We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to acclimatise and relax.”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Spent two nights on the way to Plantation and one on the way home. After a slight false start we settled in for an enjoyable stay. Ensure you have the right bedding options though. The roll away bed we eventually got was, to be fair, attrocious. Not sure what went on with that but at the end of the day we adapted and overcame. the kids loved the slide (obviously prior to some idiot spoiling it upon reading a review fromt he day after we left...) and the pool was a fantastic way to ease into our family holiday. The facilities and grounds were excellent. Ganesh made sure we wanted for nothing by way of snacks, food and drinks - perhaps a little too helpful at times but hey, he made it interesting and enjoyable. It aint the ritz but its more than you need for a few nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was above average in terms of quality and quantity of fare. Again, its not haute cuisine but more than enough to satiate the hungry traveller.
whilst only walking distance from the airport the complimentary shuttle is a godsend on a hot day with bags laden with trinkets and gifts - thanks to the reception staff for insisting we use it ;).
The rooms were clean and tidy. TV reception a bit dodgy but that's the nature of the beast. Overall we really enjoyed our stays and will definitely be back.
As with any trip, make sure you keep tabs on your expenses and which services you used etc (easy with moden technology). Helps with the checkout and validation esp if your travel agent hasn't quite articulated your needs as well as could be...just saying.
Thanks to the staff and management for making our holiday start and end on a high and positive note. Bula Vinaka levu

Room Tip: preferred 603 for bedding layout but 307 had a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olddadnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

The reason that we chose this hotel was for its proximity to the airport. In fact we did not even use the shuttle service as we simply had to cross the road, which was not difficult. The staff was friendly and polite - as are most Fijians, in any case. We stayed here, not only for the convenience, but also because of the pool, which was large and had a slide. This is the place to stay if you have kids because it is a lot of fun, albeit a little noisy (no fault of the hotel). Negatives are the lack of a sufficient number of poolside loungers, and the water was not as clean as it could be - no doubt due to the number of children playing in the pool.
The room was good for the price and the bed was very comfortable, with extra pillows, however, the sheets could use some updating as they were a little threadbare and not too crisp. It is nice to have the private patio area.
We ate in the cafe and the food was really quite good, as was the price. However, the wine was awful, I have to say. It tasted watered down and on the edge of vinegar. I wish that I had ordered beer or perused a wine list (if they even had one). That said, the cocktails were well made and I can recommend those.
We stayed here overnight, but I can see where the hotel excels at providing day use, which I may use at another time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeandEdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Recently stayed at Raffles Gateway the night before an early flight back to Australia. We found the hotel comfortable with good amenities for what we needed for our short stay. Also meant we were able to drop our hire car off at our convenience and utilise the hotel shuttle bus to the airport the next morning. Staff were polite and friendly. The room was great with a handy balcony area, but the position of the air conditioner blowing straight at the bed made sleeping a bit tricky but it was too warm to do without it. A minor inconvenience really.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Have stayed here twice for an overnight stopover between arriving in Nadi and our internal domestic flight & highly recommend for this use. Walking distance to airport (plus is a free shuttle service if you want). Comfortable & clean rooms, quiet if you get one upstairs at the back (avoid being at the front near the bar), good food in the restaurants, staff responsive to requests. Big pool with a waterslide, entertaining Fijian singers at night.

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a suite at the back & upstairs - you're away from the bar/restaurants a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had 5 hours to wait before our flight out of Nadi to Melbourne and were a bit unsure of what to do with our time with two children. 5 hours was not long enough to go too far, but we knew it was too long to spend at the airport. We googled things to do around Nadi airport and Raffles came up.

This spot was a blessing!. We arrived into Nadi from our small plane flight, jumped onto a Raffles bus right out the front of the terminial and it drove us the 2 minutes over to the hotel. We got a day room for $140 Fijian dollars. We locked away our valuables in the room safe, put on our togs and headed out to the pool where we ordered and ate lunch (the food was ok, but nothing great). The kids (and parents) had a ball on the pool slide. After a couple of hours at the pool we went back to the room, had a shower and re-boarded the bus, which took us back to the airport in time for check-in.

If you didnt want to pay for a day room, then there was a toilet and shower beside the pool which would be fine too. Im not sure how much they would charge to do this.

This 5 hours was a make or break of what had been a really fantastic holiday thus far - and Raffles defiently made the finishing touches of the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here after visiting the islands before flying out early.
The good:
- Best food we ate the entire time in Fiji. Curries, Fijian dishes were exceptional, and good value.
- Pools and slide are excellent for kids and adults!
- Location is very convenient. Shuttle to airport is good.
The bad:
- $15 for an hour of wifi is a complete rip off. How they can charge double what the islands charge is beyond me.
- A little noisy throughout the night. Perhaps just the room we were in? 102 executive suite.
- Somewhat dated feel of the hotel and rooms but fine for a stopover

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night before an early flight out of Nadi. The hotel, although a little dated is perfect for one night before or after an early/late flight. The rooms are nicely decorated and the pool is good. The bar and restaurant were also good as were the guitar players providing entertainment.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pagey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,378 reviews
53.2 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,016 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $81 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing