We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dated but clean”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here for one night as a stopover night before flying home the next day. The room was a good size, but the décor was very dated and tired and the lighting was poor. The air conditioning was also noisy. They have signs on all the doors and windows saying "please ensure the doors and windows are properly shut" and the doors have security chains on them, which was a concern. As a female travelling alone I didn't feel safe staying here by myself and consequently had a terrible night sleep. The gym is small but has good equipment. I didn't have breakfast but it looked ok. The staff weren't all that friendly and were quite disinterested in general - they didn't seem overly happy. It was clean and being directly across the road from the airport it makes it handy, but I won't be staying here again when there are other, better options for around the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean room, staff good. Friendly reception staff - expensive food. Wifi, the most expensive in town $15 ph .. you will get faster cheaper wifi in Nadi! Didnt see much of room staff. Need to ask for chilled glass for beer, in a hot climate glasses should be well chilled.

Room Tip: room at the pool edge would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent for the night before heading to an Island stay. We are a family of 4 with two teenagers. We arrived at the hotel and were put in a room where our children had to share a bed. Our room was directly above the pool and across from the airport where the planes are situated and by that I mean, you are looking directly at the planes at the gate. The hotel is extremely noisy and we had very little sleep. We could hear the planes landing, starting up and taking off. The last flight left around 11 pm and the first flight started before 6 am. No sleep was had by any of the family. The room was dated and smelt of cigarette smoke, including the bedding. It was so awful, that we canceled our return booking.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay at the Mercure in Nadi or even better stay in Denerau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friend and I were staying in a hotel near the airport for a few days and did not feel like taking a taxi to go eat at somewhere other than our hotel. We decided to walk to Raffles and check out our options there. The menu had more options than our hotel, the service was fast and the food was pretty good and fairly priced. We didn't stay at this hotel but the restaurant was full and we saw other guests from our hotel doing the same thing we were. I had a steak dinner and ice cream for dessert. No complaints. If you're looking for food particularly at night near the airport I think this is a great option and would eat here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank kava-kauboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Situated directly across the road from the Nadi airport this hotel has good food, clean rooms, comfortable beds & very friendly staff. Perfect for early morning flights. We've stayed here many times & love the pool. Would definitely recommend as a stop over for travelling. Even if you aren't staying overnight you are still welcome to use the facilities. Perfect!

Room Tip: I love the ground floor rooms next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a single night stopover at Raffles on our recent holiday to Fiji.
The location is as close to the airport as you could imagine and the free shuttle service is very useful.
Staff are polite and friendly as is anticipated in Fiji.
Had dinner at the restaurant, which was well priced and very tasty.
Room was spotlessly clean which we appreciated. Bed was pretty hard - good for those that like very very firm back support, maybe not so good for those that prefer a softer bed.
Roosters around the back of the resort crowed all night, which broke up our sleep a bit. Nice having a garden view but could have done with the birdcalls.
Has a pool and a water slide which would be a winner if you were travelling with kids.
Would stay again if stopping over because it is so convenient to the airport.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Q8684ZYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is really just a "gateway" as the name suggests. It is right opposite the Nadi International Airport which makes it really easy and timely for overnighting before and after your trip out to the islands.

Room rates are good, and the rooms are fine for a one night stay. This isn't somewhere I would stay for a longer stay as there really isn't much to do here, and the rooms are older style which would likely wear off on a longer stay.

I can highly recommend the curries in the restaurant, since every stay this is what we've eaten. We'll definitely be back on our next visit to Fiji.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
412 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $78 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing