We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed May 30, 2012

very friendly staff, great place to stay when going to Nadi international airport. good food and close to nadi town and also free shuttle to airport. relaxing environment and best of all 2 guitar singers in the evenings to entertain. will recomment to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajneel_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at the Raffles Gateway the night before we flew out and used this as a place to get to ready fo an early flight.

We had just come from our resort so it seemed a significant drop in standard but then it is inland, across the road from the airport and much smaller.

After saying that the staff were quite lovely especially the ladies in the restaurant and the gardens were immacualte. The room was nice and clean and we did have lovely views to the mountains/hills from our room.

They also run a free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel twice for one night, at the beginning and at the end of our Fiji trip. Hotel is right next to the small Nadi airport. There is a free hotel shuttle driving back and forth but it's even possible to walk to the hotel in a few minutes (from arrivals basically walk straight out of the airport gate and cross the street to the hotel).

It's a basic, simple hotel. Greatest assets are the extremely friendly staff (even the wait staff is not pushy, unlike some resorts) and the surprisingly good breakfast and dinner - and cheap as well (e.g. continental breakfast at FJD 15). Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. Pool is basic but relaxing.

Room is average. It's not big and beds were just ok. Old TV with so-so reception. Airco worked fine (you can adjust the direction, so it doesn't blow straight at the bed). Rooms are not cleaned well, many stains and many bugs around (dead and alive). We had to get rid of many bugs in the room on both nights.

There was some construction going on at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

ATM machines at airport only, none at hotel
Free shuttle from/to airport ( located across the road, you also can walk)
Pretty well tendered gardens, good first impression of front desk area, islands feel to it
Welcoming and friendly staff : front desk, bellman, concierge
Large and clean room with 2 queen beds, fridge and coffee maker, amenities in bathroom, TV,air con (working and silent)
Wireless internet for a fee, not that expensive, large pool with slide
Room service:H24, quickly delivered, honest food, reasonnable prices
One BUT : I left my cigarettes and lighter outside our room at night and they've disappeared, so maybe choose rooms on upper floors

Room Tip: Our room was 505, opening on the pretty garden, nice and quiet, but on ground floor do not leave any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Ignoring the girls on the front counter, as they must think more of their job and themselves than the guest.
When we arrived and were picked up by the bus and taken to the hotel, the front desk girls were a bit short and not that helpful or wanting to chat.
The rest of the people went out of their way to make our stay great. Even after a wekk we cam back for a bit to eat before we flew out and they remembered us, that is great.

Food was great, drinks lovely and the place was very clean and tidy.
Go back, no worries.

Room Tip: Get a room up the back away from the noise of the airport and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

this hotel is great for stopovers to and from Nadi airport. They pick you up from the airport and also drop you back. The check in is quick and efficient. The staff are nice. It has a decent restaurant and a nice pool. You can even order room service! I usually stay here when I have a overnight in nadi for flights. It is always great to be picked up and put up in my room in about 10 minutes. Raffles has never disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our first experience at this hotel was a day room. We'd been travelling for about 18 hours and just needed a few hours sleep before our flight to Taveuni. We checked in and - no water. Got this sorted, had a shower and got into bed. Bed was gritty with dirt/sand - seems they didn't change sheets upon last guest checking out - nice! Very itchy when trying to sleep and ended up with spots where we had been bitten, bedbug alert. We were also situated next to some construction going on so NO SLEEP. This room was at the front of the hotel (facing the hotel from the road to the front right of the hotel) - DON'T LET THEM PUT YOU HERE.

We had some trepidation as to what our next stay would bring and we vowed that if we had even a somewhat similar experience we would check out immediately. When we checked in, I explained to the lovely girl on reception that we had previously had a dirty room next to construction and that the bed had bed bugs. We politely requested a quiet and clean room and she put us in a very quiet corner, the room was clean and comfortable and importantly no bedbugs.

We also stayed a third time on this trip and asked for the same room we had on our second stay. That room was unavailable, but we were put in a room very nearby which was acceptable and to the same standard as the second room.

As long as you get a decent room, your stay should be comfortable for a short stay.

Be warned, the food is awful (we experienced breakfast and dinner), the bar is overpriced and the wine selection awful but you're close to plenty of good restaurants. Must mention that Ganesh at the bar was most attentive, so thank you Ganesh!

Oh, we need to mention that if you organise a taxi from the hotel, they call in a mob called "comfort taxis" who someone is obviously in carhoots with at the hotel. The taxis are anything but "comfort", none of them had seatbelts, there are no metres and the drivers are crazy. It's better to walk across the road to the airport, ask the taxi drivers if they had seatbelts and pay the airport/taxi flagfall as it works out about the same price anyway.

If you're after some decent wine, there is Victoria Wine Shop just past Namaka which stocks an amazing range of wines at really reasonable prices. Unfortunately the hotel's idea of premium wine extends to Lindeman's base range.

Food wise, look on trip advisor for recommendations. We'd not recommend The Bounty due to a bad experience but each to their own.

Overall, we would stay here again but we'd be really picky about the room, not eat in the hotel and not use the taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.2 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing