We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms but shame about the service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms but shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed here for two nights in the girls dormitory upon my arrival in Fiji. They provided a free airport pick up which was great but I felt the drivers attitude was poor. Luckily I was quick to collect my bags and meet the driver or I may have missed him. He seemed to have more names to wait for on his list but didn't bother to wait up for them, no idea if he went back or not. Arrived at the hostel fine given it was 2am. Room was very comfy and had good air con which was much needed and nice. Breakfast was included and was the standard continental buffet which was good. Pool is tiny but there are lots of tables on the deck surrounding which is nice as well as sun loungers on the beach, shame the beach is grey sand though but not their fault. Internet is available but a little pricey. Food can be ordered from the main restaurant or the side cafe but staff have a tendency to ignore customers. Several times I ate there and had to wait age for food. My friend and I were staying down at aquarius on another occasion and decided to pop round for food. No one bothered to bring us a menu and then when we did go up and order it took over 40 minutes for the food to arrive, all we ordered was fried rice and the restaurant was empty!! Not impressed. We then decided to order ice cream for dessert, it took ages to come and then came out melted... It had been served in a bowl on a HOT plate! When we pointed this out the waitress was confused and told us it was still ice cream, took us a while to explain ice cream was meant to be frozen not like a milk shake and she eventually changed it for us. The reception staff weren't much better. I was staying at aquarius with a friend and went to enquire about availability for the next week in the girls dorm, I was told to go away and look online as it would be easier for both of us... The lady was stood right in front of the computer with the bookings on! Overall a series of events left me very dissatisfied with smugglers cove, I'd recommend the evening dance shows but nothing more. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you TravelBuggler for taking the time to put your review following your stay. We humbly & sincerely apologise for the inconsistency in service and product as you highlighted not mentioning the lack of it! Lax in service is not tolerated as i would presume in any Hotel or operation will not be carried out smoothly. We would have loved to follow-up more with possibly providing more opoortunity for training for persons involved or with disciplinary actions however due to non-response to our direct queries, we have no way of determining which way to move forward or which persons are involved. We have hired more than sufficient staffs now to be able to accommodate the busy season and training is ongoing every day. Be assured that quality service and product is on the top of our priority in training staffs to provide the top notch service and products in our category. Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    287
    174
    79
    60
See reviews for
72
272
174
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled to Smugglers in May 2013 for 6 nights, as a couple.
We had an absolute blast during our stay - we thought it was good value for money; we had a Premium room on the left hand side if looking at the ocean. A slight ocean view but it didn't matter....we spent all our time in their fabulous courtyard!

Outside they had an awesome set up of tables, sand pit (for fire dancing and other fun entertainment they put on), and beach loungers. The pool was amazing, very deep and very cold

Featured a young crowd who were up for a bit of fun, we met lots of great friends :) Best for social couples, solo travellers, or outgoing groups.
The bar was averagely priced - best to get Fijian beer on tap, other beers were about 7-10 Fijian dollars. Food was average, some things great, others not so much!

Only things we can pick on are:
* The Spa was NEVER open - the sign says open 7am-7pm, 7 days, but we tried three days in a row with no luck. They finally opened on our last day but it didn't fit in with our itinery. If you are keen for a massage ($45-55 FJ) then get in early and ASK them to open up on a certain day.

*The service was inconsistent. The night staff were AMAZING! We even went to dinner to one of their houses one night and hung out with them all. The day staff however, left a bit to be desired. They acted like the couldn't be bothered serving us, and were annoyed we were ordering

*The beach itself was average compared to the islands, definitely prepare island trips

*We had friends staying in the dorms who were moved to a new bed every night (not sure this is normal for dorms?)

All up, smugglers was great thought, and I would visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Our thanks & gratitude Ashleigh for a most thorough & fair review with description of our product following your stay at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort. Our sincere regrets you were not able to get any treatment from our Spa however we are taking measures to ensure consistence is maintained with opening hours featured otherwise drastic changes will need to be taken. We will endeavor to put more emphasis on our services to rekindle the happy Smugglers Spirit of serving others in our unique Fijian way, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope to get another opportunity to accommodate you both in the future. Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were only in Fiji for a couple of days on the way back to the UK from New Zealand and were on a tight budget, so as a result we didn't leave Nadi.

The pros and cons of this hotel:

1) The ensuite double was spacious, clean and was facing away from the bar area so was quiet.
2) The food and drink are reasonably priced. Worth going for some of the specials as they can be of a pretty high quality.
3) The staff are friendly and the service good.
4) There is a small pool area and plenty of outdoor seating and sunbeds to allow you to soak up the sun,
5) Close to the airport (but not too close as to be bothered by planes).

Cons:

1) The beach is not that nice at all - the sand isn't great and the sea isn't the clearest. Had we had been in Fiji for longer we would have gone to one of the smaller islands to seek out nicer beaches. However we were aware that the beaches on this part of the island were like this - so it isn't the hotels fault.
2) There isn't a huge amount to do in the vicinity.

Overall it was a good place to stay for a few nights. The beach let it down - but again that's not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you Kieran for your kind review following your stay at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort. It's been lovely reading your feedbacks as this allows us to appraise our product continually. Glad you enjoyed the room facilities & food/prices offered as our staffs have put in a lot of effort for quality improvement. As for the beach at this time, we can continue to have clean-up campaigns as we have noted in an earlier comment the need for this. We have just finished a major general clean-up last Wednesday, i.e. 1st of May from all the management & staffs and other organizations have contributed in their own campaigns to keep this public beach clean & free from waste disposals. Weather looks to be clearing up and we hope to bring in clearer waters & sand soon. Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, and the best thing about this place is the very friendly staff at the restaurant. Very lovely ladies!
I stayed in the 8 bed girls dorm, and have nothing bad to say about it. Comfy beds, convenient lockers for your stuff. All in all, quite nice.

There are however a lot of not so great things about this place.
Even though I knew this wasn't the best part of Fiji, I guess I still expected a great beach and a bit of island atmosphere. Big mistake! I have never seen a filthier beach in my life! Water was brown and dirty, and it is impossible to go for a walk down the beach without stepping on broken glass from bottles scattered all over, car tires half buried in the brown dirty looking sand, fabric pieces and old fishing nets. I am well travelled, and I have never come across anything like this before. The mountains make a beautiful backdrop, but the state of the beach completely ruined it for me. Such a shame.

Also, don't be fooled by the cheap room rates. The price for a bed is the only thing about this "resort" that screams 'backpacker'. The restaurant is by no means cheap, and since there are no shops or supermarkets around, you will be forced to pay their prices.

The Kavaholics band is great! They play a few nights a week, and are really fun. Free kava and great music.

All in all, great for a short stay and if you don't expect much.
Next time I go to Fiji, I'll be spending more money somewhere else to get clear blue water and sandy beaches!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks Sarah for taking the time to put your review following your stay with us. The staffs are very grateful for your kind words. Your feedbacks continue to motivate our hard working staffs in their daily tasks and extra efforts taken. It was also very rewarding reading your kind feedback of our amenities, thank you. We regret that you could not find more choices with our restaurant menu selections. As you may have noticed, we run a mid-range market accommodation providing not only for budget but also for upmarket travelers like business clients & families looking for more than comfortable rooms that has a bit more character with in-house programs, helpful staffs, activities, etc, and also demand high quality food, thus the orders & menus made to cater and accommodate costs. We are already working on more options for the budget traveler and especially vegetarian dishes as we are most renowned for our pasta & pizzas. There are also other hotel restaurants that are located nearby for other options other than the "Ghostship Bar & Grill".
We are located within a Bay and thus water & beach continues to change according to the tide and weather giving us sometimes the best and clearest of beaches and sometimes not, as many can attest to this with their own experiences and pictures. This 2km stretch of sand is also the longest & only ideal public picnic that holds annual/monthly sport events among others in the Nadi Region. Whilst our local authorities contribute with sanctions to keep this beach clean we cannot control public use with littering, etc, however we have put monthly clean-up campaigns in order to put some control with the general clean-up. The next one is scheduled for Wednesday, 1st of May and many of our stayers also participate. We do hope that you will come back to Fiji and have the opportunity to see & experience our beautiful smaller outer islands at a little extra cost but will be worth it. Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a premium room which was really nice. Queen bed, private bathroom, air conditioning and a fan. Complimentary breakfast was a nice touch, though you get sick of toast and jam very quickly. The staff are all nice enough, just not very friendly. I know this isn't the top of the line but they just seemed down ... mostly the front of house staff. The housekeepers were all lovely, as were the servers.
Food was good, although not much options for vegetarians. Stick to the pizza, the garden salad was awful.
All in all it was good, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smmcd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks bynx1234 for taking the time to put your review following your stay at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort. We thank you for your fair recount of our amenities as this helps us evaluate ourselves constantly. We always give the credit to our hard working staffs for making the difference as they create the atmosphere and go the extra mile to make you our guests feel at home. We do have a lot of new staffs and trainees at the moment as we are going towards our busy season and we will try our best to promote and boost their spirits to be reflected in their attitudes & everyday tasks. The best teaching is always to lead by example and we hope & look forward to seeing and hearing a lot more of the "Smugglers Spirit" in the future. We have put forward your review and the chefs & kitchen department are currently reviewing their food items and especially to create more vegetarian options. Thank you again for your review effort which is much appreciated. Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed a week and enjoyed this place. It's pretty isolated but the place has pretty much everything you need. Beds were comfortable and clean. Staff were amazing and really made this place. Shame they are grossly underpaid so I ask fellow travellers to tip well. If DOE got wind of what they are earning then the place would be forced to close!!

Menu is extensive to cater for most, although inconsistant with seasoning, taste and portion sizes - club sandwich tiny for around $20 FJD yet burger bigger for the same price. Hardly saw any vegetables and the only fruit available was banana - fruit and veg something that a lot of people were asking for. Breakfast was basic - only banana, small white toast with margerine/strawberry jam only, porridge or cornflakes.

Pool refreshing (better than the sea), bar - good, entertainment - fantastic. Maybe need some more sun loungers - only counted 15. Right on the beach - perfect sunsets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwat5on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you mwat5on for your review following your stay at Smugglers Cove. We are very thankful for your kind review of our beds and the clean environment as highlighted.
We however noted your concerns regarding the staffs pay and we assure you that minimum wage rate is observed and we are paying even our trainees a wage more than is required in acknowledgement of their efforts and contribution.
We have had good feedback with our menus & pricing as well as some complaints but there's an overall balance we need to observe as we cater a mid-range market and need to order ingredients to cater top-notch meals thus the wide variety of options offered in our menus. Our free continental breakfast with mostly essentials are complimentary to our very affordable room rates and other cooked big breakfasts are also offered from the menu breakfast board at extra costs and also affordable & cheaper than the normal & room service menus. We however have taken into consideration some of your points with portions you highlighted for further discussion to at least be able to give more options for the budget traveler. We have put more orders to purchase more chairs and lounges and hopefully we can get another opportunity to accommodate you again so you can attest to this. Thank you and vinaka vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in smugglers cove for 3 nights in total it was a basic hotel but the staff are lovely! And the food is really good and cheap not to mention the perfect setting right on the beach with a beautiful sunset and a pool!! We stayed in a 34 bed dorm which was brilliant and met so many nice people not the best for catching a good nights sleeps and is very basic and cramped but we enjoyed it and it wasn't dirty! There was a fan and aircon so the room was nice and cool. The only downside was there was only power outlets in the bathroom and bar area which isn't ideal with so many people. I Wouldn't choose to come back and stay but happily would for one night or two stop over before going island hoping!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie T, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks charxcx for your kind review following your stay at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort. We are very thankful for your fair recount of all amenities & characteristics we offer at the resort and within our big Pirates Dorm. Smugglers Cove is usually used as a base & recommended by many as you have as well which is a great achievement in itself. We are renowned as the "Hub" in Nadi for not only island hopping but networking - the place to be like our slogan, to meet new people and make friends with travelers to other global destinations and locals as well. We hope to be able to accommodate you again and may we recommend our smaller 4-bed & 8-bed dorms that have more privacy and amenities than the Big Pirates Dorm. Apart from having their own lockers, reading lights & linens, the rooms are more intimate, custom made & ideal for friends sharing room at a more affordable rate with power point in the room as well as the en-suite. Thanks again & Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
10.2 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing