We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquarius On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Aquarius on the Beach for one night in May as a bit of an experiment to get out of the more upmarket resorts on Denarau Island.

We knew it wouldn’t be much after paying hardly anything for the night and have it include breakfast, so we set off expecting youth hostel quality, which is exactly what we got.

Check in was smooth, and they were so lovely and welcoming – nothing seemed too much. They let us have breakfast on our very early morning arrival free of charge and allowed us to access our room straight away, which was amazing since we had pulled an all nighter on the plane.

We booked a private ocean view king room, which is amazing if you are a backpacker and are looking for something a little more special than the typical bunk bed. The room was spacious, and had an amazing view to the ocean with an enormous shared balcony. You can’t beat the view! The bathroom was of youth hostel standard, and we ended up showering with our thongs on just in case! They provide soap and shampoo, which is of pretty average quality, but we appreciated that they were thoughtful enough to include it at all.

The toilet was always turned off at the wall and needed to be turned back on when it needed to be flushed otherwise it leaked and flooded the bathroom, and there is no shower screen so everything tends to get wet when you shower. Also, at night time with the lights on people around the pool and on the beach can see into your bathroom while you shower, so perhaps learn the masterful art of shower-bobbing.

The bed was comfortable, but pretty dirty. The sheets were stained and we found a little cockroach in one of the pillows, so we ended up covering it with some towels we brought with us. The room overall wasn’t spotless, but we knew that we were staying in budget accommodation in a less-than-wealthy country, and to be honest I was pretty happy with what we go for our money.

There was tea/coffee making facilities in the room (with powdered milk), and the TV was great, although only got two channels. The air conditioning didn’t work, but even through the really hot day and night the powerful ceiling fan was heaps to keep us cool (also note – the fan only had one setting regardless of what setting you actually put it on!).

The bar and pool area are amazing and I can imagine in the busy season it would be THE party place. The bar didn’t stock all the drinks we wanted, but who cares? It had beer, and sometimes that just has to do! The hostel is literally on the beach, so you can get some great pics and enjoy the real sand/sun/surf aspect of Fiji.

The great thing about Aquarius is that it doesn’t sell itself as anything more than what it actually is – it’s a lovely big house redeveloped into a youth hostel with private room options on the beach with everything you need. It offers super cheap internet access, good breakfasts (we had pancakes with juice each morning), a local driver (Khan) who can take you wherever you want to go for a small fee and such beautiful, helpful, kind personalities that work at reception and in the kitchen. There is also a small shop on site for postcards and little trinket shopping and is walking distance to four or five other hostels/bars/restaurants, so you can easily stay here a few nights. It’s not quite walking distance from Nadi town, but either get Khan to take you in (or any of the other several taxis who park on the road outside the hotel waiting for a ride) or ask what bus can take you there.

Don’t go here if you’re looking for quality accommodation and a bit of pampering – this is sort of ‘roughing it’, so don’t go expecting anything more than that and you won’t be disappointed. Sure, if the bedding was cleaner and the shower nicer it was be a killer place to stay, but it’s half the adventure. Keep a relaxed and open mind, and you will love it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view room - it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It's always impressive for a small three star hotel like ours to be compared to one of the big five star hotels where you stayed before. The usual rate for an Ocean View room at a 5 star hotel on Denarau is nearly 5 times higher than the modest rate we charge for an Ocean View room with breakfast. We are very proud of the value we provide our guests and we take note of the comments you made in regards to room features which were not operating as they should during your stay. We greatly appreciate the high marks you gave us for service, value and location. You also gave us "amazing" marks for our bar and pool area, fast check in to your room and the amazing value of the Ocean View Room you occupied. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    131
    77
    19
    17
See reviews for
42
159
82
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have travelled to Fiji multiple times over the last 10 years, and usually stay at a 4-5 star hotel near Nadi. This time we decided to change accommodation – our usual place did not seem the same due to changeover of management. We had been to Wailoaloa Beach many years ago but the backpacker scene there at the time was not for us. This time one of our Fijian friends had recently commenced working at the Aquarius and suggested we visit to see if we liked it. Liked it! We loved it! The 6 days we stayed in an ocean view room would have to have been what I call ‘a real Fijian tropical holiday’. Waking and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean just outside our room, swimming in the warm waters of the ocean or the lovely clean pool, beach walks, lounging on the great wide balcony outside our room or around the pool with the wonderful friendly staff was so relaxing for us both.
There are a few minor things that need upgrading (mainly in the food department), but the new manager, Dave, is steadily making improvements, and we noticed quite a few changes even in our short stay. We had great times chatting with Dave and he has the right mix of social skills and staff control and is a real asset to the Aquarius. The staff are very obliging and so friendly. The housekeeping is the best we have come across and our room was always clean with towels and linen changed daily. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
We are both in our 60s, but found there was a good mix of ages staying at the Aquarius while we were there and there was really no ‘backpacker’ feel to the resort. The staff blended well with all ages. We checked out a few of the neighbouring places but felt the ambience at the Aquarius was more suited to our needs.
Will we return? Definitely, and next time with some of our family hopefully. Bula to Paul, Donna, Jo, Sarah, Salote (2), and all the rest of the staff, and especially Hi to Dave. Keep up the good work. See you all again before the end of the year we hope. Vinaka vakalevu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fijifanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It makes our job seem much more worthwhile when we hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us as much as you did. You highlighted some of the unique features and small hotel "feel" that make Aquarius On The Beach such a popular place. We also appreciate your suggestion for some improvements. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 3 occasions during our stay in Fiji and loved every time! We stayed in the two bed dorm, the room was small but functional, the bunk bed could do with updating as it was a bit creeky and felt like it might topple over on numerous occasions and the bathroom smelt a little damp but besides that and the noise we got from reception it was the perfect home for our Nadi stopovers.
The hostel is located right on the beach front with its own pool, outside seating and plenty of hammocks. They have a nice little bar inside which serves drinks all day as well as good food at a reasonable price. We ate dinner there on several occasions and enjoyed every meal, the ika vakaviti is a must try. The bar staff are fantastic too, big shout out to Joe for making our evenings. The front desk staff were extremely helpful too and Donna helped us organise our trip to the islands and pacific harbour which was a massive help. Overall absolutely love this place, plan to stay there again on my next trip to fiji!!

Only downsides: breakfast is complementary but compared to other places we stayed it was not up to scratch, we didn't expect much but needed a bit more than just one small piece of toast and two slices of pineapple.
Also we stayed there a fair amount during our stay in Fiji and it would have been nice to have a complimentary transfer to the airport on our departure. Free transfers are available from the airport to the hostel but not in the other direction!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Bula and thanks for your great comments! We're glad you enjoyed our beach hammocks, our reasonably priced bar and the meals you enjoyed with us. Thanks also for the great comments you made about our helpful and professional staff, Joey and Donna in particular. We also note your comments that you would like to see improved on your next visit. We will certainly look into these as we try and balance the competitive prices of our rooms and the level of service and inclusions we can provide for that price. We welcome comments like yours so that we can improve our hotel and maintain our reputation for great value and service. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It looks nice and welcoming, the staff is nice and helpfull. When you come to fiji you pay internatinal rates, which are very difirents of the cost of life in the island. So as an international traveller you should expect to have the service you pay for in a international price hotel. is not the case in my opinion:
-I could see the see from my room but also a dump in the neibours back yard.
-The courtings in the room where not blind so the light when the sun rises wakes you up.
-The complimentary breakfast is very poor.
-The towells where not changed in two days.
-Internet cards are expensive even more than in the islands.
-the barthroom door was dirty, it only takes a minute to clean but nobody took this time.
Even thought i enjoy my stay in the hotel, the nights are nice in the pool area, the staff is great at the bar and I did spend a very good time. Just details, they make the diference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairedelune078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the few details you mentioned with the cleaning of your room. These will be discussed with the staff involved as we take all complaints very seriously. We're glad you commented on our beautiful pool area and our great staff. We take great pride in our hotel and we try our best to maintain as high a standard as we possibly can but still provide great value for our guests. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (Thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Aquarius 3 separate times over the course of 2 months and could not have been more impressed by the staff or their service. Wonderful hospitality, especially for our toddler, which made our stay so much easier and nicer. Very accomodating of special requests. Rooms and pool are nice and clean and location directly on the beach with kayaks to borrow provided lots of entertainment for our family. Smaller and more quiet than the neighboring hotels, this was a great place to relax. For couples and families we highly recommend the Aquarius!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Bula! Many thanks for your great review! Our staff are thrilled that you pointed out their wonderful hospitality and service, particularly to families like yours with small children. We try and go out of our way to assist all of our guests and we recognise the special needs of our guests who travel with a family. Thanks also for your positive comments on our rooms, our pool and our location. We hope you come back again and again. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in Aquarius on the Beach after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor and we don't regret it.

While the prices for a room are quite high, especially compared to the places around, it is worth your money.

The service is good, the staff is very friendly and genuine.

For wifi you have to buy a prepaid card, just like in most places.

The complimentary breakfast, unfortunately, is something the hotel could put in a little bit more effort and money. I wouldn't really call a small piece of banana, a small piece of watermelon and 1 piece of toast (divided in two) with butter and jam a proper breakfast. However, after insisting on a change we got pancakes on our last day, which was a lovely gesture, thanks for that staff.

The rooms are cleaned every day and there was a fan in the two bed dormitory we stayed in. There is a pool and the hotel is near the beach so the location is very good. We also got a free pick up from the airport.

Unfortunately the prices on the menu for dinner are very expensive, so we haven't had dinner there, but there are plenty of places around where you can get the same dishes for half, or even less, the price.

If you are looking for: good service, good location, clean rooms with fans and friendly staff: this is the place to go.

If you are looking for the cheapest accomodation and food: find another place.

All with all we enjoyed our stay at Aquarius! Thanks staff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for your great comments! You highlighted our great location, the cleanliness of our rooms and our friendly and genuine staff. You also commented on the prices of our food and accommodation. But like many things, you get what you pay for. To achieve a higher standard of food and room quality, we may charge slightly more than some of our nearby competitors for dormitories (but a lot less than others) and our food costs are very competitive with other, similar hotels. Yes, you can get cheaper food at some nearby takeaway shops, but not better food. We offer quality dining on the beach or around our lovely pool. You won't find that at the cheaper eating places. But we take yours and everyone's comments to heart and will certainly look at improving what we offer our valued guests. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Haven't been there in a few years due to family responsibility but plan to return ASAP. (Actual yr. not available on review check list.) Stayed there in ocean front room for several months before spending 2 yrs in Fiji. Would consider long term living there next time returning - it's that great. Love everyone there and you live on Fiji time not USA, Ausi or NZ time. The food is great and reasonable. Loved the ice cream bars and we miss everything about Aquarious. Even had laundry service as an optional amenity when we were there which was really great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneo135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks for your great comments! We're glad you enjoyed our food, our amenities and the friendly atmosphere of our small, personal hotel. It sounds like you miss our staff and our great location and want to come back. We'd love to have you back anytime. Vinaka vakalevu (Thank you very much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#12 of 25 in Nadi
176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius On The Beach

Property: Aquarius On The Beach
Address: 17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadi's Hidden Gem! Winner of the 2015 Fiji Excellence in Tourism Award (for Budget Accommodation). Nestled right on Wailoaloa Beach, Aquarius On The Beach is a small, family-owned boutique hotel where we make every guest feel special. A 15 minute drive from Nadi International Airport, Aquarius On The Beach offers something for everyone. Internet is FREE for all guests, either through WiFi, which is available throughout the property or on one of our complimentary desktop computers in our internet kiosk. Enjoy our refreshing swimming pool or dine in our widely acclaimed restaurant where the menu offers both variety and value. Enjoy quality wine at sunset on the private balconies of our ocean view rooms or read your novel in the privacy of your deluxe or standard room balcony, or enjoy the air conditioned comfort of our two dormitory rooms. With all of our rooms, you are getting one of the best values in Nadi - Beachfront at a Budget Price! Our Tour Desk can help organise your entire stay in Fiji, giving you choices that fit your needs and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aquarius On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Nadi
Aquarius On The Beach Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing