We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine - recommend as a great stopover especially for families”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
BrizVegas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine – recommend as a great stopover especially for families”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were a travel party of 5 (mum, dad, and 3 children ages = 5,4,1) and required an overnight stopover between our return from the Yasawa Islands to our international departing flight the next day. Raffles Gateway suited us perfectly. I made the booking online direct (AUD106) and it was smooth and quick transaction. Very professional. We checked into the hotel about 7pm - quick and friendly checkin and I cheekily asked for an upgrade (and got it !! to an executive room – which is what we really did need space wise) – well worth asking for an upgrade though. Dinner at the restaurant was just fine (dinner is served until 10pm and room service is available 24hours). In fact dinner nicer that I expected it would be. The room was clean and comfortable. Whilst the hotel itself would be fairly old and I daresay never renovated since it was originally built, I must comment on the cleanliness of the rooms, foyer and gardens. Staff were friendly and quick to respond to any queries (eg meals came quickly, checkin/checkout quick, porters quick, housekeeping quick etc). I guess they are mindful of people catching flights and so there is less of that “Fiji Time” pace to things and much more responsive. Continental breakfast was fairly basic and not stimulating at all but hot meals can be ordered separately. The pool (with a slide) is a highlight for dwindling those hours away. Also has a tennis court. The hotel itself is located about 25-30mins from Nadi town. I think a taxi costs around FJD20 ? The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the airport at any time of the day you want. (ie. you don’t need to wait every half hour)….the airport is literally across the road and you can see your plane on the tarmac. Considering how close you are to the airport, noise is NOT an issue…for some reason you don’t seem to hear the planes? Would definitely recommend as a great stop over hotel and couldn’t really find any faults. Be mindful it is not a place you would spend your entire fiji holiday in but for a transit stop over it is just perfect.

Room Tip: we had executive room overlooking the pool. Perfect size for family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieBrizVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    646
    224
    49
    31
See reviews for
369
472
123
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great for one night with good food. Comfy bed and nice enough room. Good value. The hotel is located right opposite the airport which makes it easy for flights. The Yasawa Flyer / South Sea Cruises bus picks form out the fron at the bustop outside the hotel on the main road (20 meters from the hotel lobby).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevetara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Raffles Gateway Hotel is right next to the international airport in Nadi making it a great stopover place if you are heading on to somewhere else. It is very good value at under $A100 a room If you use an internet booking agent and campare prices. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the pool, bar and restaurant areas are inviting.

My big tip is .... insist on a room on the ground floor. This is a two storey hotel that rambles through nice gardens but they have no lifts that I could see and hoiking heavy bags up the stairs will either ruin your bag or your back. However, the main problem is that they have a water pressure problem and if you are one storey up, you may not get the hot, heavy shower you are hoping for after a long flight.

Overall, though, this was a great hotel as a stopover. If I had longer than a night in Nadi I would move towards Port Denerau or another resort strip as the Raffles, being an airport hotel, is a bit out of the way of the attractions.

Thank you Raffles, I will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We only stayed one night en route to Vanua Levu and were more than happy. The deluxe room was relatively cheap, clean and comfortably fitted the two adults and one teenager in the party. Food was ok at both dinner and breakfast. Highlight was the pool and slide, a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading off on a cruise. It is so close to the airport - only a couple of minutes in the free shuttle bus. We arrived about 3.30 but our room wasn't ready which was a bit annoying but we only had to wait about 15 minutes. Pool was great. The kids loved the water slide. Good currys in the restaurant - we tried the chicken and fish. Breakfast was basic but good value - 14 FJD and half price for kids. Room was fine. A little small but perfectly good enough for one or two nights. Overall a perfect place for a stopover at the beginning or end of a trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magandlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Basic, clean, reasonably priced hotel with easy access to airport. Great pool and slides (so everyone told us but rained for us!) TV screens in rooms and restaurant and pool tables for family entertainment plus the nice touch of musicians gently playing over dinner. Shop very handy and reasonably priced. We made a last minute dash into Nadi centre, to Jack's the famous Duty Free souvineer shop and only $15. For you brits out there - it had a bit of a Butlins feel to it and just as friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We used it as a stopover (both inwards and outwards) for a trip on to Kadavu. As a stopover hotel it delivers just what you want it to. Its very close to the airport (we walked on one occasion) and the pick up works reasonably. Check in fine, and the rooms are reasonable and clean. Surprisingly good curry in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleblowernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,163 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#8 of 25 in Nadi
1,101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Property: Fiji Gateway Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing