We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!!”
Review of Bamboo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Hostel
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were supposed to stay in Fiji for one week and extended our stay twice (up to 2,5 months)!! Reason: Bamboo Hostel and its stuff!!! Feels like a second family! Low rates, free Wi-fi, fantastic food, free Kava every night (incl. great musicians), Volleyball court, Ping-Pong Table and lots more!! We'll definitely be back!!! Vinaka for everything!!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elke_Babsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 590 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Bamboo is for sure the Best hostel i have been at durring my tarvelling. It is clean, the rooms are big, so it is possibel to have your bag in the room. But Best of all is the staff !! They helped us to rent a car, and made it possibel to go on the most amazing trip "north combo". We also stayed there durring a cyclone and the staff did everything to make it as fun as possibel. It was truly a blessing to stay there and i feel it is my second home and my second family. One thing is sure, i will be back and Can only Suggest People to go there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michala554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This place does the most amazing food ever!! And so so cheap too!! I am not lodging here but am eating here every night!! The staff are fantastic and welcoming. Come here if you want traditional Fiji culture! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monbijou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

After travelling for 6 months we had stayed in all types of hostels, but it is safe to say that Bamboo has been by far the best. The rooms are spacious, clean, sociable. The bar/social area is fantastic especially with the ping pong table, volleyball court and free wi-fi. The location is great as it is a minutes walk from the beach and other bars/hostels/restaurants. But by far the best feature is the staff. Whether it's Elias laughter throughout the day, or Adams sheer coolness, someone is always there to keep the spirits high and genuinely take an interest in the guests. There is around 6-7 of these guys bouncing around the place, enjoying life and it's infectious, you can't help but fall in love with the place. They also have a lovely home cooked meal by the lovely ladies in the kitchen and after dinner it's Kava Time! Whereby you will sit around for hours listening to Ricos singing and guitar skills (along with most of the other staff who all happen to play and sing beautifully!) Bamboo is a fantastic place, one I will definitely be visiting again. Truly life changing.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have been in Fiji for almost a year, traveling and working, in that time I have been a guest in many resorts and backpackers around the main land and it's surrounding islands but none can compare to Bamboo. What sets Bamboo apart from many other resorts is not just its value for money, but also it's the true Fijian hospitality and the beautiful staff that make it a favorite spot for those just passing through as well as those who just can't leave. once you arrive at Bamboo you are no longer treated like just another guest in Fiji but instead you're treated like an Islander, part of a big happy, crazy family. Honestly, what more could you ask for when you're as far away from home as you could possibly be.
At Bamboo it's just smiles, laughs and jokes all day, these people know how to have fun and if you get involved you will too. They run plenty of trips from the hostel to the surrounding areas to see the sights as well as personally escorting you on a night out in Nadi town making sure you arrive back in one piece.
It's the perfect place to start especially if you are unsure of where to head next, if you want some honest advice and want to see the best that Fiji has to offer then all you have to do is ask at reception.
A few other extras to make your stay even more enjoyable are of course spotless dorm rooms(thank you housekeeping), free WiFi, afternoon volleyball sessions to get your sweat on and some of the best grub in town. You will be surprised at the quality of meals that are turned out of this humble little kitchen, the dishes are traditionally Fijian, tasty as hell and wont leave you broke.(Thanks to the girls and guys in the kitchen for keeping us fat)
Some words of advice:
Book before hand because when evening comes they are often full.
Make sure you bring a crazy BULA.
Don't be alarmed when after your first night all the staff know you by name, thats just how they are.
One last thanks goes to the management who keep this little gem running smoothly and for all your help
From Clynt
Vinaka vaka levu

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clynt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at Bamboo many times over a two and half week trip in Fiji and absolutely loved it!!

There is plenty of choice for rooms and the staff work hard to make sure that the place is always clean. It is excellent value for money and you even get breakfast included.
If you buy dinner it is real, Fijian food which you will quickly realise is awesome :)

There is plenty to do at Bamboo including jewellery making, lazing in hammocks and volleyball as well as different trips each day including the mud pools, hot springs, surfing etc. I loved the kava ceremony, held each night under the hut. Everyone sits around drinking kava, talking and listening to the boys sing and play guitar (including lots of beautiful Fijian music!).

If you need to book any trips then the staff in the office will help you as much as possible to find the right trip for you. After A LOT of questions we ended up doing something different and hiring a car. We spent two days driving around the main island and were invited to stay in a village, which was a fantastic experience!

The staff are definitely my favourite thing about Bamboo! They make everyone welcome and the setting makes it easy to make new friends. They make sure everyone feels at home there and it literally ends up feeling like your home. The staff make it what it is and it would not be the same without them!! :) x

Room Tip: Speak to the staff about what you are looking for. They'll do everything they can to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

supper friendly staff really helpful with any kind of trip advice the manager Samu will help you book anything you want to do and get you the best deals.clean comfortable dorms and stunning food real Fiji vibe. your only problem with staying at bamboo is it can so easily become home and you wont want to leave.

Room Tip: the big dorms are cheepest so try and go for them but the others are not much more so you cant reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#10 of 25 in Nadi
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hostel

Address: 33 New Town Beach, Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Nadi
Price Range: $14 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji is a cluster of 333 tropical islands and is home to almost 1 million of the happiest, friendliest people on Earth! Bamboo is a fun budget spot to use as a Fiji base. Located within a cluster of cool hostels in the midst of Nadi's Backpacker Beach, it's an ideal spot to stay to acclimatise, meet people, craft travel plans, and then launch out to some islands! Relax under a huge traditional Fijian thatch hut, swim and play down the sandy stretch of Wailoaloa Beach, swing in a hammock and enjoy the tropical surroundings. In a nutshell, Bamboo offers: - Free 24 hour Airport pick up - Free WIFI - A location in the heart of Nadi's Backpacker Beach that is on the bus route and just a 10 minute drive from Nadi International Airport - a Swimming Pool on the beach - 24 hour Reception - A travel hut for island trip planning with local promotions - A variety of clean and comfortable rooms - Delicious, cheap food at 'Cafe BAMBOO', featuring daily specials and traditional Fijian cuisine. - An island-style beach bar - Live acoustic Fiji-style music every night - Bamboo Surf School - ATM onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bamboo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Nadi
Bamboo Hostel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing