We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Suprise”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are used to staying in the upscale Denerau area...we had a last minute layover in Fiji on our way back from the States. We arrived at the airport at 5am and didn't know what to do. We went onto Orbitz and basically grabbed the cheapest room with an ensuite that we could find. We were so pleased to be given a room upon arrival without extra charge and breakfast as well. 6am checkin, breakfast, a comfortable bed, clean room, lovely staff and right on the ocean front. Great value for money and absolutely recommend to others,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank courtney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you Courtney for your kind review following your stay at Smugglers Beach resort. We are really glad you stumbled across us and had the opportunity to experience our amenities first hand. We are still registered as a Budget Accommodation provider [4-Star Backpacker] however, we are continually upgrading & acquiring/refurbishing small facilities to offer mid-range comfortable & modern accommodation to attract other independent travelers like yourself. Last year we won our category in the Tourism Excellence Award for Budget Accommodation after trial & error and we are looking to expand our horizons to offer up-market facilities - this plan is already in progress. We also put value in our staffs as they create the atmosphere and no matter where you stay, atmosphere & extra efforts like you highlighted do make the difference. We hope to be able to accommodate you again sometime in the near future. Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    295
    179
    82
    61
See reviews for
75
276
176
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First time we have been to Fiji and we stayed at Smuggler's for the entire time. We arrived about 10 days after the cyclone and there was still some cleaning up going on outside but the rooms were very clean and nice. We stayed both in an Ocean View Room for a few nights and then a Balcony Room for the remaining time and they were both in very good condition with great facilities. If you can afford it go for the Balcony Room because you can sit there and watch it all happen whilst having a drink or two and something to nibble on.

There is nightly entertainment from Fire dancing to Kava nights and the food and drinks are all (and we tried pretty much everything) very nice. Head Chef Rakesh is a Grand Master in the Kitchen and he looked after my partner's food allergy needs with great care. Ase, the delightful lady that works the tour desk is also amazing and can help you with anything you want to do while you're staying in Fiji.

All in all we were very pleased with our stay at Smuggler's. Other people have mentioned slow service, but you're in Fiji.... what's the hurry??? It's all about Fiji time... you're on holiday.... relax and enjoy it!

Room Tip: A Balcony Room or Ocean View Room in the main building is recommended. The only drawback of the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Bula Chobis, our thanks & gratitude for your review and rating on Trip Advisor considering this was still a recovery period after the cyclone.
We are very glad you & your partner enjoyed our services - it comes as no surprise that our head chef went out of his way to accommodate your partner's food allergy as he has experience and it's a usual practice that we extend & attend to our guests personally as being a smaller resort we have the advantage & are happy to accommodate even the smallest request provided we are notified. Really glad this made a difference toy our travel.
The nightly programs are scheduled to entertain you our guest's and we have variety of themes each day to interest you especially for long stayers such as yourself to find something to look forward to at the end of each day. Ase is also an asset to this organisation since it's opening and we are mighty glad you enjoyed her services as well. We look forward to another opportunity to accommodate you maybe in the near future. Vinaka vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have never complained before in all my travels but this place is definetly not the place to stay if wish for a dream holiday.
Over priced, service terrible, over charged, if it was in Australia it would be closed down due to lack of hygiene,

Staff on tour desk very rude especially Ase,their personal lives were more important,attending to guests was an effort.

Was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
BUla Leanne,
We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy our services & our products whilst staying at Smugglers Cove Beach resort. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we know you were greatly disappointed as you came on quite strong however your not responding to our inquiries to investigate further raises a lot of questions as to the nature and basis of your review. We are still awaiting further details from you as we would like to investigate further and get to the bottom of this to possibly avoid further disappointments from our future guests.

Kindly note, our kitchen/restaurant was recently appraised by our appointed authorities and even though our local system may differ from the Australian in so many ways, we still have to go through evaluation processes to be approved to operate. Moreover, we have been operating for over 6 years and have consistently followed through with requirements & regulations to be able to remain in operation. Ase from our Tour Desk is one of our most experienced and oldest staffs and her experience and character has come highly recommended by most of our guests and others that have used her services. We deeply regret that you experienced another side to her character. We have tightened up on departments involved with improved services but again this is mostly speculation and we cannot move forward without any further details from you.
Vinaka & kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived a week after the cyclone and it was back up and running. Rooms are a bit dated but it was a great place to stay for a few days. Staff were understandably a bit disorganised but this may have reflected many of them still living rough in their own homes. Restaurant and Bar were great. Pool is a bit small, just outside the bar & closes at 6pm. Sitar Restaurant (F$5 taxi trip) is well worth visiting with great Indian & Thai food.....across the road from Sitar are 2 great Chinese food restaurants.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Smugglers for four nights and then moved to Sofitel Denarau for the final part of out six night seven days Fiji Holiday. We stayed in the ocean front balcony room here, which was outstanding and that set the mood of the holiday. Smuggies (as they call it) was one of the best places I have stayed with clean rooms, great in house restaurants (though service is very slow) and friendly staff. There were many water activities I could indulge in during my stay while my husband would peacefully enjoy the views and his beer. The beach, while dark sand, is the case everywhere on the mainland. Only the scattered islands have the pristine white sand beaches. I so enjoyed my stay here, that I ended up in Sofitel disappointed with my ocean view room which only gave scanty view of the ocean from between the palms. Also being a small resort, even at a reasonable occupancy, Smugglers gives you that special secluded holiday feeling in an exotic island with some fellow tourists, as against the feeling of being in a crowd at a five star during the time of holidays. The only minus for me was the mosquitoes, I just wish they would do something about it. But all in all, great value for money and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: The ocean facing balcony rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vishwa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Smugglers Cove for 5 days around the time of Cyclone Evans, which hit this area hard. The first thing to say is that despite reported wind gusts of 200km the preparation of the staff and the extremely solid buildings made you feel extremely safe.

There's more to it than that. Even with power out, staff managed to provide hot meals at every meal (we had a rather nice chicken fried rice during the worse of the cyclone), information about what was happening and remain friendly and calm.

It made for a great stay during a difficult time!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottafbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the 8 bed female sanctuary (girls only) dorm whilst travelling the room had two bathrooms and air con.

Bathroom wasn't the cleanest but fine when travelling. The breakfast includes was basic but you could pay extra and get food such as omelettes. Nice pool and beach right infront of hotel was a real plus.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,067 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
14.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing