We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely for a layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely for a layover”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights due to an unexpected layover from Sydney to LA. I found the hotel from a hotel information area in the Nadi Airport, and the hotel's shuttle took about 15 minutes to arrive. Be warned, some of the rooms accommodate multiple backpackers (who may or may not know each other), so I was sure to ask for a private room. The staff were helpful, have a little giftshop in the lobby, took my bags up and connected international calls to my room right away. The restaurant area has lovely views and lots of people hung out there in the hammock reading during the day. I took a public bus (interesting experience) to the town for some exploring. It is right on the beach and they store your bags in a locked room downstairs if you have a late departure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Bula Hannah, Many thanks for your response and comments. Smugglers Cove Beach Resort is a Budget Boutique accommodation and we try our best to cater for all market sectors thus the Dorm categories and Private Room categories to suit each traveler's needs and wants. We are very glad we were able to showcase you our product & services and look forward to the near future to have another opportunity to do so. Apart from FREE luggage storage that you enjoyed, we have other courtesy services offered with the main object to cater for our guest's comfort and convenience and being part of Fiji as a whole portraying our Hospitable nature. We do hope to have you back in Fiji again.
Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    291
    177
    80
    60
See reviews for
74
273
175
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Spent 2 nights here just as stop over from the yasawa islands and both times were great. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was lovely...bunk beds with clean bedding, A/C, ensuite bathroom. The restaurant and bar are pretty good, breakfast was included and the hotel is right on the beach front. Its affordable for backpackers but has a relaxed feel about it.
The beach was nice...but no way as good as the beaches you get on the islands.
A lovely place to start/end your trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
BUla Stef, Thank you for taking the time to express your views & experiences about your stay at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort. Like our slogan "the place to be" we are located just 7-8km away from Nadi International airport right on the Beach and has the perfect ideal near-island ambiance setting you can get before experiencing our beautiful smaller outer islands. We do our best and strive to provide basic but best facilities/utilities you may have missed out on your tropical experience and credit to our staffs combined efforts to maintain the atmosphere when finishing off your stay in Fiji again here at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort.

We hope to have the opportunity again to accommodate you both in the near future and again Vinaka Vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 weeks just before christmas, We originally booked to stay in the 34 bed dorm, however when we arrived they upgraded us to a 4 share dorm, which was really nice. It was a fair sized room, with 2 bunk beds and a ensuite shower and air con facilties. The hostel itself feels far more resort like which for the price about $15 FJD a night is fantastic value for money. The hostel is located on the beach, with swimming pool facilities and a restaurant, where they serve really generous portions for a small amount, we ate at a few different hostels in Nadi but this was by far the best place to eat. The only niggle we had was the staff were sometimes not the most helpfull, however saying that the woman Ase, in charge of trips and tours desk was absolutly brilliant, her customer service was fantastic and she literally new everything about the islands, the best place to visit, best attractions and flights etc. She got us some great deals on Island day trips and also sorted our friends out with brilliant island hoping packages. Overall I would stay at the hostel again, it is a really friendly place that is a hostel but feels like a resort.

Room Tip: If you are backpacking as we were, dont book your Island hoping before you go do it when you get her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've stayed at Smugglers Cove twice. Both times I was with friends and really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are akin to motel standards but are very clean. Staff are friendly and very helpful. There is always music or cultural performances in the evening. Restaurant is ok, would recommend to go to Denarau Marina for better restaurants. Would definitely recommend young people to stay here, not exactly a family oriented hotel. Mainly backpackers and younger clientele here. Bear in mind, the hotel is located on a beach but it is not the cleanest beach and I would recommend you to swim in it either!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has an ocean view and on the third level (less noise from bar and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninnynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Smuggler's is located at Wailoaloa Beach in Nadi, a residential-style neighborhood with several other hotels. One of the benefits is that you can walk around and food/shows/activities from any of the hotels. POSITIVES: The rooms at Smuggler's aren't a bad deal- we got a nice room with aircon and balcony, plus free breakfast for about $75 US. Breakfast is a decent continental-style buffet. The place has a new, clean feel about it. Staff here are professional and efficient. NEGATIVES: Food and drinks here are expensive. You're better off eating/drinking at the surrounding hotels. Smuggler's has kind of cheesy shows at night. The staff are professional, but can come off almost as cold and impersonal. Personally, I would stay at Bamboo (right across the street), because it is cheaper and has a friendlier feel about it. You can always walk across the street to watch the shows at smugglers or sit on the beach. But Smuggler's isn't bad either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnookums P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Dull, depressing, they close everything in the evening, not even possible to enter the beach, no music, bar closed 10, we got a very little room, not possible to open window, no view at all but a dull back yard. Although we booked a swit with twin beds, ocean front and view. And we also paid a lot. Terrible place. Maybe for back packers, not for elderly. So extremely disapointed. Also very dirty under the beds. Stayed in Bedarra inn earlier. Very good!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here with some friends before heading off to the islands the next morning. We did not have any ferry reservations and the staff took care of everything. The restaurant is right on the beach and we enjoyed a kava ceremony from some locals. The rooms were spacious and the ferry bus to the islands picks guests up every morning at Smugglers. The best place to stay in Fiji before getting off the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTroTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#10 of 26 in Nadi
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing