We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay during christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tokatoka Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
suva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay during christmas”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed in tokatoka resort hotel for 3 nights. the place is good but unfortunately we were not happy with the services.
firstly, we were charged $325 per 2 bedroom villa inclusive of breakfast since it was Christmas and then when we went to get the breakfast, we were advised that its their Christmas buffet only which is charged ...then why we were told during the bookings that the breakfast cost is included in the $325 villa rate per day. infact on 24th December,2012 they gave us breakfast and made us sign on a $100.00 bill. so i guess for the guess 2 days they should refund us $200.00. don't you think so.
secondly, we were told that due to cyclone the pool is not working but it will work by the afternoon that is 23rd.they kept advising us wrong things when in fact it dint work till we check out.i do understand that cyclone came and the situations which arise but can the staff be more honest and loyal to the visitors please.
thirdly, we bought ice out of our own pocket expense and then the small fridge in the room couldn't cater for it therefore we opted to use the hotel bar fridge to cater.
the staff took the ice and when the next morning we went to ask for it they told us the cooler was not working so only half ice left.is that possible??if at first it wasn't working couldn't the staff advice us???to tell you the truth we were the only family to receive ice from the shop even the manager of tokatoka dint get it.does this suggest the staff used our ice to cater their needs???the half ice which they handed us did not melt can that be possible.
we requested to talk to the general manager but no one made it possible....we didn't enjoy our holiday there at all.........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reeshna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Reeshna.n
We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Resort. We apologise that the service was not what you expected.
Regarding the pool closure, we at Tokatoka place the safety and well being of our guests on a high priority, during the cyclone glass was shattered into the pool and we had to close and empty the pool out to thoroughly clean it. On refilling we had to be absolutely sure that the pool was safe and hygienic for guest use before release and we could not place a definite time on it re-opening due to the water clarity. We sincerely apologise for this.
We have addressed the other issues you have raised and we hope you do come back and visit us and not let this incident mar your perception of us.
Vinaka
Jack Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    230
    109
    35
    21
See reviews for
217
159
64
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were evacuated to Tokatoka from Treasure Island just before Cyclone Evan hit Nadi and although things were very hectic we were really treated very well by the staff at Tokatoka.
They did not take advantage of the huge influx of guests and raise prices and efficiently handled check in.
They offered sanctuary in the conference room but we elected to stay in our room for the duration of the cyclone.
The staff were constantly checking guests and moving those that had to be moved when their rooms were damaged in very trying conditions.
They bought around free food for those that had not moved to the conference room while the cyclone was still raging.
The next day they managed to provide breakfast and lunch at reasonable prices even though all services were disrupted.
The staff immediately began to clear the resort of debris and all the while keep their usual smiles.
When they were notified that the airport had reopened and our flight was on its way they immediately notified us and did not charge extra for the time we had spent beyond normal check out time.
Their Airport shuttle had run out of fuel and as there was no power it could not be refilled at the service station (which could well have been damaged as well) so they arranged a taxi that had fuel for us at no cost.
The manager was to be found outside Reception advising guests and keeping everyone informed of the latest situation as soon as it was safe to do so.
Speaking to others it sounds like a lot of other resorts were not so well organized and we were very lucky to find ourselves evacuated to Tokatoka.
A huge thanks to the staff at Tokatoka.

P.S Notes on ratings
Sleep Quality Sleeping was pretty hard during the Cyclone and the roof was leaking but we remained dry.
Cleanliness, The staff were still trying to service rooms at the height of the cyclone.with big smiles on their faces.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smandkjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Smandkjc
It is indeed motivating to read positive comments from guests regarding our service and facilities.
Thank you for taking the time to write an uplifting review.
I will pass on your comments to all the staff during our monthly awards and I am sure this will motivate them to serve you better, our valued guest.
We look forward to seeing you again when you next come to Fiji even if it is for a stopover before going off to the islands or when you return.
Once again Vinaka Vakalevu!

Kind regards
Jack Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is my fourth visit to TokaToka. We chose it because the prices are reasonable and it's across the street from the airport.

They used to have a spa on premises, but it is now closed. I was looking forward to a massage, but the closest alternative at a nearby hotel is too expensive. That was disappointing.

We were not picked up at the airport! We couldn't get anyone at the airport to call for us, so one of us walked over to get a van! The employee who arrived in the van was NOT happy to be there.

The room was a good size for the three of us, but there was only one room air conditioning unit in the bedroom, so the rest of the space only got cool late at night.

We purchased WiFi to use in our room, and it did work for email, but was not a good enough signal for Skype calls. There is good cell signal at the resort.

The restaurant is very good, with good service. The staff is very helpful. I would stay there again, but will ask about the availability of the spa first!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Amcgrath
Thank you for your continued support of Tokatoka and we appreciate the feedback you have given.
Our spa is closed for renovations and I apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you.
We are currently dealing with the issues you have raised and I thank you for bringing it to my attention.
I will pass on your comments to our restaurant staff who will be motivated to do better.
I do hope to see you again for your fifth visit and will promise you a better equipped spa when you are next in Fiji!

Kind regards
Jack Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a short stay here recently when our Air Pacific flight was delayed. Check in was quick and were were told the porters would take our bags to our room, but no porters in sight. Another staff member showed us to our room which was basic but reasonably clean. The room was very dark even with the lights on and only 2 TV channels worked. We went and had some drinks by the pool which was good to relax. The children in the pool seemed to be loving it and I liked that it had a covered area where you could get away from the sun. They had a waterslide but it wasnt working.
We decided to order dinner from the menu (certain dollar amount paid for by the airline) - butter chicken and a chicken stirfry. Both seemed okay at the time, nothing special, but we were both sick the next day. Meal service was not too bad, but trying to get the attention of a waiter was hard. They seemed more interested in empty tables than making eye contact with us (to ask to order some dessert). Chocolate mud cake was pretty good, once we got it!

Shower had no door and I felt I had to wear shoes in the shower due to hygiene. I didnt feel 100% safe in the room and with every little noise we jumped out of bed. It wasnt a very restful few hours before our shuttle back to the airport at 1am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear AliKeane,
We appreciate the feedback you have given us regarding your recent stay with us.
We are currently working on all the issues you have raised and we thank you for bringing it to our attention.
The water slide was closed for maintenance and notices were put around the pool notifying guests of this. We are sorry the meal did not meet your satisfaction and likewise your view on the bathroom.
I do apologise that you did not feel safe within our hotel premises however our hotel has 24 hour security and each room has a security device for their own protection and well being. The whole resort is fenced and have security gates at each entrance to the Resort and we currently have a good reputation for being a highly secured Resort.
We do hope that your experience during your short stay with us will not deter you from choosing to come and stay with us the next time you visit our islands
Kind regards
Jack Stark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My flight was delayed and I was checked into Tokatoka by Air Pacific while they sorted out my rescheduled flight. The rooms were comfortable but the srvice at the restaurent was extremely slow. I waited almost 45 min. before my small order of French Toast and Coffee arrived. The same situation occurred again at dinner time.

Lunch was a buffet. But by the time I was ready to eat ( approx 1.00 pm. ) most of the dishes were almost gone and had not been replenished.

The lack of choices of TV channels in the room is another minus point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weng Koon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Weng Koon V,
We thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us . We are working on the areas you have highlighted and we are currently addressing the issues you have raised regarding service and the lack of choices for TV channels.
Please accept our sincerest apology.

VInaka and regards
Jack Stark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Another Air Pacific flight delayed (25/11/12) and got put in the TokaToka, I'm just glad it was only one night. After waiting in a queue for three hours at the airport we were not too happy, but on arrival we were given a cold fruit drink and dealt with very quickly. After staying at the Outrigger on the lagoon, it was a bit of an eye opener! Although staff are quite attentive and try, the room we were given needed updating. It was about 9 o'clock in the evening and we went down to have a meal but the selection on offer did not look very appertising, so we just had a coke and went to bed. At the moment I would only give it two stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquibsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Squibs Somerset,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We value your comments and we will work on the areas you have mentioned.
We at Tokatoka are striving to be the airport hotel of choice in the future and your comments will help us serve you better next time you visit our beautiful islands!
Vinaka and regards
Jack Stark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here at least four times in the past year, before morning flights or pick-ups at Nadi International Airport, which is literally a five minute walk (or free shuttle) across the road.

What is striking about this hotel is its large, spacious feel - it is a rambling property cut out from the sugar cane plantations. Sometimes it is a long walk to ones room (or 'villa'), which come in various multiple bed and one-bedroom formations. The furnishing is cheap but functional and clean; the main purpose is a good night before travelling onwards. The price is right, in any case.

The kids adore the hotel pool, which is sprawling and resort-like, with a wicked water slide for the adventurous (perhaps the best in Fiji, better than Suva Motor Inn).

The restaurant is fine but not great; I tend to eat breakfast there but not dinner, choosing for example to go into town (car/taxi) or walking next door (Raffles Gateway) for a better dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stian91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Tokatoka Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Stian91,
We thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us, comments like yours motivate our staff to excel and to give you better service.
Since the Warwick group of hotels have purchased the hotel in April of this year we will continue to improve facilities and services in the next few months and your comments will help us achieve our goal of being the airport hotel of choice in the future.
We now have a professional, experienced chef at our restaurant and we look forward to serving you when you next choose to stay with us at the Tokatoka Resort.
Vinaka and regards
Jack Stark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.2 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
2.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
16.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,074 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#11 of 25 in Nadi
790 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokatoka Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokatoka Resort Hotel

Property: Tokatoka Resort Hotel
Address: Queen's Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nadi
#1 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokatoka Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokatoka Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokatoka Hotel Nadi
Tokatoka Resort Nadi
Tokatoka Resort Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing