We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central, good base for day trippers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand West's Villas
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, central, good base for day trippers”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in a basic economy room for the last leg of our honeymoon - we'd already spent 6 nights at a resort beforehand.

It was a great place to stay while we did a few day trips - most of the tours pick you up from the front gates, and it's only a short taxi ride to restaurants, shops, various sights. Make sure your cab driver has the meter going OR agree on a price before you drive off ;-)

We didn't want 5 star accommodation because we were busy each day on sight-seeing trips - the price and location really suited our purpose well.

GENERAL: The room was clean and neat. The kettle was a bit bodge but the bar fridge & kitchen sink were good. The bathroom small but clean and functional - I'm seriously mould-a-phobic & am pleased to report that there was NO mould what-so-ever! At all! YAY! The showers work well with adequate water pressure and temperature too. The aircon worked well (YAY!) and the pool was lovely as well. Joanna at the tour desk was very helpful with our day trip bookings & quite informative. It was obvious that the villas have been there for a while because the grounds are lush with beautiful & well established gardens. We weren't expecting much but actually had a good stay there! Thanks for that, guys!

AIRPORT LOCATION: Yes, it's close to the airport runway but you only hear the planes for about 30 seconds when they land or take off and, seriously, it's not that bad. I slept really really well there. Our room was close to the main gate which is furthest from the runway anyway, so we barely noticed them at all unless we were swimming in the pool.

ONSITE BOUTIQUE/SOUVENIR SHOP: Meh... it's run by an outside business. The owner doesn't have set trading hours. When she IS there, she can be PRETTY pushy (as a lot of the retailers there can be) and also runs 2 stalls at the markets in Nadi Town. Do yourself a favour... Take a trip into Nadi Town main street if you want to do souvenir shopping ;-)

GROCERY SHOP: a definite plus! If you turn right on the road as you exit the main gate, it's only a short 2 min walk to the small corner store. There you can purchase basic food, snacks, beverages, alcohol etc at fairly reasonable prices. We went there quite a few times during our short stay :-) their prices for Fiji Gold / Vonu etc are excellent compared to resort prices ;-)

ONSITE RESTAURANT: Food good, hours unreliable... we ate there once, had a few drinks at the bar twice but on the second night we went down there for dinner just before 8pm only to find it closed (it's supposed to be open til 9pm at least...) The good news is that Grand Wests Villas is not too far from decent & reliable restaurants (FJ$5 cab ride) so we didn't go there again for dinner. Don't take it the wrong way - the food there was cooked well & tasty but we westerners are fond of regular trading hours!

STAFF: we found all of the staff to be polite and helpful with all of the requests we had - certainly no complaints there!

OVERALL: We're quite happy with our stay - it was a good price with good facilities & a good location... If you're looking for a base which is close to Nadi so you can go day tripping then come back to a good shower & a comfortable bed... This place will suit your needs :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    25
    11
    27
See reviews for
74
23
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is gradually in decline. Had a one bed appartment which smelled musty and mouldy.
Carpets were dirty .An astmathics nightmare. Furniture was dated and staff indifferent to your presence.. Would get much better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Richmond, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This one pleasantly surprised me. Above what I expected.

It's right behind the airport so expect to hear the odd 747 go overhead.
Rooms are great, Beds are great and best of all is the very large pool which was nice and clean. The pool is also rare in that it's deep - hard to find pools at motels you can actually swim in nowadays.Just beware the concrete water slide though - it's a bruise maker!

The restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. Why would you fly 14h to LA when you can do a whistle stop in Nadi at this joint?

Only problems we found were with the kitchen in the apartment. I had not been properly cleaned when we arrived, and it was missing a number of basics eg. dishcloths, matches, cutlery etc which we had to chase them up for. Also there's only one aircon (upstairs) - could have done with a second one downstairs.

All in all, well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the road behind the airport to New Town Beach, this is a straightforward travel hotel useful for passing the night before catching a flight or ferry the next morning. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, perfect for a family with two kids, clean, minimally furnished with somewhat dated material. The television happened not to work in our room, but everything else was functional, including a kitchenette.

It is about a 5 minute drive to the main Nadi road, from which <10 minutes to the left is the airport and >10 minutes to the right is Denarau. We arrived after dinner, had breakfast in the room, and left so we didn't even see the pool or interact with staff, so no comment on that.

For the price range, I prefer Tokatoka hotel, directly opposite the airport (see separate review)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stian91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I really enjoed this place. A few little negatives first - It is only about 1km as the crow flies from the airport so yes, you certainly hear the jets. No big deal though as Nadi is not busy anf it's not 'dead of the night' stuff. No worries! The rooms could do with being painted a semi matt white to brighten them and are poorly lit in that the fittings are thick glass, mounted against the ceilings. New, open fittings with good refection would mke a huge difference, especially for reading. Don't get me wrong though, the rooms are good. It's not on a beach so you can't gaze out to sea. I had 10 nights in a very clean one bedroom unit and got a toaster on request and would have liked an electric frypan but none available.

But - Great pool. Beautiful grounds. Good restaurant, albeit small. $10 taxi ride into Nadi town and 20 minutes to Port Denarau. 3km from the airpot. Quite private balcony/patio. Convenience store a two minute amble away for your morning paper, limited groceries and alcohol with a Kava pounding plant attached. Ten minute amble from a beautiful white sand beach, neck deep the water was tepid and perfect sandy floor. The entire staff are just wonderful, from maids to reception to tour desk to security to restaurant & bar, really great.

As an aside, I struck a very good taxi driver and used him for a 3 hour tor plus twice into Nadi. Loves rugby & cricket. Mani phone 934 5455.

For some reason I was unable to upload photos even though all were well under the 5MB guideline.

Room Tip: Upstairs has the nice garden vews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MervRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

First we must say that we only spent a few hours here, so our rating is purely based on our experiences and observations during this time. Our plane was undergoing maintenance so the airline put us up at the hotel and included a meal and drink at the restaurant.
We found the staff to be average. A staff member gave us the key and pointed to the general direction of our room. Had to work the key and hold our tongue in the right place to unlock the door. It was dark when we arrived and when we got into the unit the first thing we noticed was the smell, kind of an older musty type smell. The lighting was very poor inside the unit. bedrooms are upstairs and seemed quite modern.
The main thing you will notice is the very loud noises of the ever present planes flying very close over and landing beside this establishment, so if there is flights during sleeping hours then this would definately be an issue.

On a good note. . .

There was 2 staff on at the restaurant, who were working very hard to keep up with all the orders from our fellow passengers who were also sent here while the plane was under maintenance. So the service was understandably slow but when we got our food it was pretty good and we appreciated their great effort during the stress they were under at this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The room was a good size, but the shower was very small. Nice view of the gardens from our balcony and great food served at the restaurant for a decent price. The room could have been a bit cleaner, but for the price I think it was a good value. Our room also had A/C for those hot fiji days/nights.10 min ($10FJ) into Nadi town, but give this area a miss if you can. It's a huge tourist trap and shop owners will drag you off the street into their shops if your not carefull. There are a few nice places to eat and supermarket near the hotel (maybe 5 min by taxi, or a 20 min walk).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CrocodilHuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.3 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.7 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.6 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#11 of 25 in Nadi
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand West's Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand West's Villas

Property: Grand West's Villas
Address: Newtown Beach Road, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand West's Villas)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand West's Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private retreat, Hexagon Group of Hotels newest addition - BEST WESTERN Grand West's Villas, with its casually elegant atmosphere. At the Villas you can enjoy your "home away from home" with the convenience of our hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand West's Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grand West`s Villas Hotel Nadi
Grand West Hotel
Grand West's Villas Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing