We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor air-conditioning and tired rooms, but great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa International Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Coming from a cold country I severely underestimated the need for decent air-conditioning, despite this being the cooler season - which we did not get. Room was tired looking with many broken tiles in the shower so although clean, had the appearance of being dirty. However, food was an unexpected surprise with the Tandoori Chicken and garlic naan being the highlight of our stay. Overall, ideal for a stopover/transit or just an evening meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Request a room with near perfect functioning air conditioning before you actually check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sha6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Bula Sha6870

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Your comments regarding the airconditioning and tiles in your bathroom are disappointing to read. Can I ask that you contact me via gm.tih@tanoahotels.com so that I can ascertain what room you stayed in. Your Tripadvisor username makes it difficult for us to locate your original reservation in our system.

Thank you however for the kind words regarding Fresh (Tandoor and Pizza) - it is a reasonably new food outlet and we have been working very hard on product quality and consistency.

I do hope to hear from you.

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 535 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tanoa International is located at a few minutes drive from Nadi (phonated Nandi) airport but is somehow more than you can expect from a mere airport hotel. It is a large ground-floor facility within a beautiful equatorial garden environment with all kinds of nice flowers, birds (and even frogs) around you. From a central reception and utilities area you walk through relaxing covered pathways, protected from excess of sun or rain, to and from your designated accommodations block. You can use the pool, the poolside bar or the poolside pizza stand…Near the pool area you can find a convenience store and also a gym, a tennis court and a small business centre with access to internet and printing. Near each block there is a self-service laundry.
Free shuttle to airport runs frequently. Taxis are 20 meters away on stand-by and are cheap (Nadi city-center is about 25 minutes at day hours on account of heavy traffic). Touristic spots are 30 min/45 min away.
For business and convention purposes the hotel holds very convenient facilities, with a large main conference room, independent committee and secretariat rooms and a very functional A/V support).
Rooms are basic but comfortable (room controlled A/C, minibar, flat-screen TV with a fair option of channels, desk, etc…). Daily cleaning is very effective. The price is reasonable considering the vicinity of the airport. Internet access (cable or wi-fi) is effective but expensive.
Main restaurant is at open air (for breakfast and lunch or dinner, running until late hours).The options for food are limited but the amounts are generous and the service very often good. Pizza is great, by the way…. There is also a small Japanese restaurant available (although it takes a long time before you can have your choice delivered to table). Prices tend to be a little above Fiji standard and there is no option for food in the immediate vicinity, except maybe the airport (fast food is served there). For an excellent espresso (the best I had in Fiji ever), cappuccino, machiatto and other coffee treats (not to mention cheesecake…) you can simply go to the light bar nearby the reception area (Ask Anchu, the friendly barmaid there, who will also let you read the daily newspaper). Hotel staff is friendly and available in general terms (don’t forget to great them with the first-contact magic word in Fiji: Bula!).
Conclusion: a wise option for a few days stay.

Room Tip: 400 block is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucenalink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Bula lucenalink

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review.

I am happy to read that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your stay so much! Also thank you for mentioning Anshu by name, the hotel has a strong Employee Recognition programme and I will ensure she is recognised through this. You are right though - and I may be biased - but Mint does make the best coffee in trhe west!

I hope we can welcome you back to Nadi in the future.

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had booked several months ago for a standard room as we were in transit from Nadi to Taveuni. The price was exceptional but we relied on tripadvisor reviews to give us some confidence. When we checked in we were upgraded at no additional cost to a suite which was amazing. The service was great, the staff friendly and the accommodation fantastic. Have stayed at a few of the airport hotels, but have never stayed at Tanoa. This has changed and we will always look to stay here. Thank You Tanoa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlissPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Bula BlissPapamoa

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am happy to read that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your stay so much!

I hope we can welcome you back to Fiji in the future.

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

First impressions are great. Friendly staff, amazing foyer with restaurants and cafes surrounding a pool and jacuzzi. While the food was overpriced for Fiji, it was good and filling.

However, the room was really quite poor. Granted we paid only a small amount for the room but we were ground floor in what seemed like a very old building. Dead cockroaches lined the corridor and scuttled about the room. The fridge was broken and the room was loud with outside noise. The TV barely worked on the 4 channels it semi-got.

Overall it was fine for an overnight stop on our way to someplace more luxurious but I would have been livid if this had been my main-stay for my Fiji vacation.

Room Tip: Call and request a non-ground floor room. I have a feeling my poor experience was almost entirely re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Bula Michael F

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad to see that you found the general hotel surrounding pleasant.

Your comments regarding your room trouble me however, so could you please contact me via gm.tih@tanoahotels.com so I can gain more details from you? I would greatly appreciate it.

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently organised a small conference here and I'd have to say the staff who coordinated the rooms, the morning teas and the lunches were all fantastic and really helpful.

Aside from a few accommodation issues, which were eventually worked out, this was a great venue for the conference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception. Some of the back rooms are quite a walk from breakfast/dinner/th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Bula Jessica T

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always pleasing to recieve positive feedback.

I am so glad that Vika, Vere and the Conferencing team looked after you so well.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Fiji in the Future.

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent a week at the Tanoa and loved every moment. The staff were awesome. Anything asked for was granted. The pool area was pleasant. The room although quite small was immaculate and cleaned to a high standard each day.Considering the the price I paid for this hotel I think the value was wonderful. The restaurants were great. The staff at the tour desk were great. No task was too hard. The hotels drivers were great, they would drop you off anywhere and pick you up at anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block it is away from the hustle and bustle and is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Bula mackozie

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback, especially when it for the entire operation.

If any staff member in particular stood out to you, please do email me on gm.tih@tanoahotels.com as we have a great staff recognition programme based on guest feedback and I would love to be able to include anyone who you feel was "excellent".

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Attending a conference on Fiji, it was a pleasure to stay at the Tanoa Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food served both at the regular restaurant and for snacks and cocktails was excellent and the rooms were well-equipped and comfortable. The green and verdant surroundings were particularly pleasant. Two relatively minor drawbacks are the small swimming pool and the rather long distance into town. On the other hand the airport is only 5 minutes away with a good shuttle service. The high charge for an internet connection was also an irritation; sooner or later hotel owners will have to stop ripping their customers off for this service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoahoteltih, General Manager at Tanoa International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Bula lenemike

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is pleasing to read that overall you found your stay at the Hotel very pleasurable and that the staff and F&B offerings were highlights.

I will take your comments regarding internet pricing into consideration when we hold our next pricing review. However Internet in general is expensive out here in the Pacific Islands and our current policy is to pass that cost on to the users, rather than increase room pricing and affect those who do not use it.

Vinaka and Regards

Matthew Gillespie

General Manager
Tanoa International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#13 of 25 in Nadi
833 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.6 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa International Hotel

Address: Votualevu Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 9203, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: $104 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanoa International Hotel offers airport accommodation set amidst lush tropical gardens, with sensational facilities for leisure, conference, corporate and wedding guests. Located just three minutes from Nadi International Airport, with 148 rooms in a peaceful tropical setting, Tanoa International Hotel can be used as your hub to get around the island. With extensive conference facilities, a range of dining options, and free high-speed internet in every room, this is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa International Nadi
Hotel Tanoa International
Tanoa International Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing