We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise at the end of our trip”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice surprise at the end of our trip”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a "day" room here while waiting for our flight out. What a nice surprise. They have 2 pools. One of them is huge with a water slide. The rooms themselves had a bedroom area a sitting area a small kitchenette and bathroom. They were very nicely appointed and decorated. We ate 2 meals here. The food was good. This hotel is right across the street from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    635
    221
    48
    31
See reviews for
362
461
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here on the 9th October (2013) before we flew out on a 9am morning flight. This meant we had to be at the airport by 6am for check-in for an international flight. We decided to stay here as we had stayed here previously a few years ago for an early morning flight.

The hotel staff were friendly when we checked-in they even up-graded us to a nicer room without mentioning to us. We realised a bit later about the upgrade when we noticed the bed was in fact a king size, not the smaller size we had been arranged on our booking.

The room was basic but very clean and good size. They took our bags to the room and we asked for the cot as we had requested on our booking. They brought the cot for our son very quickly and supplied sheets which they made up on the cot for us which was a nice touch. The cot was not the portacot style but in face a proper cot with wheels and bars. However the cot was quite small for our 11 month old but saying that it was a lot easier to get him out as the cot was a trolley style.

The room was very clean, all the tiling on both the floor in the bedroom / lounge and into the bathroom was perfect. The shower was clean. It appears the room was fairly newly tiled and shower suite was new or relatively new as well.

The room also had a built stand besides the lounge to place your luggage on the rack and below it. There was a small area where there was a kettle with the usual sugar, tea etc. supplied.

There was a small outdoor setting outside. The glass sliding door could have done with a bit of silicon spray but small issue in regards to the room. A/C (split system) worked really well, it was very cool in the room. Plenty of table space as there was a desk as well next to the bed. Coffee table and also the table where the kettle was.

However the problem with the room is that it is darker due to the power saving light globes that have been installed. We just found this a little difficult as we wanted to repack our bags for the flight the next day. Otherwise you wouldn't need it brighter. We applaud the owner for installing the power saving globes for the environment and to save costs but perhaps the light over the area where the kettle is could be with a bulb a little brighter, power saving doesn't always mean dark.

The secret of this place however is if you have kids or are young at heart there is a pool slide at the back of the property which is rather impressive for a hotel that is mostly used for transit overnight as it's across from the airport. There is a pool which is maintained well at the front of the property right next to the foyer area. I would feel weird swimming there as everyone who enters the hotel or is leaving and eating at the restaurant can see you. Neither times have I stayed have I seen anyone in this pool. The pool (with the slide) is at the side / back of the property this is rather private in comparison and in full sun.

The only disappointing thing I can say about the hotel is the restaurant located to the side of the foyer and also an outside / alfresco area which nears the pool. I found it very hard to find anything I would like to order as all the meals appeared to be large meals and finding that I was not ravenous I found it hard to find something I would like to order. I had a pasta dish with bits of chicken in it and found the dish hugely oversalted and could not taste anything else.

The staff were lovely and very friendly at the restaurant. It was no problem to supply us with a baby chair for our son to eat with us. Be careful however as it is an old style chair which lifts over the head and there is no straps. Looks good but now I know why they don't use them much anymore as you need to make sure you have a firm grip on your child as soon as you lift the table part over their head. Even though the restaurant looks dark and rather dinghy we realised it has been renovated rather smartly. It appears the lack of light from ceiling lighting and the dark wood panelling has given it this appearance even though the room is actually smartly designed apart from that.

There was live music in the form of two good guitarists who one was kind enough to show my young son his guitar and strum it a little after he showed a lot of interest.

The entry way into the hotel suffers the same problem with the dark wood panels and skirting. If this was changed to a white or some other lighter colour I believe this would change the appearance of the hotel immensely and positively.

Both my husband and I think this hotel is rather underrated and the cost is very affordable and great value.

We also used a private car as we had our son with us and went to Denarau and the hotel arranged the car in about 5 mins or so and allowed us to charge the trip to our room. Not sure if this is standard practice usually though.

The hotel is across the road and as soon as we checked out we took the minivan transfer to the airport and were there in a couple of minutes.

Next time we stay in Fiji will definitely be staying in RG Hotel. Can't be the value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms I think away from the foyer I would assume would be the best for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspiredbytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here on our first night prior to leaving for Plantation Island and also on our last night before we returned home. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Staff very friendly and professional. Lovely pools and the food 'big servings' very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maramarua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Arrived here at 6pm the night before a 6am flight. Sunburnt and tired, the room and service met all our needs. Room service was cheap and exactly what we needed. The room was small, and the TV reception fuzzy, but we really just wanted a refreshing night's sleep, which the nice beds, air conditioning and quiet surroundings provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the main bar area. Very quiet where we were, but the rooms close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Fiji on our way to the Yasawa Islands. The shuttle was quick to pick us up at the airport and take us to the hotel. The room was clean and nicely decorated and the shop had a few essential items and clothing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to stopover in Nadi!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Raffles Fiji was a great to spend our final night in Fiji: it's right opposite the airport with complimentary transfers through the hotel. The rooms were very clean and it was lovely to have modern facilities after spending a week on a remote island. The normal buffet breakfast was plentiful and the children (and adults) had a lot of fun playing on the water slide before check out. Raffles locked our luggage up after check out so we had the opportunity to do some shopping in Nadi before returning to Raffles and taking their bus over to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We hadn't stayed at the Raffles Gateway for a number of years but decided to stay the night there before our early morning flight back to Auckland. We had been staying on the Coral Coast (for a wedding) and decided to take the very comfortable and modern coach (Suva-Nadi route) for the 1.5hr drive to Nadi Airport. The cost of the bus from the Sigatoka area to Nadi airport was only FJ$15 per person, and once at the airport the Raffles Gateway offer complimentary pickup/drop off. This hotel is located directly across the road from the entrance to Nadi airport so, in fact, it is also a very easy walk across the road, and the only pitfall is there is no pedestrian crossing.

We noticed that the hotel looked in great condition, and were told that they had had major renovations about one year ago.
The garden and outdoor areas are well kept and the big old bougainvilliea plants were looking quite spectacular.

Our room was 301 which is located on the ground floor, away from the main road and reception area (but still only a 2min walk to get back there). We had a rear sliding door which opened out onto a small private patio overlooking the rear of the pretty gardens and out to the mountains. The room was spacious and included air conditioning, a TV, small refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities. The only thing lacking was better room/reading lighting.

Meals at the restaurant or poolside bar are reasonably priced and we all enjoyed our meal choices.

Checking out and leaving the hotel the next morning was a breeze.
We will definitely return here.




The hotel staff are, as always, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intrepidkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
16.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,062 reviews
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#8 of 25 in Nadi
1,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Property: Fiji Gateway Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing