We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and extremely helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value and extremely helpful staff!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here with some friends before heading off to the islands the next morning. We did not have any ferry reservations and the staff took care of everything. The restaurant is right on the beach and we enjoyed a kava ceremony from some locals. The rooms were spacious and the ferry bus to the islands picks guests up every morning at Smugglers. The best place to stay in Fiji before getting off the mainland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTroTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    291
    177
    80
    60
See reviews for
74
273
175
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had a fantastic room in the new block of Smugglers Cove and it was perfect; the air con is great for people wanting to acclimatise slowly to the Fiji humidity. There is a small pool good for a dip although often quite crowded. The staff are very friendly and there is lots to do during the day. They try to get you involved in activities if you want to but not if you just want to sunbathe. The food is expensive for what it is and there aren't any good restaurants within walking distance but the staff are happy to help you get a taxi into town. All in all a perfectly nice place to stay for a few days, which is all most people spend in Nadi anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block, that way you are away from the dorm which we were told was quite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuttyalmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here two different times. The most recent time the staff was very rude to us. The guy working the front desk, who was just voted best employee treated us like crap. The food was not good, and when we found several hair in our food, they expected us to eat around it. The room is clean but that's about all I can say good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdub0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, General Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
I thank you for your review and we take pride in our returnee guests such as yourself. I do apologize on behalf of our former ‘Staff of the Month’ for his out of character rudeness and can assure you that the matter will not be taken lightly. As for the hair in your food, it is difficult to believe that one would be expected to eat around something like that! However, I do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Kindly note we have 4 assigned staff who clean the beach every morning and will continue to do so for the enjoyment of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We recently spent 2 nites in Smuggler's Cove, Nadi and while the staff proved to be very friendly and helpful and the room had a nice comfy bed with air-conditoning, drinking-water was fine, continental breakfast was filling, we were however let-down by:

1) no view - Rm 411
2) paper thin walls where we could hear the neighbours having a domestic at 3 am - not good if you're catching a plane the next morning.
3) a really small tv with only 2 channels and one of them fuzzy.
4) a shower with green in it, and the shower plug-hole blocked up in the bathroom.

Don't get me wrong, it's not the cleaner's fault that the room hasn't been maintained very well and we understand that they could only do so much to make the bathroom look presentable.
Glad we read another persons review as they don't provide face cloths and we took our own but we did get fresh towels the next day, so that was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafolaefenoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

ive stayed at smugglers twice, once in the dorm rooms and a second time in the private rooms. both experiences have been great! the hotel is quiet when youre in your room, but there is always something going on outside! most of the other hostels and hotels send their quests to smugglers for something to do. there is nightly entertainment as well as a big screen for sports and happy hours. the female dorms have ensuites, and the privates have A/C which can come in handy on hot fiji days! the private rooms do have a television but only with 2 channels even though they advertise having sattelite in them. the location is great too, right on the beach, close to bars and the gift shop is really cheap! staff is wonderful too, super friendly

Room Tip: the deluxe privates are nice, they have a view pf the ocean but that just means you can see it.. not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank findmeontheplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I would recommend this place as it is very clean and the staff are helpful but if you are staying in the dorm be prepared to be woken up by the staff turning the light on and starting to clean at 8.30am. If you want to go to the shops to get a snack you will have to get a taxi there because this place is kind of in the middle of nowhere. Food here is good but a bit more expensive than the rest of Fiji.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lewis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Not much to do in that area, Bamboo, over the road, is a better place because it has free wifi and cheap food..even a $1 coke machine! Smugglers is pretty expensive for what it is but food is nice, staff friendly and kavaholics, a fijian band, are amazing. Some people had problems with water. That is just unfortunate and depends on each individual. If you think you might have a problem take purification tablets. simple. But there really is nothing wrong with it. It is all just rain water and I drunk it for the 2 months I was in Fiji and never had a single problem. If you are in Fiji for more than a few days, its not the best place to stay due to lack of activities and not the nicest beach in Fiji. Pacific coast is the nicest place to stay on the main land so any hotel along there and if your a back packer do the beachouse! amazing place!

Room Tip: I went in a 4 bed room. nicer than a dorm If you ever get a taxi, ask for it on the meter because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niccy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#10 of 26 in Nadi
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing