We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No idea, why you should choose some other hostel nearby...”
Review of Bamboo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Hostel
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No idea, why you should choose some other hostel nearby...”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this hostel twice and it was a good experience in both times. There is absolutely nothing to complain about.
In the second time I couldn't find my cellphone shortly after I arrived. The staff was so lovely and caring. They really tried everything, to cheer me up and to help me in every way they could :). Thanks a lot for this!
I spend a lot of extraordinary moments in this place and I couldn't have hoped for a better last Fiji night, it was just perfect :).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parttimekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    130
    59
    27
    17
See reviews for
17
135
170
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was decent and clean enough (double was $60). However, the staff are very pushy, trying to sell their tours, and then hit on all the female guests at night. It's quite a club med 18-30 feel, not the relaxed Fijian atmosphere we were hoping for. There are nicer hotels round the corner, for the same budget, with a much better atmosphere and food.

What most annoyed me was that, as we were not sure how long we were going to stay we initially said we would stay just one night. After a long flight we decided to stay another night and sleep in the next morning (checkout is 10am). Instead of assuming we were to stay another night however, two of the staff woke us up by banging on the door. I answered to tell them that no, we'd like to stay another night. Five minutes later we were woken again by loud bangs on the door and a guy telling us one of us had to go to reception.

Don't go to this place expecting to be treated like an adult. You'll be treated like a child and told what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Bamboo Hostel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Bula vinaka and thanks for the review. Your feedback is much appreciated and our team will look to improve our hostel experience accordingly. We have designed our hostel especially for budget travellers as a fun and friendly base for the islands of Fiji. It is unusual that you found our spot to be like Club Med and we believe that you must have stayed with us on a night when we had a big birthday party bash. Our hostel normally has a laid back island-style atmosphere.

Our Activities Team are awesome and offer a variety of in-house adventure day trips and tours to see the best and most beautiful areas surrounding Nadi, on a budget. We are sorry that you felt pushed to participate and will meet with our Activities Team to ensure this issue is addressed.

We are also very concerned that you felt our staff were hitting on our guests. We have had an emergency staff meeting about this issue and after a general discussion are 100% sure that you have mistaken one of our staff for one of our local Fijian F & B guests (our bar and restaurant is open to the general public). This is an issue that we take very seriously and have zero tolerance for. If our security team ever see any inappropriate behaviour towards our female guests, they will step in and sort it out. Our team are a very friendly bunch and often make close friends with our guests and always take proper care of our guests at all times.

As for your check out issue, we have a 10:00am check out time and a hostel policy that all guests wishing to extend must arrange this @ the front desk. We are sorry that you felt that we delivered the message abruptly and will target improvement in future.

Our hostel wishes to attract guests with a simple Fiji-style expectation for accomodation in Nadi. For those seeking a flashpacker style hostel we recommend Aquarius or Nadi Bay. For those seeking a fun, friendly and atmospheric hostel, we highly recommend choosing Bamboo! Cheers and happy travels. The Bamboo Tribe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just take a look at my photos and you'll see that the staff here take pride in their hostel. But it is just that, don't book a double room and think you'll get hotel treatment because you won't.

Advantages
Cheap (by Fijian standards)
Clean - so important in hot climates and always reassuring to get crisp white sheets
Close to the beach - you can reach the beach with a less that 30m walk and have access to a sister hotel's beach front bar and pool.
Lovely staff - the guys and girls take the time to learn your name and find out what you like doing. They'll play volleyball with you or happily invite you to join them while they play guitar and drink kava. They're a real asset to the hostel.

Disadvantages
Noise, Noise, Noise - this really got to us, from road noise to the tattoo artist on the otherside of the wall to simply the staff talking when they arrived for work around sunrise. You'll need ear plugs if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is an excellent hostel.
The dorm beds are cheap as chips and included breakfast. I stayed here 3 nights and every night had some nice music and cava. The food is also excellent. Try the hamburger.
There are plenty of free activities and the staff are excellent. They must get a few hundred people through there each week but they managed to make you feel special with many of the staff remembering you.

Room Tip: If there are 4 of you book a 4 bed dorm same price but private. Pre book as they sell out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Hostel is pretty decent for the price. Stayed before at another hostel around the corner for double the price.
Rooms are oke. Clean, and come with hit shower.
Bar on the beach is ok aswell.
The pool is quite dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmeichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I found Bamboo via Trip Advisor and I decided to give them a shot before I started my Feejee Experience tour. When I arrived (whilst enduring some jet lag) I felt the place looked a little un-organised and mis-matched, but my opinion quickly changed when I started meeting the people who worked there.

The moment I turned up they treated me like an old friend and made me feel welcomed in a country where I didn't know anyone which was a huge relief since this was my first trip out of Australia. They take a genuine interest in their guests well being and will help you in any way should one find themselves in a less than impressive situation.

The place has an inviting atmosphere, beds were soft and the food was nice (best banana pancakes I've ever had). Not all of the showers have hot water however but this wasn't a huge factor for me. Upon leaving they'll wave you off like you're the only guest there which I think adds more to the place. They'll treat everyone like an individual. Will definitely return to Bamboo in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 2 story building opposite reception (with the view of the beach). I found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been to Fiji 3 times in 3 years and have stayed at bamboo every time the most recent time which was July 2013 the hostel has recently expanded meaning there is now a fully stocked bar ad beach side swimming pool making the hostel an even better place to stay whilst in Nadi.

The staff will make you feel extremely welcome from the moment you are picked up from the airport to the thoroughly enjoyable kava sessions where you can get to know your fellow travelers and make some really good friends. The hostel runs amazing day trips where you can visit the natural mud pools or go spear fishing. The latter is what i done whilst there going to different spots seeing amazing reefs and many many fish with Pa and Sydney making sure we had the best days that we could whilst out on these trips!

Cannot recommend this hostel highly enough cheap and a guaranteed Fiji experience which will make you want to go back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,071 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#12 of 25 in Nadi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hostel

Property: Bamboo Hostel
Address: 33 New Town Beach, Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji is a cluster of 333 tropical islands and is home to almost 1 million of the happiest, friendliest people on Earth! Bamboo is a fun budget spot to use as a Fiji base. Located within a cluster of cool hostels in the midst of Nadi's Backpacker Beach, it's an ideal spot to stay to acclimatise, meet people, craft travel plans, and then launch out to some islands! Relax under a huge traditional Fijian thatch hut, swim and play down the sandy stretch of Wailoaloa Beach, swing in a hammock and enjoy the tropical surroundings. In a nutshell, Bamboo offers: - Free 24 hour Airport pick up - Free WIFI - A location in the heart of Nadi's Backpacker Beach that is on the bus route and just a 10 minute drive from Nadi International Airport - a Swimming Pool on the beach - 24 hour Reception - A travel hut for island trip planning with local promotions - A variety of clean and comfortable rooms - Delicious, cheap food at 'Cafe BAMBOO', featuring daily specials and traditional Fijian cuisine. - An island-style beach bar - Live acoustic Fiji-style music every night - Bamboo Surf School - ATM onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Nadi
Bamboo Hostel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing