We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stop - nice pool, clean rooms.”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed at Raffles for half a day when going to and from Plantation Island. We had breakfast at Raffles after arriving in Fiji and prior to going to the island. My bowl of porridge was HUGE and creamy! The restaurant is clean and service is fine from what we saw. Upon returning to nadi we had checked in for a few hours while waiting for our flight. The hotel is right near the airport and the courtesy bus takes you to and from. Check in process at the hotel is fast and hassle free. The rooms are small but clean - kettle, toaster etc present along with TV and DVD player. We spent our time swimming in the nice pool and sliding down the water slide. This beats hanging around the dreary airport for hours - the small sum for a room at Raffles is well spent after a transfer from an outer island, if you have a long wait prior to flying out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goldenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for Fiji Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2008

I stayed at Raffels in September for one night before heading further north. I had my three young children (aged 1,3 and 4).

We arrived on a late flight and the hotel was located within minutes of the airport.

Overall the hotel was clean and tidy with good service. I had asked for 2 double beds and ended up with a double and single which was a bit squashy but apart from that the service was very good.

My baby screamed a wee bit in the night and in the morning I asked the lady in the next room if she was woken. She said that she hadn't heard anything so the rooms may be reasonably sound proof. There is some airport noise from planes but that is the tradeoff for staying so close to the airport.

The children played outside in the morning and several of the staff stopped and talked with them and I even saw one gardiner put down his tools and chuck a ball around for a while. The pool seemed to have a very good waterslide but unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to try it due to time contraints.

As an airport hotel it was more than adequate and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We used Raffles upon arrival as a day room prior to moving on to another island and then upon our return to the US, when we were put up by Air Pacific due to an unexpected cancellation of our flight. As pointed out by the other reviewers, the staff was friendly, the rooms were somewhat out-dated, but clean. The air conditioning worked fine. The water pressure was also a little unreliable, but it did get you wet enough to take a shower. We traveled as 3 couples (6 of us) and not one was impressed with the restaurant fare. We did not even use the voucher for dinner that Air Pacific gave us, preferring to take our chances at the airport. The pool was relatively well maintained, but in some places a sunscreen scum was present. I would not rank it as a destination hotel, but as an over night or day stay, it is fine due to its proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wine_bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Nice pleasant hotel. Stayed ther 1 night before going to Suva and 3 nights beore leaving for U.S.A. A great staff. All very genuine and warm. It was a wonderful relief to go there after the over-rated Shangri-la Fijian resort on Yanuca Island.

The breakfasts and lunches were reasonably priced and a joy to sit down and enjoy and know it was not going to be an outrageous bill. What was good was that you could pay cash and not have to charge everything to your room like like the Shangri-la.

It was very conveniently located to the airport - although a did tend to be a wee bit noisy by the pool to have to listen to the jets taking off.

The staff were wonderful and we are definely staying there again next time in Nadi.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank unaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed at the Sofitel Fiji but didn't want to pay $FJ350 just to have somewhere to hang around until our midnight flight. We spent the day at the Raffles. Although the rooms are a little outdated they are clean and very well maintained.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent though not cheaper than the Sofitel.
We spent the day relaxing by the pool being entertained by the antics of the other guests on the waterslide - a much better alternative to sitting in the Sofitel lobby waiting for our flight.
I would highly recommend the Gateway for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pointyendpreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Raffles does exactly what it says on the tin. Its the perfect location for an overnight having flown into Nadi before you fly on to another island. Its located literally across the road from the Itn'l Airport but theres still a shuttle bus on hand to bring you there and back whenever you like.

Reception staff were warm and welcoming. The room, though a little dated, was lovely - big double bed, warm breeze, clean bathroom. TV was a little far away from the bed but it shows 3 really recent movies on loop which was great. (You just call reception to ask them to re-start one.)

Food from room service was adequate and the Duty Mgr didnt always answer the phone, but overall I couldnt fault the hotel on service. And its location makes it the perfect overnight spot.

Despite the very close proximity to the airport, I didnt hear any planes at all which was great. And its only a $4 taxi ride down ot the local supermarket to pick anything up.

You could do a whole lot worse than stay here :-)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We only stayed the one night after flying into Nadi, as we were off to the islands in the morning. It is in a safe, clean area of Nadi, directly across the road from the airport, they will send a mini van to pick you up at no cost. we stayed in a deluxe room which had a king size bed and 2 singles, a decent size bathroom, great shower pressure and heat. The air con was in good working order and quiet. The main attraction for the kids was the huge pool area with supersize waterslide, it kept them busy until bedtime and again in the morning. There is another small pool near the restaurant which is a great place for dinner and breakfast. Not a great variety for breakfast they had ran out of a few things but dinner was lovely and fresh, I had whole snapper. There was musicians serenading the diners and was a very nice introduction to Fiji.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brissiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $81 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing