We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Suva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location.”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We love staying in this hotel when we have a flight in/out of the country or when picking up friends and family. The front desk staff are always so welcoming and those smiles could really be an awesome memory to come back to on a bad day.

Rooms are always well kept and neatly arrange on arrival and for next day. Conveniently located opposite the airport and a bus/taxi port in front of the hotel. Their airport shuttle staff are always so helpful and great. Their pool offers entertainment for kids and adults both.

Only downside, would be their restaurant or food department that needs a make over of menu options and food preparation. It would be nice to be able to eat well in this beautiful hotel.

Otherwise, love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vuli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    636
    221
    48
    31
See reviews for
362
462
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverloch, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a 13 hr. stop-over so took an executive day room at very reasonable rates. A 6 am breakfast was just right then 5 hours sleep in quite surrounding. Then a good swim, sunbath and relax for 2 hours then lunch and at 4 pm back to the Airport for 6 pm flight to Melbourne. A good refreshing day after 12 hour flight from LA. The hotel also has free shuttle from and to the Airport which is just across the road. Great value for money

Room Tip: Rooms at back of the property are quieter and on 1st floor particularly when used as a day room. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for one night before and one night after our island stay. It was perfect for what we needed. The room was nice and much better than what we would be able to get for a family of 5 on our budget in New Zealand.
The pool was great, our kids aren't old enough for the slide but it looked like fun.
We were a bit worried after looking at the menu as we are vegetarian and couldn't see any vegetarian options. When we asked, we were very impressed to be presented with the vegetarian menu. The veg curry is great value and tastes good.
As a stop off it works for us and considering how little time we spent there between flights and ferry, I wouldn't spend way more to go to Denerau as Raffles had everything we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikkiblu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed here for a few hours during the day while waiting for my Suva flight. The main thing going for this hotel is its location, right across the highway from the airport. You can walk there. I felt the rooms were lower quality than the prices would suggest. My room was dank and the windows opened to the hotel parking garage. Wifi was paid but at least it worked well. If you have time before or while in transit in Nadi, their restaurant is actually a good option as it is much nicer than anything in the airport terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rakaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We only stayed one night at raffles before going out to Castaway. All the travel agents recommend staying in the 5 star Denarau resort complex but because of our budget we elected for one night at raffles on the way to our island and one night at Denarau on the way back. Next time ill just stay at Raffles. Rooms were clean, the pools and hydro slide were great and our breakfast was included so we were more than happy with our experience here. Staff were very friendly. We took the shuttle here from the airport because we had so much luggage and then laughed at the short distance we actually had to go. A bit of a walk to the shops but very manageable some people im sure would prefer to taxi but we liked the walk. Thanks raffles!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelDavies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Spent two nights on the way to Plantation and one on the way home. After a slight false start we settled in for an enjoyable stay. Ensure you have the right bedding options though. The roll away bed we eventually got was, to be fair, attrocious. Not sure what went on with that but at the end of the day we adapted and overcame. the kids loved the slide (obviously prior to some idiot spoiling it upon reading a review fromt he day after we left...) and the pool was a fantastic way to ease into our family holiday. The facilities and grounds were excellent. Ganesh made sure we wanted for nothing by way of snacks, food and drinks - perhaps a little too helpful at times but hey, he made it interesting and enjoyable. It aint the ritz but its more than you need for a few nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was above average in terms of quality and quantity of fare. Again, its not haute cuisine but more than enough to satiate the hungry traveller.
whilst only walking distance from the airport the complimentary shuttle is a godsend on a hot day with bags laden with trinkets and gifts - thanks to the reception staff for insisting we use it ;).
The rooms were clean and tidy. TV reception a bit dodgy but that's the nature of the beast. Overall we really enjoyed our stays and will definitely be back.
As with any trip, make sure you keep tabs on your expenses and which services you used etc (easy with moden technology). Helps with the checkout and validation esp if your travel agent hasn't quite articulated your needs as well as could be...just saying.
Thanks to the staff and management for making our holiday start and end on a high and positive note. Bula Vinaka levu

Room Tip: preferred 603 for bedding layout but 307 had a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olddadnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The reason that we chose this hotel was for its proximity to the airport. In fact we did not even use the shuttle service as we simply had to cross the road, which was not difficult. The staff was friendly and polite - as are most Fijians, in any case. We stayed here, not only for the convenience, but also because of the pool, which was large and had a slide. This is the place to stay if you have kids because it is a lot of fun, albeit a little noisy (no fault of the hotel). Negatives are the lack of a sufficient number of poolside loungers, and the water was not as clean as it could be - no doubt due to the number of children playing in the pool.
The room was good for the price and the bed was very comfortable, with extra pillows, however, the sheets could use some updating as they were a little threadbare and not too crisp. It is nice to have the private patio area.
We ate in the cafe and the food was really quite good, as was the price. However, the wine was awful, I have to say. It tasted watered down and on the edge of vinegar. I wish that I had ordered beer or perused a wine list (if they even had one). That said, the cocktails were well made and I can recommend those.
We stayed here overnight, but I can see where the hotel excels at providing day use, which I may use at another time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeandEdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
16.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#8 of 25 in Nadi
1,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Property: Fiji Gateway Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing