We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good to be back”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times at the Raffles Gateway. But every time, it's nice to be back. Located just outside Nadi Airport, it's the best place to spend time while in between flights, which in the Pacific Islands can mean several days. It has old world charm, a great choice of rooms, courteous staff and large, roomy and airy common areas. The restaurant and bar are great as well. Terrific place to catch up with fello travellers and old friends at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Raffles Gateway for one night (as you do!) on our way from Brisbane to an island resort.

The transfer was relatively easy – the shuttle bus had filled with one family and their paraphernalia, so we had to wait, but the hotel is SO close that it was a short wait. You literally go out the front gate of the airport, turn right, and turn left approximately 5 metres down the road! Check in was fine and we were shown to our room.

The room was very basic, but nothing in particular to complain about. The double bed was pretty small (an actual “double” bed). There seemed to be a distinct lack of towels, but we just kept the pool towels that we got when we went swimming, and used those!

The pool is massive and with a big slide, but not in the much of the way for toddlers – although she did run around the step that went around about half of the pool.

The café/bar was convenient and we enjoyed afternoon tea (drinks for mum and a delicious chocolate milkshake for 3yo!) while swimming.

Apparently there is a good restaurant district about a 10 minute cab ride away (Sitar Indian was recommended, among others), but we just couldn’t face it with a toddler and an early morning start the next day. Our dinner was pretty average, but fine. The musicians playing and the ambience were enjoyable, and the musicians were very sweet with our daughter.

If you are on a charter flight, rather than a regular domestic flight, do not let reception scare you into thinking that you need to get to the airport super early, as they did with us! Just follow the instructions in your itinerary.

The hotel was full the night we were there, and it is directly across from the airport (you can see planes while swimming in the pool), but the hotel was remarkably quiet, so no issues there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for 1 night as are flight was booked early in the morning.

The hotel is across the road from the airport but is not noisy as you would think. Hotel is big, clean and the rooms are good for a short stay.

Food is reasonable and the staff were happy to help.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em4984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The reception on arrival was excellent & the room was beautiful and the overall convenience to the airport made it a winner for us. The pool was of interesting design & the bar was close by. The dining room was authentic fijian

Room Tip: room 201 was beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ronfromOzNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed a total of 2 nights, (arriving and departing). We have stayed several times in past years and always found the Gateway to be an excellent choice. In previous years, we have stayed at the Mocambo and the Tanoa, but the Gateway is cheaper and I consider better value for money. First night we stayed in room 201 which was good, 2nd night in 205 although slightly different we preferred this room. Both rooms were classified as executive and cost F$205 per night converted to Aust $116 at the conversion rate of the day.The cost in US would also be about $116.
Its not advisable to decide on the cheaper budget rooms as they are very small and not a good standard. The executive rooms are really small studio apartments not exactly the usual rooms. They are the way to go...a large swimming pool was just outside both our rooms and very tempting. Connected to the pool was a long water slide for those interested. Food was of an acceptable standard and certainly cheaper than what is available on the outer islands. We decided to eat our evening meals in the inside airconditioned restaurant for our last meal. I had been told previously that steak available in Fiji is as follows...if its from Australia its no good...if it's from New zealand it's no good, and if It's from Fiji it's road kill. Surprise the steak was actually great and very enjoyable; who knows maybe it came from the USA. A hotel courtesy vehicle is available to transport guests to and from the airport. The service is very prompt as the journey takes only several minutes. I would certainly recommend this as an excellent transit hotel which offers top large executive rooms at good value prices, and the rooms are very well maintained.Nothing negative to report.

Room Tip: room 205 was well placed, away from the entertainment area near the restaurant,where two hotel Fijia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musketBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great hotel for a quick stop in Nadi. A day room or one night is good, after that it would be time to move on - only because it is next to the airport (free shuttle or you could easily walk) and in the middle of nowhere. Busses do run into Nadi, but Nadi itself doesn't have much to offer. Rooms are clean, nice pool, food is fine. I booked through Hotel.com and didn't have any problems, I just sent the hotel our flight details and they picked us up. Best place to change money is Western Union, outside customs. Skip the banks, they aren't as generous. Also be aware that depending on where you go in Fiji that most shops are closed Sunday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canberrayankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Raffles Gateway is a great place to get a day room in between flights to and from Fiji. The rate is reasonable and the room is as well. The food is wonderful and the staff very friendly. The pool is very nice and refreshing...just what we need to rest up for our long journey home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackShanaRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
1 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
412 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $78 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing