We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Bamboo ;)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bamboo Hostel
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Bamboo ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had lots of fun staying at bamboo! The trips were good and the kava circle was the best anyways ;D the staff is amazing! I told everybody I met in Fiji to stay at bamboo and I will do the same in my home country, if anybody is going to Fiji!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandra justine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    120
    57
    27
    13
See reviews for
17
130
157
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a good stay here and enjoyed the kava and music at night. Listened to the staff recommendation and went up north to Tuvununu on Taveuni Island which was a fun place, and went to the Bouma Falls which is awesome and then onto Maqai Eco Resort on nearby Qamea Island which was just magic and a real gem to cap off the trip. If you want to experience the real Fiji then I recommend this trip to the northern Islands.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuatara51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Amazing hostel! I loved it - fun and friendly atmosphere, great location on the beach and just a short bus ride to town. Rooms are clean and spacious. Bar and restaraunt are great and good value. Plenty of free organised daily activities. Staff work hard to make you feel welcome and are enjoying yourself - especially Simon who's always around to play and always does amazing performances at the nightly kava ceremonies!
I also stayed at their sister hostel Marauvu in Taveuni which was equally great! Same atmosphere and amazing staff. From there you can take their organised island trips. Jo the captain of the boat on the trips is amazing - so friendly and helped us so much!
Overall, I would definitely recommend both hostels to anyone travelling or holidaying in Fiji!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessbuchsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I staid here three times on my stay in Fiji and the staff is so welcoming learn all the guests names and make them feel at home. Each time I returned they remembered me. This place is super inexpensive, the food is good and not to high priced. The kava circle at night is a lot of fun, and one of the guitar players Simon really brings out a special atmosphere. He goes out of his way to get guests from all walks of life and from all over the world to interact with each other. The place has quite a special vibe and I hope it stays this way forever. Truly one of the best places to stay in Nadi for a backpacker.

Room Tip: The dorms are inexpensive there are 15 and 20 dollar ones, the biggest difference is the 20 dollar o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in total during my Fiji trip. The staff were super friendly and made you feel very welcome as soon as they met you. The price was incredibly cheap so the facilities were fairly basic. The dorm rooms were fairly small but did have a bathroom attached. I stayed in the female only dorm on both occasions. There was a bar and restaurant attached to the hostel also. On arrival you got 1 hour free internet, a rarity for Fiji as it was very expensive elsewhere.
There was also a travel desk who could advise you on island hopping trips etc.
Overall I would recommend this place to people backpacking in Fiji.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egalla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

With being located so close to the airport Bamboo lends itself to being the perfect base for your ongoing travels around Fiji.
From the moment you get picked up at the airport to the moment you leave for the last time you are made to feel welcome by everyone.
I managed to stay in 5 different rooms during my 4ish weeks in Fiji. The 8 bed dorms located near the big 16 bed dorms were ideal, good facilities and good aircon. The 8 bed dorm away from the reception area, past the volleyball court, I wouldn't stay in again. They were fine but not as comfortable. The 16 bed dorm I was pleasantly surprised by, light and airy and mostly all single beds...only two bunk beds in there! I was also in a private room for one night and again that would be recommended.
The food on site is lovely, although if you're staying a while you do soon run out of options. Loved the breakfasts though, especially the banana pancakes!

Remember you are in Fiji and remember everything is a little more relaxed out there. Fiji time does exist and you have to embrace it or many things will drive you nuts.

Vinaka vaka levu to everyone at Bamboo, especially to Mateo who, from day one, was a constant source of entertainment, information and still to this day I'm not sure how much of it was true...

Many thanks to all,
Helen Capell (April 2014)

Room Tip: I don't recommend the dorms over the road near the volleyball court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell_Cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved our stay at bamboo all the guys were so lovely and friendly, they couldn't be happier to help with anything. As soon as you arrive it's your home and everyone treats and respects it that way. Would definitely recommend staying here for backpackers that love value for money and the true traveller experience! Massive thanks to all the staff that made our stay memorable, never stop singing!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzzzzz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
10.2 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hostel

Property: Bamboo Hostel
Address: 33 New Town Beach, Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji is a cluster of 333 tropical islands and is home to almost 1 million of the happiest, friendliest people on Earth! Bamboo is a fun budget spot to use as a Fiji base. Located within a cluster of cool hostels in the midst of Nadi's Backpacker Beach, it's an ideal spot to stay to acclimatise, meet people, craft travel plans, and then launch out to some islands! Relax under a huge traditional Fijian thatch hut, swim and play down the sandy stretch of Wailoaloa Beach, swing in a hammock and enjoy the tropical surroundings. In a nutshell, Bamboo offers: - Free 24 hour Airport pick up - Free WIFI - A location in the heart of Nadi's Backpacker Beach that is on the bus route and just a 10 minute drive from Nadi International Airport - a Swimming Pool on the beach - 24 hour Reception - A travel hut for island trip planning with local promotions - A variety of clean and comfortable rooms - Delicious, cheap food at 'Cafe BAMBOO', featuring daily specials and traditional Fijian cuisine. - An island-style beach bar - Live acoustic Fiji-style music every night - Bamboo Surf School - ATM onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bamboo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Nadi
Bamboo Hostel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing