We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
244 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2006

Stayed a couple of nights as part of a large family group and really enjoyed it. You just walk across the road from the airport ( but didn't notice any aircraft noise), the pool is great. The staff didn't mind us rearranging furniture to suit our large group.
Double rooms small and dated, but spotlessly clean and everything was well maintained. A great spot on your way to or from the real Fiji.
Like previous reviewer I am annoyed at not being able to use calling cards.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank hinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    613
    217
    45
    29
See reviews for
350
443
117
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

My wife and I were part of a conference being held here so we went a week early and had a bit of a holiday. I takes about 5 mins to walk from the Airport. go out the front gate and it is just across the road. They will pick you up if you are too lazy. Step out the front door and there is a bus stop were you can catch a bus to Nadi or Latoka (latoka is much bigger and better shopping). The food (like most hotels) is very nice but a bit pricey. they have in house movies, usually a choice of three movies changed regularly. Try one of the Island tours costs about $95 fijian dollars per person but includes lunch, snorkling etc. The people at the travel desk are very helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Kevclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed in the family deluxe room for 2 nights, before and after our cruise. OK, the decor is a little dated. But it was clean and comfortable and its location just across from the airport was ideal. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant and everything was pretty good and was reasonably priced. The pool was nice and they even lend (worn) equipment to use on their tennis court. No, you don't want to spend all of your time in Fiji here. But for what this is, I highly recommend it. Also great place to use for a day room if you arrive too early and need a place to rest and shower or if you have a late flight.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank saccuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

We just returned from our one week honeymoon during the first week of August. The weather was great, we only got a little rain. Anyways, the day of our departure our travel agent arranged a day room at The Raffles. We checked into our room after checking in at the airport right across the street. We walked there from the airport and it took 4 minutes. The staff quickly got us checked in. We walked past the busy bar and resturant area and the pool looked nice too. Our room was nice. There was a shower, shampoo, conditioner, and a hair dryer. There was CNN which my honey enjoyed. We also got 2 free beach wraps and there was fresh fruit in the room. It was clean and getting onto that 10 hr. flight to LAX was a little easier after a hot shower and a snack. I would get a room there again. Oh, we took the free shuttle back to the airport which was nice too.

Helpful?
9 Thank daniellepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

Do yourself a favour and stay at Tanoa International or Tokatoka. We were offered a free stay at the Raffles Gateway because Air Fiji canceled our connecting flight.

We left shortly after checking in and moved at our own expense. Here's why:
- Standard rooms are small and decrepit with two small beds
- Local toll free numbers (e.g. MCI) are blocked. You must pay the hotel LD rates (outrageous) to call overseas
- The nearset pay phones are at the airport.
- The hotel is noisy and crowded

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

This hotel is good for if you have an early flight out of Nadi or a late flight in. The rooms we clean, however, the beds squeeked everytime there was a movement. We arrived at 9 PM as we had a flight out at 4 AM. We went to the front desk to check in and we were told they were fully booked, even though we had already payed. The assistant manager then tried to move us to another hotel, when we refused and threatened to sit in the lobby all night, he turned to one of his staff and asked if a certain room was ready. There was a shuttle to the airport, however, it is probably only a 5 minute to the airline desk from the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tara146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2006

You can not get more convienient if you need a place to stay near the airport. You can walk across the road from the airport to the hotel. We booked the hotel shuttle to pick us up when we arrived at 2:45am, and the driver was right there waiting to take us and our luggage the approx 200 meters.

The rooms are basic but adequate. We had a nice renovated bathroom.

The pool is fantastic.

We booked for the night we arrived plus a day room rate for the next day as the boat to our resort was scheduled for the afternoon. They didn't even end up charging us for the day rate, just for one regular night. And we spent the morning in the great pool unitll the boat company bus picked us up from the hotel. Perfect start to the vacation.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a night by the international airport at the beginning or end of their trip.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiwiyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#8 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#9 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Property: Fiji Gateway Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Executive Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing