We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$68
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$94
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$103
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropic of Capricorn(Nadi)(Great Value!)
$31
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluewater Lodge(Nadi)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
173
316
196
89
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
316
196
89
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmugglers covefire dancersevening entertainmentisland hoppingfree breakfasttravel deskkava nightfiji timeocean viewtour deskother islandscouple of nightswailoaloa beachdouble roombar and restaurantnadi townshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 845 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were looking for a good deal for 7 nights, as base for visiting friends. We had a nice balcony room overlooking the pool and sea. There was everything we needed. As were away each day it was nice to have resort experience in the evening, with the restaurant and the entertainment. Although it was sometimes very noisy we didn't mind as we were on holiday, and so tired could sleep through everything. It was modern and clean and the service in the restaurant and hotel very good, The food was good and the breakfast which was included in the price was good, with lots of fresh fruit, which was what we wanted. A nice time. It was so easy to hop on a bus to town, and later when had a car, we felt we had the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: If you want quiet don't take a front balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank aimtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a private twin. Dorm doesn't look good. 2 nights was enough really. Good for meeting people

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

When I arrived In Nadi my transport took me to my hotel. upon checking in my "premium room" led me to a cramped corner room next to the cleaners closet. and my beach view room had a view of the gravel filled carpark. The second night I found my room infested with tiny spiders. a quick call to reception and they whisked me up to the luxury apartment on the top floor for the night. in the morning they moved me finally to a nice room with a view of the ocean for no extra charge.
the only other bad points were that you only get 1 free breakfast included, but otherwise the staff were exceptionally friendly, the nightly entertainment was great, especially the Kava nights. (great way to make friends if travelling alone) the tour desk will help you book all sorts of day trips and overnight stays all over the country. food was great though a little pricey.
all in all Id say its a lovey place to stay, close to Nadi town ($8 taxi ride or $1 bus ride) any problems and the staff are willing to help you, and will answer any questions about fiji.
a great base to relax after trips out to the islands, and just sit on the beach watching the sunset while drinking amazing cocktails (or delicious Vonu lager) and I would definately stay there again (though I'd book directly and make sure I get an ocean view next time rather than through a travel agent.)

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly to organise an
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikkcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here straight off the plane and again the night before we flew out. The airport pick up was handy but they waited until they had a full bus before leaving, an organised taxi would have been more expensive but worth it. Staff were very helpful, we stayed on the old side and the new side, the new side was of a much higher standard. Location on the beach is good and pleasant, and food served is a little expensive but nice. No negative points, but no reason to choose it again over all others in the area. Everyone in Fiji seems to know about smugglers cove, which may make it easier to organise transfers.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Smugglers Cove

My partner and I stayed in the Pirates Dorm. Our first night in the dorm went like any other; it was upon waking up that things went very sour and led to the most ridiculous day of the entire trip up to now (of over 4 months) We were woken up by staff and told we had to leave the room now. The man told us that there was a ‘problem with the room’. We didn’t have time to ask questions as he shot off straight away.

We obliged and packed our things and headed to the reception a little confused. We were told that there was an issue with bedbugs and we would have to move rooms for one night before returning. Fair enough we thought, it shouldn’t be too much hassle. The female member of staff told us that we had to move to the next building to another room and that we had to take all our bags up to the roof for the housemaids to check.

We realised that we did have a fair few bedbug bites on the both of us. We were sure it wasn’t us who had brought the bugs as we had been in Fiji for three weeks and always stayed in nicer places in private double rooms. This was our first dorm in Fiji, and we had gotten bites.

A man from the reception came with us to the new building. He took us to our new room and put our bags in there. When we told him that we thought we had to take our bags to the roof he said, ‘No its fine now you don’t need to’. We questioned his response as we didn’t want to bring any bedbugs into our new room and infect the new room. He hesitated and stumbled and had no idea what to say. He left and we decided to go up to the roof to see what was happening. It turned out that nothing was happening and the roof was empty.

We returned to the reception in the first building getting a little annoyed with the situation. We were told again that we did indeed have to take our things to the roof for the housemaids to see. When we told them that no one was up there we were told to follow a small female cleaner back to the roof. We got back to our new room to collect our bags and realised it had started raining. We asked the lady what was going to happen. She again hesitated, and said she would go ask. We waited for 15 minutes with no return. We never saw her again.

Another reception visit was met with the same incompetent staff that didn’t know what was actually happening. After around 10 minutes of our questions being answered with blank looks, the receptionist picked up the phone and let us speak to the head housekeeper. We were getting quite annoyed by this stage. My partner was insistent that some clear action be taken. The woman on the phone told her that they had checked the beds last night and there were no bugs, and today there are, therefore it is our fault! (If it was only us, then how did they know to evacuate the room, as we were asleep in our beds?) Obvious lies when she didn’t know what to say. We were told that she would come and sort it out.

Luckily for the staff, the rain passed and their ‘strategy’ could continue.

The head housekeeper was able to talk to us better and provide answers, but only in the fact that her answers were lies. I asked where everyone else in the dorm had gone and why no one’s stuff was on the roof. She told us that everyone else had checked out. All 30 of them? Yeah, right. We’d seen several of them ourselves wandering around the resort since leaving the dorm and heard two at the reception asking what they should do with their bags in connection with the bedbugs. I also told her that the small housekeeper had just disappeared on us earlier, she let out a smile before hiding it and told us that she ‘had some problems and had to go home’.

Upon hearing these blatant lies we started to get agitated and so when we got to the empty roof again we said we knew that other people were still here and why has no one else come up. (We knew the answer: because the guy who helped moved the bags across to the new rooms told them all not to bother and keep their bags, just like he did with us.) Obviously she wasn’t going to admit fault so she then told us that we were the only ones who had bedbugs and everyone else was fine! It’s pretty irrelevant who actually brought bedbugs in but we were fairly sure that we didn’t as we had just stayed in a private double room for five nights in a nice resort on the Coral Coast and had no bites at all. To be told that only we had caused this was pure conjecture, not to mention downright rude. If it was only us who were infected then who made them aware that the room had bedbugs, as it wasn’t us? Plus they hadn’t even had time yet to check all 32 beds and find out which had bugs or not.

We spent the next hour having to empty our backpacks to hang all our clothes up on a washing line which would apparently get rid of any bugs. We asked if we could get some tokens for the washing machines to perhaps wash/dry them to get rid of any bugs. We were told we would have to pay for the tokens.

We decided to use the internet to find out if just hanging our clothes up in 20 degree C heat with passing rain would do anything. It turns out that gradual temperature increase would help them spread and only heat of over 45 degrees Celsius would kill them off. We were told that we and the articles online we all wrong. We decided to get our clothes back down and pay the 12 dollars to wash them ourselves anyway.

Our new 4 bed dorm had a broken bathroom light that meant you were in total darkness. That took over an hour and around 4 requests to be sorted. We had to go back and forth to the reception about 10 times to complain. The staff never once apologised and treated us like an inconvenience. We didn’t like having to complain, we often put it off for a while as we didn’t want to go back again and again.

Our entire day was spent messing around dealing with around 8 different members of incompetent staff, all because we were the only ones to question the process of just moving our possibly infected things to a new room without treating them with anything. Everyone else just moved their things to a new dorm for one night and then moved back to the main dorm. We insisted that we stay in the new 4 bed dorm as we could see what would happen in the main dorm again.

It was 3:30pm in the afternoon when we finally got to sit down in our new beds. What a day in paradise.

The sign on the Pirate Dorm door said that it was closed due to a planned monthly procedure to check for bugs. If it was planned and monthly - why book everybody in the room and make them leave in the morning? We’ve never seen a place so full of lies.

We were told that it was an on-going problem at Smugglers Cove and it happens a lot. We can see why, as they have no idea whatsoever on how to deal with the situation. Nobody was in charge or had a clear strategy on what to do. We ourselves could see how their method wasn’t going to solve the problem but we were then lied to and accused of being the source of the problem, which still doesn’t actually solve it.

The next day we saw a housemaid come to change the sheets of the 2 opposite beds in our new dorm. The sheets were changed but the actual duvet cover was not changed at all; it was just folded back up for the new customer. This is bad in any resort on hygiene & cleanliness grounds, but this is especially bad in the current situation concerning bedbugs in the hostel.

We would not recommend staying at Smugglers Cove purely because after the smiley ‘Bula!’ the staff are a collective disaster; they’re incompetent, rude, have zero customer service skills & lie to get around issues.

Room Tip: free wifi and cheaper alcohol across the road at bamboo which is a more fun hostel anyway.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floviti, Director of Sales at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Bula Baller T & T Diddy,
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. The issue of bed bugs has only been of concern to us 4 months of late. Since we have a high turnover of Guests in the Pirates dorm, we steam spray the dorms, mattresses and bed frames at least 4 times a month if occupancy allows. The jist of what I get from your complaint is that you were LIED to and intentionally taken for a ride. Please allow me to reinstate, that as much as we admit that all our staff do not share 100% literacy skills, they all are genuine at heart. At times because some a shy, they cannot effectively communicate.

While we do apologise for the inconvenience of having to move, note that it was 10am was check-out time and you were still asleep. So you were kindly UPGRADED to a more private dorm because it was ESSENTIAL that we continued our bed bugs eradication. Also, we apologise for the different feedbacks you were getting from staff. The housekeeper responsible to move you had to excuse herself due to personal reasons. She rushed home and did not effectively handover your move to her colleagues.

Just for your information, we had only 4 occupants in the larger dorm that day, including the 2 of you and not 30 like you presumed it to be. Our records which are legal source documents are a testament to this. For hygiene issues you have bought up, thank you immensly. We will follow-up with the staff concerned.

We are essentially sorry for your experience. We do hope that you will visit us again when time and tide permits. We wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews