We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bamboo Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
332
151
67
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
151
67
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolleyball courtkava sessionskava circlebed dormprivate roomfree kavafree wififiji timetravel deska great place to meetmud poolsfree activitiesisland hoppingevery eveninghome away from homeother islandstour desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 601 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at Bamboo many times over a two and half week trip in Fiji and absolutely loved it!!

There is plenty of choice for rooms and the staff work hard to make sure that the place is always clean. It is excellent value for money and you even get breakfast included.
If you buy dinner it is real, Fijian food which you will quickly realise is awesome :)

There is plenty to do at Bamboo including jewellery making, lazing in hammocks and volleyball as well as different trips each day including the mud pools, hot springs, surfing etc. I loved the kava ceremony, held each night under the hut. Everyone sits around drinking kava, talking and listening to the boys sing and play guitar (including lots of beautiful Fijian music!).

If you need to book any trips then the staff in the office will help you as much as possible to find the right trip for you. After A LOT of questions we ended up doing something different and hiring a car. We spent two days driving around the main island and were invited to stay in a village, which was a fantastic experience!

The staff are definitely my favourite thing about Bamboo! They make everyone welcome and the setting makes it easy to make new friends. They make sure everyone feels at home there and it literally ends up feeling like your home. The staff make it what it is and it would not be the same without them!! :) x

Room Tip: Speak to the staff about what you are looking for. They'll do everything they can to help.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

supper friendly staff really helpful with any kind of trip advice the manager Samu will help you book anything you want to do and get you the best deals.clean comfortable dorms and stunning food real Fiji vibe. your only problem with staying at bamboo is it can so easily become home and you wont want to leave.

Room Tip: the big dorms are cheepest so try and go for them but the others are not much more so you cant really go wrong
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at bamboo for about 5 days in a private room. which was pretty basic but very clean. It lacks some features that other more modern hostels in the area have i.e. swiming pool (but it does have free wifi), but this is not a problem as you can just cross the street to use any of the other hostels pools. Bamboo is one minute from the beach. The staff are excellent very friendly and always around to help. One evening upon realising that I had no money for a taxi one of the staff lent me there own money to cover the costs. The staff really make you feel welcome and share traditonal food and Kava drink with the guest. They will meet you at the airport and get you a free taxi back to the hostel. 100% recomend. We loved Bamboo!

Room Tip: it's the cheapest in the area and although the most basic by far the best!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Pick up from airport is always a bonus :)
Staff were so so friendly and the atmosphere was great
A 30second walk onto the beach, bus stop is at the doorstep.
Cheap meals, very big and very tasty.
Hostel was clean and aircon in the rooms.
Only bad point was the showers were either freezing cold or boiling hot.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HimandHer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have stayed at backpackers places in several countries. Bamboo rates among the best I've ever stayed at. First, pricewise: the price is very good (only 12 Fiji dollars - about 7 US- for a dorm bed) which includes free breakfast. There is a cheap soda machine, only 1 FJD a drink! There is free airport transport as well. The dorm rooms are fine- pretty clean, and have either fans or A/C. The food here is quite good and fairly cheap. The staff are all young Fijians, and very friendly. There is pingpong and volleyball every day, and in the evenings kava with music. If you want to, you can walk across the street to Smuggler's cove and watch the firedancing shows or sit on the beach. All in all, a great backpackers; I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Nadi on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnookums P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews