meeting Mama - the hostel was really friendly and she was so lovely, always trying to help me. I'll never forget Mama!

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#12 of 25 in Nadi
176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Property: Tropic of Capricorn
Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing