We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarius On The Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed in June 2012 here and I have to say I was really enjoying myself. Especially the girls from the reception were really helpfull! I would definitly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
We're glad you had such a great experience staying with us! Thanks for your kind comments and particularly your comments about our reception staff. They always try and go out of their way to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It's this personal touch that we hope continues to make us unique. We hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    121
    75
    17
    17
See reviews for
42
145
75
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Aquarius for one night as we were due to go out to Waya Island the following day and I'm glad it was only one night we stayed for.
Firstly we paid backpacker hostel prices for this accommodation so we didn't have particularly high expectations and simply wanted somewhere clean and convenient to stay until our boat left the following day. We received a friendly welcome and were shown to our twin bunk room opposite reception. The room was fairly clean except for a dirty looking shower mat but it otherwise pretty much met with our expectations. The beach at the back of Aquarius was nice enough with a few hammocks to relax in and enjoy a few beers which we did before heading off to bed.
It was the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time. Being opposite the reception desk we were kept awake all night by staff talking noisily outside our room. And I mean all night. Then as if that wasn't enough the room was filled by the stench of cigarette smoke wafting in through our window from people having a quick fag outside our room.
All in all a fairly ropey stay that I wouldn't be in a hurry to repeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We're sorry that your stay was marred by noise, as we always try and reduce noise as much as possible at nighttime, although it's difficult when we have late night check ins and check outs. As a non-smoking hotel, your comment about smelling cigarette smoke is a concern and has been addressed with the staff. All of our rooms, dining room and bar are non-smoking areas, so we take your comment seriously. Thanks for your positive comments on the friendliness of our staff, cleanliness of the room and beachfront location. We do hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our first experience with this hotel was they forgot to collect us from the Airport, I had emailed our flight details and was told we would be picked up, no one came and we sat at the airport for over an hour then caught a taxi, when we got to the desk the guy was nice enough but didnt really care that we were left at the airport. The room was average , there were no tea/coffee facilities but in saying that I did complain and the next time we stayed which was before we departed from Fiji they had provided a jug and a couple of tea/coffee/sugar sachets, that was nice. The doors did not slide properly, I struggled to open them even my partner did. It was so noisy at night the first room we stayed in we were woken to pans fromt he kitchen below or some type of cleaning up banging, and a group of people partying below us also. The 2nd room was nicer but still noisy, the lady at reception one day was very nice and loaned me her mobile to make an urgent international call and was only going to charge me $2 I paid her $10 because she was so nice but everyone else except for the chef was dis interested in us and did not go out of their way at all to make us feel welcome, we brought a coconut from the bar it was rancid and made us both sick, the bar lady should have known as it was leaking out the bottom. We ate down the road at Smugglers because the atmosphere was so much nicer. When we left we were not offered a free ride to the airport to make up for forgetting us we were charged. I would never go back there again.

Room Tip: If you stay here get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We're sorry that you experienced problems during your stay with us. I've checked with our staff on the issues you highlighted. It appears that there was some miscommunication regarding your arrival time. We apologise that our driver was not there on time to pick you up. Our kitchen is closed by 9:30pm each day, but we apologise if they made unnecessary noise during your stay. As with all of our guests, all of your comments are taken seriously and are acted upon immediately so that we may improve our service to our guests. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Fiji and see that your concerns were addressed. Thank you for your positive comments on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. Vinaka vakalevu! (Thank you very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed here in March before a trip out to the Yasawa's. After being delayed at the airport (due to booking a tour out to Islands) I finally arrived here at 7pm. Waiting for the shuttle was a bit of a wait, but I was expecting that as had read other reviews.
The Hotel is quite small, and tucked away down a pot holed road with the dining area, reception and waiting area all crammed into one, it resembles a large rambling house. The dorm I stayed in was tiny with two sets bunk beds in it. Luckily there was only 1 other girl in there as no room at all. This dorm was outside in the carpark area, so did get a bit noisy if people coming & going. Would not have liked it if I was on my own, as did not feel safe.
It was really stuffy in there, and kept air conditiioner on all night. This made for a noisy sleep as it kept rattling most of the night. Late night and early morning planes also caused some disturbance, but it wasn't too bad. The room with small ensuite was very basic and dated, but for the price was OK for a one night stop.
The food I had was cooked well and provided generous serve of pasta.
The staff were really friendly and make up for any of the other inadequacies and would make me want to return here, but only if it was more accessible to walk somewhere being so out of the way. Others that were there said the single rooms with ocean views were really nice, but I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Definately pay a bit more and get a single room not one in the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiarobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks for your comments. In fact our hotel was once a luxury beachfront home but was converted into a hotel with dormitory rooms built later. We're sorry you found your dormitory a bit stuffy, as it depends on our guests whether they want to open the windows and use the fan or use air conditioning. We are ten minutes from the airport which provides convenience, but some larger planes can be heard, particularly when they take off. Luckily our airport isn't that busy. Being right on the beach does provide lots of activity options but is a bit of a walk to the town area, although taxies and buses are available and used by many of our guests. We're glad you enjoyed our friendly service and the quality and portions of our food. Our single rooms are definitely a more luxurious option than the dorms, so we hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu! (thanks very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A group of us stayed at this place sometime back in April and for some of us it was our first time to Fiji. We were absolutely pleased at the hospitality of the staff. The staffs there were very friendly and hopeful to us. The rooms were clean, bathrooms were in good condition and there was sufficient water supply. We didn’t experience any water shortage staying in this place. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay at Aquarius again.
-New Zealand-

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiNZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thanks for your review! Many of our guests comment on the friendliness and hospitality of our staff and this praise encourages them in a big way. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the cleanliness, service, rooms and value of our hotel met your expectations. We hope to have the chance to host you again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka Vakalevu! (thanks very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights before heading out to the islands. The hotel seems a little run-down but for the price I don't think we could complain. The shower and bathroom could have done with an upgrade but everything was reasonably clean. Some of the staff were friendly, others seemed a bit disinterested. The main thing that was a little strange about our stay was there seemed to be some sort of domestic argument between some guests, although they seemed like maybe they were friends of the staff. Food was a bit hit or miss, but the coconut drinks were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms so we apologise if your room hadn't been completed yet. Regarding the domestic dispute between some of our guests, we obviously can't control that. Many of our guests quickly become friends of our staff, so this may be why you thought they were friends. Thanks again for our comments and we hope you come stay with us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu! (Thanks very much).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for 4 days backn in February on our way to New Zealand. We paid extra to have a private ocean view room. The room was cleaned everyday and ALL the staff are very friendly. This was my first hostel stay, and if I every had another layover i Fiji, I would abosuletly stay here again. The food is also very good.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy spend the little extra money for a private room. Worth it if you want to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akasheeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thanks for your great review! All of us at Aquarius On The Beach are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. And of course your good comment on our food! We hope you come stay with us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu! (thank you very much).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#9 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius On The Beach

Property: Aquarius On The Beach
Address: 17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadi's Hidden Gem! Winner of the 2015 Fiji Excellence in Tourism Award (for Budget Accommodation). Nestled right on Wailoaloa Beach, Aquarius On The Beach is a small, family-owned boutique hotel where we make every guest feel special. A 15 minute drive from Nadi International Airport, Aquarius On The Beach offers something for everyone. Internet is FREE for all guests, either through WiFi, which is available throughout the property or on one of our complimentary desktop computers in our internet kiosk. Enjoy our refreshing swimming pool or dine in our widely acclaimed restaurant where the menu offers both variety and value. Enjoy quality wine at sunset on the private balconies of our ocean view rooms or read your novel in the privacy of your deluxe or standard room balcony, or enjoy the air conditioned comfort of our two dormitory rooms. With all of our rooms, you are getting one of the best values in Nadi - Beachfront at a Budget Price! Our Tour Desk can help organise your entire stay in Fiji, giving you choices that fit your needs and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Aquarius On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Nadi
Aquarius On The Beach Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing