We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice beach, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquarius On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, nice beach, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We picked the right place to stay. Our deluxe room had a great unexpected ocean view, it was clean and comfortable, and the price was right. There are 4 or 5 small hotels and hostels on this section of the beach which is also used by locals and still has a very undeveloped feel to it which we loved. There is a free pancake breakfast each day which made me thankful we were only here for 3 days, but there are other options available for purchase as well. Beautiful sunsets, a nice little pool, and hammocks in the shade all added to the experience.
Aquarius isn't a 5-star hotel, it's a small independent beach hotel. If that's what you're looking for, I highly recommend it.
The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because the staff were not very helpful with booking activities. There was one staff member in particular that I had an issue with (she told us activities were sold out but when we called ourselves we were able to book), and even she was friendly, if not very competent.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room 1 is a good one - separate from the main building and pool so it's quieter than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Vinaka (thank you) for picking "the right place"! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the great value of our hotel. We have noted your comment on the breakfast (wanting more variety in the free breakfast) and your comment on our reservation staff member. We made an enquiry after your review and we have to apologise for this. She is a new staff member and there may have been some miscommunication on her part. She is in fact very competent, but may have been a bit overwhelmed on learning the new systems at our hotel when you were enquiring about tours. We are very happy to book tours for our guests and can often recommend lesser known activities that our guests find unique and of great value. We hope to host you on your next trip to our beautiful islands. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    128
    77
    18
    17
See reviews for
42
153
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Aquarius on the Beach represents what we were lookin' for: a place where to get relax,to recharge us after 6 months of Melbourne stress,in a perfect position very close to the beach but also connected to public transports and taxi services,so offerin' a simple way to move out and discoverin' indipendently the main island!! The staff is very kind, open and helpful! Perfect for modest budget but in a very comfortable hotel facilities!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your favourable comments! We're so happy that you found us to be the perfect place to relax and de-stress. We're glad that you appreciated our convenient location and the fact that our staff are very friendly and helpful. Thanks also for commenting on the good value of our hotel. We certainly hope we have the chance to host you again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed Aquarius for two days at the end of our trip, we had been to the island and my partner wanted to surf for a few days, there is a surf tour company two doors down which was really handy, meant he could surf for longer.

Aquarius has a very laid back and relaxing feel, over looking the ocean, just what we wanted before heading back home.

The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable, the air con and bar fridge are very welcomed.

The food was very nice, and the bar was quite reasonably priced (especially at happy hour) The bar and wait staff were super friendly and made an effort to remember our names.

The only feedback I could offer, would be some shade for a few sun lounges as there all in the sun, but for the price it is defiantly great value for money, being so close to the airport and the port, it's a great place to stop especially if going island hopping.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room 2 doesn't have long curtains so a lot if light comes in, I would pay the extra to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbush44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your great comments! We're always glad to hear that our guests enjoy their stay. We're happy that you appreciated the relaxing and friendly atmosphere which we work hard to maintain. We're also glad that you enjoyed our restaurant meals and found our bar prices to be reasonable. We note your comment about desiring more shade for the sun loungers. In fact, this is in our plans, but for the time being, we let our guests move the loungers where they want. We hope to get the chance to host you again on your next trip to our lovely islands. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Was great for budget accommodation, and the cocktails were awesome. The food wasn't bad. Very laid back and lovely right by the beach. However, the location is a bit funny and I would recommend in the future that an island resort is probably worth it. Having said that, we had no issues and the service people were friendly.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony so that you can open the door and let some air circulate. Very humid i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyg255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We're happy that you considered our hotel "great" and that you enjoyed our value and our "awesome" cocktails. We're unsure what you meant by our location being "funny" but our convenience to both the airport, Nadi town and transportation to the outer islands makes us a popular choice. You visited our hotel recently when we've been experiencing high humidity, but all of our rooms are air conditioned. We have also noted your other comments particularly running out of hot water. This shouldn't have happened and will be looked into. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu! (thank you very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Have just returned from a much needed 10 day break at Aquarius. We went there looking for time together to relax and unwind after a very stressful 6 months. We found just what we were after, due to the wonderful staff and comfortable relaxing accommodation and surroundings. Aquarius is perfectly situated right on the beach edge and walks at sunset and sunrise were great. Since our last stay six months ago, there have been many improvements, both in the accommodation and food area. The hotel common areas have also been newly painted and look good with the new windows as well. The ocean view room was perfect with comfortable bed, fresh clean linen, good sized bathroom and that great deck to sit out on. Dale and Dave are doing a terrific job with the upgrades and we made good use of the lovely grounds, just to sit, read a book, have a drink (or two) and chat with the staff, who always found time to make sure we were okay. We hardly ventured out of the place; it was so relaxing. We will certainly be back. Hi to Paul, Donna, Ini, Joeli, Sera, Salote, all the kitchen staff, housemaids and groundsmen, and especially the great manager, Dave. Vinaka vakalevu.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FijiBabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments! It is always such a joy to have guests like you who appreciate the effort that all of our staff put into making your stay enjoyable. Your review has really captured some of the main features that makes Aquarius On The Beach such a special place to stay. Our efforts to upgrade our hotel continue. On your next stay with us, you'll be happy to know that all of our Ocean View rooms will have new bar fridges, new pillows and other features. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a very nice and relaxing hotel and I very much enjoyed my stay. It was a bit of a hike to the main road to catch the bus into town (.70c) but an easy walk - not much to see though. The taxi drivers are always stopping to ask if you want a ride so no probs. if you get a bit over the walk. There is very nice loungers on the beach in front of the hotel you can lounge on and there is the same around the pool.

Very important do not forget your insect repellent and the room upstairs in the front right hand corner has a very loud generator outside the window, that is a bit of a pain at night. Bring ear plugs.

The staff are supper friendly and so are the guests that I in counted over my stay. The place is well priced for the quality and I would recommend it to the price conscious travellers that do not want to slum it in dorms (but they did have these as well), breakfast was included and dinner was very nice at a reasonable price.

Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Do not get the room on the 1st floor, back right. Has a generator under the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Bula and thanks for your review. We're glad you appreciated the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel and enjoyed our beach loungers. We were concerned about your comment of the "generator" and did some enquiring. The noise was actually the air conditioner unit. Our housekeeper noted that your air con was on, but the windows of the room you occupied were left open. There was no generator operating during your stay. When the windows are closed, the air conditioner sound is not nearly such a nuisance. Thank you for appreciating our "super friendly" staff and the well priced rooms and meals. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the beautiful Fiji Islands. Vinaka vakalevu! (thank you very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located 15-20mins from the airport, this is mostly a backpackers hostel with a few ensuite rooms available. The bed linen didn't look fresh or ironed and we asked for them to be changed. One large towel each was provided (no hand towels). The whole place had a tired look, in need of fresh paint (especially the bedrooms) and a facelift. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially in lugging our suitcases up and down the stairs (no lift). The food was reasonable, and fair value, though the chef didn't seem to know what fried eggs were (we got scrambled and had to explain how to cook fried eggs!). Nice beachfront location with a pool that we didn't get a chance to try. We stayed on our way to the islands and so it was ok for one night but don't think we will be back (unless it's renovated!).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meldavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We note your comments about the bed linen and have verified with our housekeepers that the linen was fresh but may not have been ironed to a high standard, which has been stressed to them. Our hotel is only two floors, so we don't have an elevator, but we're glad that our staff assisted you in moving your bags up and down the staircase. Thank you for noting our convenient beachfront location and the quality and value of our food. We can assure you that our chefs know how to cook fried eggs, and the issue could have perhaps been miscommunication or a wrongly written order. We are currently in the process of renovating (new doors and windows, new paint), and you may have seem some of this work the one day you were there. We hope we can host you on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,074 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#11 of 25 in Nadi
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius On The Beach

Property: Aquarius On The Beach
Address: 17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadi's Hidden Gem! Winner of the 2015 Fiji Excellence in Tourism Award (for Budget Accommodation). Nestled right on Wailoaloa Beach, Aquarius On The Beach is a small, family-owned boutique hotel where we make every guest feel special. A 15 minute drive from Nadi International Airport, Aquarius On The Beach offers something for everyone. Internet is FREE for all guests, either through WiFi, which is available throughout the property or on one of our complimentary desktop computers in our internet kiosk. Enjoy our refreshing swimming pool or dine in our widely acclaimed restaurant where the menu offers both variety and value. Enjoy quality wine at sunset on the private balconies of our ocean view rooms or read your novel in the privacy of your deluxe or standard room balcony, or enjoy the air conditioned comfort of our two dormitory rooms. With all of our rooms, you are getting one of the best values in Nadi - Beachfront at a Budget Price! Our Tour Desk can help organise your entire stay in Fiji, giving you choices that fit your needs and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Aquarius On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Nadi
Aquarius On The Beach Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing