We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure”
Review of Stinger Bicycles - CLOSED

Stinger Bicycles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain Biking in Fiji made so easy! You can either rent our mountain bikes from the resort you are staying or come for a Mountain Bike Tour. You can also use our shuttle to rent our mountain bikes from the Stinger Base. We do transfers from your resort to our base from where you can explore the hills and highlands of the Nadi Area either on a Mountain Bike Tour or on your own. Please visit our website for more detailed information.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We took an afternoon trip with Rob, crossing a river and riding hills around the Nadi area. Just before sunset a quick downpour put a refreshing twist on our endeavour, but it helped us cool off and riding in the mud was actually a lot of fun. Highly recommended!

Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StingerBicycles, Owner at Stinger Bicycles, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Mattey!
Ah ah ah yes refreshing downpour and awesome light for this afternoon ride.
The bikes are clean again so anytime you wanna dirty them again...
Vinaka & Moce
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are a group of 5 competent riders. We rang rob early in November 2012. He picked us up from the Westin in Denaru.....on time.....which in fiji can be an exception to the 'fiji time'rule! We travelled about 20km to his place where he runs the bikes from his shed. He is a very accommodating guy. He basically allowed us to determine the length and pace of the ride. He will alter his rides to your ability. He has plenty of places to stop along the way to see the views. There are river crossings, a bit of single track and some dirt backroads. Rob took an abundance of photos which he posted on the net for us the next day and on facebook. The ride we did was a 27km loop which would suit most semi experienced riders. From beginner to expert, he will have something for you. Good range of new and young bikes also. If you are thinking of it, do it. you wont regret it! Thanks Rob!
Also, check out his facebook page. You will only see smiles!

Thank browny710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StingerBicycles, Owner at Stinger Bicycles, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks Steve,
What a ride we had, so much fun with you guys. Hope the end of your stay was good. Next time you come we will either do the same loop - Tour of Nanders - but clockwise this time or take you somewhere else. Magic Mountain? We will see.
Keep those legs spinning my friends!
Best regards,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We'd just finished a week in Fiji (a few days on the Coral Coast for a wedding, then a few days on a cruise in the Southern Yasawas) and had a day to kill in Nadi. We were flicking through Lonely Planet and came across MTB tours (though, funny enough, it was for another tour company that no longer exists), so after finding a brochure at our hotel, we gave Rob a call and organised a tour.

He was in the area and popped in to visit us to try and tailor a package to suit us. I am a fairly seasoned mountain biker, and my wife rides about time a little bit, but hadn't really been off road before.

We had an afternoon flight out of Nadi, so Rob agreed to wake up early and pick us up from our hotel in Nadi. Sadly, the rain had turned the river we were to cross from a gentle clear crossing, to a milk-tea coloured torrent, so on the fly, Rob made other plans for us.

We went off on a 10km loop into the hills from his place up in the hills above Nadi.

It was great to see more of the countryside after spending so much time by the coast. All the locals that we rode past gave us a warm greeting, which was a nice feeling.

Even in the mud and the rain, we had a great time. Rob was a great guide, fun, informative and very helpful (he even let us shower at his place before he took us to the airport). Plus, his fruit salad lunch (from mostly home grown fruit) was delicious.

If you enjoy cycling, and want to see a part of Fiji that the average tourist doesn't get to see, I highly recommend this.

Thank PEKOiSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StingerBicycles, Owner at Stinger Bicycles, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thanks for this nice review Mister R.!
Do you know what happened after your plane took off?
Well surprisingly enough ... it finally cleared up!!!
Next time lets try to make it with the sun, shall we?
Sota tale & vinaka!
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I are avid bike riders and love mountain biking at home so when we saw an advertisement for Stinger when searching for things to do in Fiji, we made a point of checkin it out!

We called Rob, the owner, and setup a same day self guided tour. He came to our hotel to pick us up and brought us to his shop in the hills above Nadi. he set us up with two bikes and a guide book that he made, and we were on our way.

We decided to take a 16 km route up through the hills and weren't disappointed! We got to see some great sites and got some awesome pictures. As well as getting exposed to the friendly locals.

Rob is a great guy and was really funny and helpful. If your in Fiji and like mountain biking, don't pass this up. It's fun, cheap and a great way to see the country side. Highly recomended!

1  Thank Djbob262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StingerBicycles, Owner at Stinger Bicycles, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hi Dbob! or shall I say hi L&C?
Thanks for this kind review!
Did you see the badge is on the 'Cycling in Fiji with Stinger Bicycles' Facebook page?
The loop you did, called 'The Pine Forrest' is actually more like 18 kilometres, glad you liked it, its one of my favourite, one for advanced riders that takes you back there...
Ride safely on those streets!
Moce,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Rob is a funny Swiss guy who builds repairs, and rents bikes. He had us riding in the rural hills above Nadi within an hour or so of pickup from our hotel on Denarau Island. Two of us did a self guided tour. The bikes were reliable, the views were great, the provided photo guide was very helpful, and the locals we passed on the way were all friendly.

Great to see some of the farmers and get a different perspective of Fiji.

1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StingerBicycles, Owner at Stinger Bicycles, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thanks Jeff!
I am always happy when people have a good time in my back yard i.e. the Nadi Mountain Range and share it with others.
Malolos,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stinger Bicycles also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing