We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough seas notwithstanding....”
Review of South Sea Cruises

South Sea Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.06*
and up
South Sea Island Day Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rough seas notwithstanding....”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went on this tour on a very choppy day - but it didn't phase the crew one bit! The front sails went up and we had a really lovely time, for snorkeling and a village visit. The food. live music and views were amazing. The passengers a good mix of nationalities. Would recommend this for most people aged 8 to 65. Not so good for the sea-sick prone on the day we went - but even those had some highlights I think.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei_Li_Ahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    47
    10
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An awesome day”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a great day trip. Excellent value for money, and the scenery, including uninhabited islands, is picture perfect. And an advantage (for tranquility-seeking adults) of this particular cruise is the age restriction on the schooner (children must be at least 10 years). The catamaran takes you to Manu Island where you board the schooner, get a drink of bubbles or beer (or non-alcoholic), and head out to some of the outer islands. You get around an hour's snorkeling off the beach at Modriki, which was the highlight of the day for me. Snorkelling gear is provided, and if you're like me and not a confident swimmer you can throw on a life vest too (very glad I did so, as the deeper water is well worth exploring). There's plenty of marine life to see - not hugely abundant - but enough interesting fish that the hour goes by quickly. The BBQ lunch on board was very tasty (though vegetarians might want to find out in advance what their options will be) - and unlimited cold drinks (beer, water, soft drinks). Morning and afternoon tea comprises sweet biscuits, so if you're after something more substantial (or healthier) in between the main lunch you'll need to bring it along. On the way back to Manu Island, there is a stop off at an island village for a kava ceremony. Note that the schooner relies on its motor in the absence of wind (we had our sails up for part of the trip).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tom hanks!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went to the island, castaway was filmed on! Plus met amazing people on the near by island for a kava ceremony

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely day just cruisin'”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I chose to go on the Seaspray cruise as it was fully catered for and it was on an 83 foot schooner - why wouldn't you? Our trip started with being greeted by the friendly locals and a big bula welcome! On our way to Modriki island (where castaway was filmed) we took the opportunity to take in the beautiful sights, including dolphins if you're lucky like we were! The staff kept us entertained all day, so much fun. Unfortunately I forgot I get sea sick so please do not forget those precious tablets!

The food and drinks on board was plentiful, everything from salads to BBQd meat, fish, dessert and an array of alcohol and soft drinks. Unfortunately at Modriki the swell was high and rough which made it difficult to snorkel because we went in March and it was the day after cyclone Lusi touched Fiji - not great snorkelling conditions but being on a secluded island like that is an amazing experience regardless.

The Fijian Village visit and Kava ceremony was fantastic, ladies PLEASE do not forget to take a sarong or a long skirt to wear at the village - for no reason but to be respectful to other people's culture. I read a few reviews where people thought it was a bit of a rort that you are taken to this village and felt pressured to purchase some of the jewellery, trinkets and other souvenirs that the locals sell after the kava ceremony. Here's a tip - by making a sale the people of this village are able to be self sufficient and make a living AND... wait for it.... the things they sold sell for DOUBLE in Nadi town. So basically it's a WIN-WIN situation!!!! Take small change. It's worth it. And it sounds so much nicer when you tell your friends and family that you helped the people of a small village by purchasing this item that you gifted them - your soul will thank you for it.

Great trip! Would definitely do it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

If you are leaving Port Denerau be prepared for the trip to Manu Island (where the day starts) may take up to 1 1/2 hours. The ferry drops off people at a few other islands first. Take a warm jumper too because it gets windy upstairs and the AC is really cold inside the Ferry cabin.

Other posts have complained that they don't put the sails up. This happens when there is no wind!!! On our day the wind was so strong we cancelled the Island tour and had a VERY bumpy ride back to Manu Island. We thought it was great, but beware... Take some sea sickness tablets with you if you are prone to that.

The snorkeling was surprisingly good and in very shallow water. An hour was just enough time to potter around the cool deserted island, have a snorkel and get a lift back to the boat for lunch.

There are so many of these tours out there in Fiji. I chose this one because it is on a yacht, and they don't leave you on an island where you have to buy your drinks. No regrets booking with these guys.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Sea Cruises also viewed

 

Been to South Sea Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing