We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Fiji experience!”
Review of Club Fiji Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Fiji Resort
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor as the feedback was mixed. I'm really glad I made the choice to stay there as it was one of the best hotel experiences that I've had. This is not a 4 or 5 star resort, so if that's what you want, you better look elsewhere. This place is the closest experience you will have to living in a Fiji hut, with water views, plenty of Coconut palms, double hammocks swinging between them, and beach umbrellas made of palm leaves. It was extremely relaxing, the staff were excellent and the food was reasonably priced and excellent. Oh, and the cocktails are fantastic and quite cheap! Yes the road to the resort is bad - so what? Yes, on sunset there are toads hopping along the pathway to your Hut - so what? I've got a frog phobia and I survived! Didn't spoil my experience at all. I can highly recommend this place if you want to relax, pay fair prices for your meals and cocktails, and still be close enough to book all of your island hopping day trips. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 501 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2009

this was my forth stay at club fiji resort and i will be going back next year All the staff are so frendly and helpfull the cleaners EMMA and mela just great cookie and his country and western xtra good hope they are there next year

Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank furballmarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Amazing staff and place - go Henry and Cookie!!! Had a lovely time chilling out at Club Fiji resort. Great bunglaow room in the garden. A big congrats to the Aussie owners. I love Fiji Time and miss it so much being back at work :)

Love from
Liz & Kenny xxx

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizandkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Run before you get there! What a horrible place! We didn't have hot water and our bure was dirty, bug ridden and totally disgusting. We had prepaid, of course, as required but they wouldn't move us to a clean unit with hot water, even after waiting patiently for two nights. The local staff was sympathetic but the IndoFijian manager would NOT come out to talk to us. We finally left early and took a tour and we'll let the resort fight it out with our credit card company. They should be ashamed of themselves and hopefully the owners will read this and correct any problems, starting with the managers.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10sTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We have just had a 3 week stay in Fiji - we originally booked into Club Fiji for 3 nights - one at the beginning and 2 at the end.. as we wanted to see some of the other islands. We ended up coming back early from our island tours and stayed for around 10 days all in all as we loved the place so much! The staff are all helpful, friendly and so cheerful all the time. The bures are clean, comfortable and have good ameneties - really tastefully decked out! The restaurant food is delicious - it has a separate bar/pizzeria too, if you didnt want a full on meal - plus they had great theme nights.. Mongolian, Teppanyaki and BBQ.. The bar is well stocked and the service was great. Overall the place had such a good atmosphere and was always well kept - we were just so happy to be back to end our Fiji experience. John and Ellie - hats off to you guys.. you've got it 'spot on'!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottnjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed ten nights at Club Fiji based on reviews from trip advisor and an expedia deal. We had tried to email the resort to book but after sending 3 emails in 2 weeks with no responses, we just used expedia.

We booked an air-con beachfront villa. These rooms are in a two-storey building - four rooms on top floor and four rooms on the ground level. We were on the second floor and we found the walls to be extrememly thin and could always hear any neighbouring guests. We moved rooms once during the stay to get away from noisy guests.

The beach in front of the resort is strongly affected by the tides so most days the tide would be out during the day. The sand isn't the white sand you think when you think of Fiji but we knew that going into it. The water was usually pretty shallow even when the tide was in.

The resort isn't what you'd call walking distance to any other restaurants - we ate at the resort next door twice and walked for about 30 minutes down the beach to a cluster of other resorts once to eat. The food is ok but the kitchen is very very slow. We waited over an hour and a half for our meals one evening and there were only 3 tables seated. The breakfast options weren't that varied so we got groceries in town and ate in our room. The beach BBQ on Sunday was great and we usually ate from the theme menus when they had them but it wasn't always better than the regular menu.

The pizza restaurant was good and it had just reopened. The internet in the restaurant is rather pricey - best to go into town for any longer browsing, it was only FJ$2 per hour at a couple places.

The staff is generally friendly. The activities employee, Captain Ben, was great. The bartenders Henry and Cookie were also good.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The cleaning didn't seem to be done daily but if you were in your room when the cleaners came by they would ask if you wanted it cleaned.

We took the tour they offered where you go to the Lautoka Market and the Garden of the Sleeping Giant. I wouldn't recommend it. I love orchids so it was neat to see some in the garden but the garden walk only takes about fifteen minutes so to drive all that way and stay there maybe for 30 minutes max, it's not really worth it. Lautoka's market is mainly fruit and veggies so we picked up some fruit but the tour stayed there for an hour and that's way too long for what's at the market. They were charging FJ$45 per person for this tour.

We took the resort shuttle into Nadi (FJ$2.50 per person per way) but it only goes to town at 9:30am and returns at 12:30pm so it's enough time to take a little look around. If you want to go to Nadi and you miss the shuttle, a taxi is FJ$8 each way.

We found that ten nights was definitely too long because there's not really anything to do after you eat dinner unless you go into town. They had tv's you could sign out for your room but I think they planned to set up a couple movie bures so the tv's wouldn't be available for rooms after that is on the go. The bar is pretty quiet and the drinks are kind of pricey (FJ$12-14 for the fancy fruit drinks but beer could be as cheap as FJ$3 per mug during happy hour). I think a 3-5 night stay would be enough.

The grounds have a lot of hammocks and there are usually enough beach loungers for everyone. The pool is pretty cold but we were there in June so not the hottest time of your for them.

Club Fiji's website talks about scuba diving so we thought it would be easy to set some up. It was not and my husband didn't end up going because the tour desk could only recommend taking a day tour of the islands and signing up for a dive once you arrived on the island. He just wanted to get on a boat and go for a dive but all of them included meals and activities and it wasn't simply diving. We walked around Nadi and couldn't find any dive shops, only travel agents that could book dives for you. But we prefer to see the shop and see what to expect before going on a dive.

We were happy enough with our stay but wouldn't be raving about the place. It was generally clean, the people were mostly friendly and if you wanted to just read and sit in a hammock then that can certainly be done there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed four nights at Club Fiji, near Nadi. I agree with Lonely Planet that it is a good mid-range option. It's comfortable and pleasant, on the beach, with Nadi and the airport very accessible. We stayed in an ocean-front bure, which opens onto a narrow lawn and then the beach; with two rooms it was perfect for our family of 5 (it could sleep 6). The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was lots of ventilation, plus ceiling fans; for a fee you can use the AC. small fridge, electric kettle. sitting porch. The beach is better for sunning, shelling and walking than swimming because it is so wide at low tide. We saw many broken bottles there, so wear sandals.

The restaurant food was good, though not great, and the service was typical of Fiji, taking its own time... The bar was usually well-populated. Their adjacent pizza restaurant is recently renovated and has decent pizza. Restaurants nearby include Sitar and Daikoku, 5 minutes away by taxi, great food.

There is a small pool. Activities on site include kayaks, sailboat, horse riding, snorkeling, and fishing, and they can arrange tours of just about any part of the mainland. Port Denarau is about 15 minutes (F$20) taxi ride away, and has a nice little mall and is a link to many day cruises to the islands.

If you want luxury, this might not be your spot. But if you want an affordable, reasonable place with a nice view and a nice beach, and easy access to outings, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamj057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
1.2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
405 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Fiji Resort

Address: PO Box 9619 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: $59 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Fiji Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Fiji Hotel Nadi
Fiji Nadi
Hotel Fiji
Club Fiji Resort Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing